To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2016 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $57,741 - $62,159.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $65,475

Fair Purchase Price $59,228
Fair Market Range ($57,741 - $62,159)

Invoice N/A

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Valid for ZIP code 96801 through 06/29/2017

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 7.0 of 10

10/7.0

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 25 Ratings for the 2013 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Very Nice!

By on Wednesday, November 2, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "Not as nimble at 90 MPH"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I drove BMW X5's for nine years, but really wanted something a little more plush. The GL certainly met that criteria. In fact I'm kicking myself for not buying this car earlier. It's much more luxurious than the BMW, though not as nimble. On long trips the weight of the car really stands up to the desert winds, and I must say I like the stability of this huge vehicle. The car cruises along at 90 and I don't even know I'm going that fast. The larger gas tank gives me great range - sometimes as much as 600 plus miles and the larger cargo space plus ability to seat 7 passengers is an added bonus to the car. If you're looking for comfort and space, this is the car for you. I can see this car may just be the one I end up holding onto for an extended period of time."

15 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Just Plain Superb......Phenomenal SUV

By on Wednesday, February 8, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Technology, Performance"

Cons: "Infotainment-takes a while to get used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Former QX60 owner traded up to GLS 450 last year and have nothing but praise for this vehicle. I love it - driving dynamics, quality, feel and Interior are among the best in class. Drives like a gentle beast with its 9 speed transmission. At 80mph cabin is very quiet and you dont feel minor holes on the road. Quality is paramount - inside and out. The only Con i can think of is - the infotainment system. Not bad but it takes a lot of time to get used to reap the full features. Overall great SUV - if one can get their hands on this gentle beast, it is a pure pleasure to drive this for both short and long haul trips."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Phenomenal car with a few flaws

By on Saturday, February 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Finesse and class mixed with power and technology"

Cons: "Only 2 usable HVAC vents for the entire rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife and I have owned the 2013 GL450 for 1 year and we both admit that it's the best car that we have ever owned. Quality both inside and outside defines this vehicle. At 75mph the 3 ton gentle beast sails as smooth as a hovercraft over calm water while the cabin is quieter than a whisper. Awesome steering at both low and high speeds. I can't think of a production car that I would feel more safe in. Negatives include a complex infotainment system that takes some serious study to take advantage of all the high tech amazing tricks. Also for a car this large, there are only 2 usable HVAC vents that serve the entire 2nd and 3rd row. If you are in the "wayback" during the summer, you will be sweating . Nevertheless if you have the means to afford this vehicle, it is a pure joy to travel the long road. Of note, there are hard to find since demand is high and supply is low. Not too many seen on the roads, so it turns many heads and serves as a topic of conversation on the parking lot frequently."

50 people out of 58 found this review helpful

Blows Cadillac Escalade away

By on Monday, August 22, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owner of two Escalades, ESV since 2007. The first, a 2007 which I loved, and a new body 2015 which I hated. I hated it so much I traded it in after 1 1/2 year of suffering for my new 2017 GLS. I love this car!!! I couldn't be happier. Don't waste your money on the Cadillac the Mercedes is by far superior!"

18 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Okay, but Expensive for okay...

By on Tuesday, November 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great power and handling for a family car."

Cons: "Expensive and trouble if unfixable problem."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I see the other write-ups are all over the map! Ambivalence - I love it! I hate it! We have decided to get rid of it because like the one review, it has constant vibrations that the dealership gave up trying to find long ago. (They said it was the tires. MB factory tires!) Also there is a known problem with the air filter that makes the car smell like mildewed laundry when it first starts up, again apparently unfixable. There is a rattle that comes from the center console that may not bother some people, but for the money, I should not have to put up with. I agree with the other write-up about the power and handling ===> Amazing! We felt like we were driving on a cloud for the first 3 months, then the vibrations started and it makes riding in the far back almost unbearable. Want to believe the best and try another one, scared to try another one."

41 people out of 51 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.