To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1995 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 105 Ratings for the 1994 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Incredible value & performance

By on Sunday, November 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Forget the 6cyl versions as good as they are : get the E420 V8 model if you can find one. It's unreal how well engineered these cars are AND they blow the doors off of most every car they come across even 15 years later. Plus getting 25+ MPG highway if you can keep your right foot from getting you in trouble. These cars top out at 155 mph and are ROCK SOLID at any speed. Amazing ride,steering,brakes & understated classic Benz good looks. They last forever when maintained to specs & costs are very reasonable. Get one with the rare traction control option : now a 4-season driver."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best combination of luxury and fuel economy

By on Sunday, July 31, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent value, great fuel economy"

Cons: "somewhat slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Having owned and driven a Toyota Prius Hybrid for many years, I became accustomed to very high gas mileage. Of course in the Prius, that came with the sacrifice of a smaller more compact car, ride comfort, etc. Now enter my 1995 E300 Mercedes diesel, what a car. I have never driven a full size sedan and experienced this type fuel economy. I have experienced as much as 45mpg highway with this car. Now, you will never win a quarter mile race as this car is non-turbo, but boy is it efficient. Once the engine warms up you can cruise at 70 to 80 mph and expect at least 38 to 40 mpg. Don't know of another full sizes sedan as efficient."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The ever lasting young classics

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A TRUE E-class with Economy"

Cons: "Gear change can be pretty rough sometimes!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Instead of paying so much maintaining a car, this E-class is a true economical plus practical car. I love the big interior space, big windows with nice and clear views, great mileage figure mine E220 is running on a 23mpg on combine cycle. In sum, this is a car that would last forever, and it's low cost to most people, at the same time, the timeless design of a practical car, and considered to be young classic car according to the BENZ museum."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Super car

By on Monday, December 28, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Car is terriffic. Ride, power mileage (24+), comfort and snob appeal. Disappointed at BB value after 15 years. Would buy it again. Rear sitting room tight. Engine is best MB ever made. Rosd review in 1995 says: "Best sedan we've tested, period." Definitely a driver's car...no cup holders or glove box! Very European!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

long term investment

By on Friday, January 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We got this 1995 E320 cabriolet in 2005 with 88k miles. Originally $85k, we paid $17k; now has 123k miles. We anticipated some repairs and it's needed about $7k: new tranny, fan motor, head gasket, and minor electrical issues like switches, relays, etc. This may continue but we are v happy! It is safe, fast, solid, quiet, well-made, beautiful, elegant. We think it will eventually rise in value like the 60s and 70s era MB cabriolets have. In spite of $2500 avg annual maint. costs, we feel it is a bargain and much better quality compared with new MB convertibles. Find a good MB mechanic, not the dealer. We think it is a v good value esp if kept a long time. Changing cars every few yrs is expensive. Insurance for 10+ yr old cars is cheap. These are fully depreciated. So the maintenance we feel is acceptable and worth it. Yes, Toyotas are def. cheaper (we've had one 10 yrs) but much less of a pleasure. We never see another car we would rather have! We really enjoy it. We've also had 3 MBs built after 2000, all disappointing compared with this. We feel this is one of the last MBs built that are worth keeping, and it is still reliable and practical to drive every day. If you want bulletproof, cheap value, get a Camry, they need nothing. But if you want something special and can live with the repairs, this is an excellent choice and, we think, long term investment."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1994 e320

By on Thursday, June 5, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"this is a wonderful car. the only reason it does not receive 5 stars is because of problems commn with this model: transmission,engine wiring harness, ac, leaking head gasket and radiator replacement. this may seem like a lot and it is but not all experience them (i am 3 for 5) and may be considered the price of admission for one of the safest, best looking and most fun cars to drive ever built. find a good, honest mechanic; take care of it and keep your fingers crossed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nothing like a Benz!!!

By on Wednesday, April 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this sweet car about 3 years now and am in love with it. I've owned larger Benz models in the past, but none beat this little cruiser. It's comfortable and quiet and gets great mileage. So far, have driven 35,000 miles per year and outside of gas, oil and regular service, it has never let me down."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Friday, September 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned one for 12+ years and rate it as the best car we have owned. My list of cars I am comparing with are: 240D, 300E, BMW 2002, BMW 320I, Range Rover, Alpha Romeo sport sedan. The E300D gets 27-29 in the city and the 30's on highway. Drove it to Florida from Ohio on 2 tanks of fuel.(from Youngstown to Bonita Springs. 1200mi."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wundervolles klassisches Auto

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a wonderful future classic auto. I bought used 3 years ago and had to fix up some stuff, but this, now 13 year old, car still draws complements. 27mpg, 600 mi range. Only critique might be its somewhat sedate acceleration, but no complaints. It cruises like a limo. I am very happy with this vehicle. It was also a somewhat limited production model."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most perfect car ever owned

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned car since 1998 and put over 120000 miles on it. Very economical car. Repairs which have become more frequent in recent years have been been minor but expensive."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz E-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.