Go

2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 175 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Solid

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "utility, quiet, ride, power"

Cons: "electronics are a bit dated"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've owned our GL450 for almost a year and have a little over 12,000 miles on it. We had a minor glitch at the beginning with the navigation system, but it was quickly resolved, and the only other time in the shop was for the annual maintenance where a few minor issues were tweaked (burned out light bulbs, glitchy rear hatch). Overall, we've been very happy with this SUV. The ease and flexibility of going from an 8-seat vehicle to a 5-seat with enormous cargo capacity is great, and the ride strikes a nice balance between maneuverability and comfort. It's also the quietest car we've ever owned. The only negative I can think of is the electronics (e.g., navigation and voice command) are a bit dated compared to the competition."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my GL-450.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "expensive tires and have issues w/tire pressure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GL-450 is a great vehicle. I wish the gas prices had not risen the way they did because it takes a pretty penny to fill it up. Tires are extremely expensive for it, but overall I am extremely pleased."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Diesel rocks

By on Saturday, October 8, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Diesel, great gas mileage, large towing capacity"

Cons: "Too many sensors, expensive tires, gas cap issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own have owned this vehicle since new and I am on my 4th set of tires. The original factory tires lasts less than 15,000!!! Absolutely unacceptable. Only tire manufacturer is Parelli and these tires are extremely expensive. After 3 sets of Parellis I now have a set of Hankook tires and these are the best - reasonable in price, aggressive tread pattern, etc. As for the diesel engine, it is the only way to go. I get well over 600 miles per tank. I drive from Raleigh, NC, to NYC in one tank and I do not need to refill until I am in NJ where full service gas stations offer the cheapest gasoline (and diesel) in the Eastern US. Too many sensors on the vehicle is a curse and a blessing. Fuel filler cap does not close when the outside temperature is very high - another annoying fact. Otherwise a fine vehicle which is aging well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Monday, September 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive great mileage 19-20 around town 22-27 on highway"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling no power loss on mountains. Up mountain passes greater then 10500 feet. Very comfortable Plenty of room"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great of the great ships

By on Friday, September 23, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Traded for new M class

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, comfort, trade-in value"

Cons: "Big to handle in tight quarters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If looking for a great big SUV this is one of the best. Traded and it brought 2/3 of its original value after 4 years! Turbo Diesel engine was flawlwss, and yielded lots of power torque and quiet sophistication, and up to 30 mpg on the highway! Amazing, understated luxury, impressive to customers I transported."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz GL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.