To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz M-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 398 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Very reliable

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this vehicle for 9 years and it has been very reliable after the initial transmission was replaced. It is now needing about 1.5 quarts of oil once in between oil changes, but otherwise no problems. Brakes are great and never squeeled. Heating system is annoying - and needs to be constantly adjusted. Mileage has been between 18-22 mpg - can't match that with current models."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

An old friend

By on Friday, November 9, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I've had this SUV for almost 9 years and it has never let me down. Have had cars that have had more allure, ie. faster, cornering, etc. but like I said, this is the only one that has never left me stranded. It did break once where the supply tube came off of the power steering pump. But this happened when it was in my driveway. I called the MB 800 number for roadside asistance and it was fixed within 3 hours and for free. This SUV is very sure footed, (have used it for off roading during the hunting season,) and tough, (have pulled a two mororcycle covered trailer as well as boats). I would get another ML if: 1. I lived in an urban area and was to old to continue hunting. 2. MB was not so dag blamed expensive for service hours and repair parts. I replaced the rear shocks at 120,000 miles and it cost me $900."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The worst car I've ever had

By on Tuesday, October 16, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"my 2002 ML320 is easily the worst car I had ever had. Multiple minor and average failures - most with electrical systems. The car has only 35k on it, but caused us many problems and very expensive bills. Thats despite Certified Used Car program. Will never buy Mercedes again and give it up for X5."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, September 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great car. I have put 50 K on mine with NO PROBLEMS. One of the most reliable cars I've ever owned. It is quite comfortable for an SUV although it does not have a car-type ride. It is the perfect size and has a great turning ratio for parking, etc. I love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I Love my car!!

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"But I must admit that the value for a Mercedes-Benz !! (all that plastic inside and out) just does not seem right. My car need servicing badly but it still runs smooth. My car is paid off! Will I buy another one? YES"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellant car, value, ride, comfort, speed. I would buy another one!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"But doesn`t keep the value on the market very well.Sells under the KBB price.Anyway, I see lots of them in the street everyday!Otherwise, the greatest car I`ve ever had, so spacious, and still extremely easy to handle.It`s a Mercedes!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

beautiful investment

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this vehicle yesterday and am so happy and content with it. This vehicle has so much too offer! She is so pretty and yet fast! It is definitely a fun, pretty and very stylish suv with class. Would recommend this vehicle to all that can afford the insurance and gas. Well worth the financial investment."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So far so good.

By on Sunday, November 6, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "all wheel drive powerful runs great even at 100"

Cons: "V8 and Premium gas so $$ poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I replaced a few cosmetic pieces on the interior and it needs a clear coat on two fenders but overall after a deep cleaning for which I am not done with it runs, and drives smooth. Very practical considering my CL550 barely drives in the rain so forget the snow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, I want a new one!

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent"

Cons: "It's not a 500SL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a sedan, quick, responsive, comfortable, stylish, beautiful vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

WOW! 300000 Miles and Still Powering that V8!

By on Saturday, December 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun To Drive! Power. And Comfortability and Design"

Cons: "Absolutely Nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is still a Great Looking Car. Reliability was great until around 275000 Miles. But Planning on getting a 2012 ML550 because of what a great car this has been. Very comfortable!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the nicest car I ever owned. It is a dream to drive and is super reliable; and it never gets stuck in snow...I can plow through just about anything. I just wish it got better gas mileage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is beautiful, comfortable, reliable and safe! I wish I didn't have to sell it. It will be greatly missed. When I buy a new vehicle again, it will definitely be Mercedes-Benz M class."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great driving experience

By on Tuesday, November 8, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car with costly repairs. This a great car but one of the issues it the costly repairs. Gas wise not very good on gas. Reliability I would give a 5 star."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My ML is a very good auto.

By on Sunday, November 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have only had to keep up with the scheduled maintenance. I have had no significant problems although because of the weight it may need brakes more frequently."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Best

By on Tuesday, January 11, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a used 1999 ML320 with 70,000 miles on it and loved it. It was the best car I ever owned. Gas mileage is not the best but what do you expect for an AWD SUV! Wrecked the car at 205,000 miles on it and am looking for another one to replace it. Very reliable (contrary to alot of reviews). Had to replace the window cluster twice and put tires and brakes on it . THATS IT!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

02 Benz

By on Tuesday, August 24, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my Benz since new. No issues the first 100K but a few nagging issues post 100K. A very reliable and safe vehicle. The AWD is fantastic in wet/snowy conditions. Find a good mechanic besides your Benz dealer for service. The cost of having Mercedes do anything outside of warranty is astronomical."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Will Buy This Car Again

By on Wednesday, November 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this vehicle for 6 yrs, with never a problem. I look forward to buying a new one as soon as I sell my current one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 ML320 Transmission

By on Monday, November 2, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"The only problem with the 1998 and 1999 ML's is the transmission is junk. If you own one and the transmission hasn't gone out yet, count yourself fortunate because it will go out on you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

ml320

By on Tuesday, September 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i love this car . is realy save / the fuel pump need to be beter performance. save my life and my daugther in a car accident is the most safet suv i cut ever had"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Vibrating front End

By on Friday, July 24, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"This vehicle fails to live up to expectation. It is a shame that Benz did not pay attention to a lot of detail on this car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

tough SUV

By on Thursday, February 26, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"lots of power,MB class,i have 70k on it ,brakes and rotors replaced twice.18hwy 14town.no problems"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

After 2.5 Years

By on Thursday, February 5, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"After 2 and 1/2 years, I am still happy that I purchased this car, It has been one of the most reliable cars that I have driven, only been to the shop for maintenance, which when only every 10K miles, is not that bad, except for brakes which can be around 5-700 each front/back, Things loved: Tiptronics(Manual Mode), Bose DSP, Free Roadside, TeleAid, 10 Airbags. Things Missed, Heated Seats, Navigation, ability to roll up the windows from Outside Key Activated Memory Recall. But for someone that needs a car that will get them from Point A to Point B, without worrying about breakdowns, and wants to get something that will stand out while blinding in, this is a safe car to purchase. But to include some of the missed item really consider purchasing the ML500/ML55."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable vehicle

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned many vehicles over the years including 9 mercedes benz models. Quality of these vehicles is not quite as good as previous models concerning trim. I have owned an ML55 for close to 5 years and I have had very little problems other than hose failures (some covered under recall). Most consumable parts are relatively inexpensive if you shop around a bit compared to other brands, american or otherwise. I would not hesitate to take this vehicle on a 10000 mile roadtrip and would recommend this model to a friend ( not the first year of MLproduction). Find one that has been maintained properly... it is a bargain over the long term as resale remains strong after the large drop the first couple of years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Owed this Merc for 4 years

By on Friday, November 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"A lot of SUV for the money. You can pick-up a ML430 8 - 10k. Thos engine will be good for 500,000k. There taxi's in Europe (workhorses)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz M-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.