Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 508 Ratings for the 1996 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 21 | Next

By on Saturday, July 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Solid

By on Monday, July 21, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my E320 for 4 years now. The car is amazingly solid, braking and handling cannot be matched by any car in its class. Great daily driver, I get about 20 MPG, not bad for such a big and heavy car. Quality is above average, my car is now 10 yr old and still looks great and up to date, however, the newer benzes are not as reliable as they used to be. The whole A/C system has failed recently one after the other (compresor, evaporator, fans and condensators). That was about $2500 with labor. Engine is solid, only a small oil leak corrected by changing a small seal. Trans is solid, suspension still good."

By on Thursday, July 17, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Solid performance

By on Thursday, July 17, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great performance and styling"

E 55 AMG

By on Sunday, July 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bang for the buck and for the size of vehicle you are getting is hard to beat if well kept. Very smooth and powerful ride. I had no problem creaping past a 2004 Vette on the highway. He gave the thumbs up as I pulled along side of him at full throttle on the highway as I slowly passed him. Outstanding comfort inside and pleasing out. I have had mine for about three years now and all has been well other then the A\c unit stopped working a few days ago, but it is 8 years old so no worries. The GPS unit is easy to use as well as follow."

travels well

By on Monday, June 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Took our E320 4matic up to NYC. Not only was it a smooth ride to and from Virginia, it handled extremely well in the city. Filled up the tank twice with 1/4 tank remaining when we arrived home. Loaded into the back a double stroller, two separate umbrella strollers, 4 weekender luggage bags, small cooler, and had room to spare for shopping bags. The kids were troopers to and fro. Bought it certified preowned- it was a trade in for a newer model. I know this because I was trying out the integrated phone system and the owner forgot to erase programmed numbers from the system. Voice activation dialed "home" and it recognized both old and new voices as the same. The first owner answered and we chuckled and discussed why it was traded in. "For a 2007 model" Awesome buy, low miles. Do not regret it! Thanks to N.J in N.J. for wanting the newer model. Let me know when you trade in that one :)"

Incredible Ski Car!

By on Friday, June 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We took this car all winter to Lake Tahoe and area ski resorts. Skis and all equipment fit great inside car, and we can sit on the back to put on our ski boots. Also, the car with its AWD is great in snow. Why would people get smaller cars, with an option like this? (It's great on gas, too!)"

Huge Cargo Area and Room for Folks Too

By on Thursday, June 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I LOVE this car. I have owned the car for 5 years, bought it used with 24000 miles on it . No trouble with it. Have moved 2 kids back and forth to college in it. Love how you can remove all the rear seats for even more storage room. Comfortable ride, with great gas mileage. I have over 110000 miles on it now, with no major or unexpected repairs. NO rust anywhere. I am going to drive this car into the ground. I have not seen any other car that meets all of my needs, either new or old MBZ or BMW. GREAT in snow. Came home in a blizzard and passed all the BMWs and other FWD cars pulled over and stuck. This car sailed through 19 inches of snow. I plan on driving it another 5 years."

By on Friday, June 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, June 9, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Can't beat the value

By on Saturday, June 7, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great fuel economy. Checked it on a 450 trip and averaged over 24.5 mpg. I couldn't believe and checked it two more times with the same results. Drives like a dream and wow, what power?"

Monster Sedan

By on Thursday, June 5, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great Ride, Great Performance, Expensive to fix, Great styling, This is the sixth E class that I have owned and is by far the best of the best."

My Take on My 2001 E430

By on Saturday, May 31, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Perfect size. Top notch seat comfort and soild feel. Smooth but not cushy ride. Strong engine. 28.8 mpg when driven at 70. Seamless acceleration. As I read somewhere...built like a tank with a soft touch. Lexus is more reliable, but does not and can not touch Mercedes feel."

wow

By on Saturday, May 31, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been by far the best car I ever owned. I have owned it for 2 1/2 yrs bought it used. it had 70,000 mi. It now has 130,000 and has had a few issues with bearings and fuel leak but overall a great car. No motor or trains problems to date."

great CAR

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"COMFORT, PERFORMANCE, DECENT GAS MILEAGE FOR LESS MONEY THAN AN AWFUL HYUNDAI"

Best value for your money

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Good and reliable car. Good gas mileage too consider the size of the car. Pretty expensive maintenance due to costlier Euro."

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, May 19, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"E430 is the nicest car I've ever owned. Bought it new. This is my 3rd Mercedes E class. They all have had excellent comfort and performance with a nice heavy but very agile feel. All 3 have had electrical problems and 2/3 have had significant air conditioning problems, however."

a great car

By on Monday, May 12, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"8 years of a trouble free v 8 that gets over 20 mpg. and needs sevice at 10000 mile intervals."

By on Monday, May 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

The Little White Wagon

By on Friday, May 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the best and most practical cars I ever owned. Came upon while looking for a truck - well, it has a six foot bed (under cover), is sooooo comfortable, and economical (I get 20mpg city and 27mpg highway) - My 4 year newer C320 wagon gets 2 miles less bothh ways even being much smaller, lighter, and by far not as comfortable and quiet."

By on Thursday, April 24, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

good car

By on Monday, April 14, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"dependable, good mileage and low maintenance.Birmigham"

Love the 8cyl. engine !!

By on Friday, April 11, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I,ll never buy another 6 , except maybe a v-6 . The performance of the v-8 far exceeds the 6, needless to say the awd is a plus in the snow , however it affects gas mileage significantly. This car is Like No Other!!!!!"

I'd buy it again and again

By on Tuesday, April 8, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I can't say how pleased I am with this car. Great looking, wonderful engine, reliable, just plain fun to drive...."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.