Go

2003 Mercedes-Benz SL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 149 Ratings for the 2003 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

German Engineering rocks!

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best of both worlds - luxury, performance, and believe it or not comfort! Drive one. You'll be hooked. I've had absolutely no maintenance issues - reliable as the day is long."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

After owning this car, is there a better one?

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Luxury, practical, efficient, technology, safe fun"

Cons: "Two seats only, small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will start with the disadvantage: very small trunk, just for golf clubs or a midsize suitcase. Ok, now the advantages: the performance of a car this size with such a nice engine is incredible. Whoever says it sucks gas, it is not true. What do you expect with an eight cilinders, 5 liters engine? But the weight of the car compensates and makes it an affordable easy to drive car. If you want luxury and all the gadgets technology brings, this is the car for you. Reliable, excellent safety features, sound system, ventilated seats, push button for all comfort in long trips. What else can you ask for? I use it as an everyday car and I am having a hard time even thinking what car will be the next. Hardtop convertible, beautiful lines and eye catching. Brakes are the best. hard to beat an SL with another car. If you go for a bmw 6 series, or a bentley, the size of those cars won't make them fuel efficient and ageless like the SL."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent overall vehicle, very pricy but incrediy

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Smokes any stock car out ther, including Vipers and Z06 and m5 or m6"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Looks good, has issues

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Expensive TPM problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Biggest problem I have had is with tire pressure monitors-optional in 2003 and I wish the original owner had not selected this option. They have not worked properly since I bought the car, several trips to dealer under warranty with no results. Got tired of taking to the dealer. Later learned it will cost $350-400 per wheel to fix!! Would love to simply disable tpm but cannot. Its "illegal" even though tpm was not mandatory on 2003 models."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Beautiful Ride!

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my 2003 used in 2007 with only 7000 miles on the odometer for 1/2 the list price, and have driven it only sparingly since. Had multiple trips to the dealer for, of all things, the tire pressure monitor! They never did get that fixed, and now that the warranty is expired I find the little monitors are @ $300 each, and all four should be replaced. Also the strut that is supposed to hold the trunk lid upright now needs to be replaced. Having said that, the car overall is a pleasure to drive, and as good looking as they come!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz SL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.