To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 11 Ratings for the 1998 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Awsome

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid luxury ride and super coup performance and handling. Classic, "Old Mercedes" quality & styling. A real bargin on the pre-owned market."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car i've ever owned

By on Sunday, September 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car I've ever owned. Got it used four years ago with 50K miles, now has 125,000. Runs flawlessly. Thougt about selling until I drove one of the newer CL 600's and didn't like it as much as mine. Amazing power and it gets great freeway milage 22 to 25 mpg. City milage is much lower, around 15mpg. This car sold for $145,000 in 1999 and you can pick them up now for mid $20's. That's less than a new Ford Mustang."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Last of the Handmades

By on Thursday, September 6, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"A great vehicle. Comfort, style, handling, and durable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nothing like it

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Immense engineering, appreciated by few."

Cons: "They don't make them any more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"There is no other car made before or since that combines the following qualities as well as the 1997 - 99 CL 500: silence, comfort, weight, speed and attention to detail. They simply do not make cars like this any more. Everything is dumbed down. Maybe the Maybach, but not everyone wants 4 doors and you can get a good CL for under 10k, often less - and a Maybach will cost you your house! Reliability means you need to know what you are doing with MB S / CL class. Not therefore for the first time MB S class buyer, unless you do your research. But if you do, you can get one for peanuts - I did, way less than you imagine. And there is nothing like it on the road, a silent, pillarless coupe, with incredible durability and immense safety."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Mercedes at its best

By on Wednesday, October 27, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car bulletproof if well maintained. Still a headturner and has a lot of grunt for an "old lady". Can still bight the tail of most sports cars. Belongs to the over engineering era at Mercedes when money constraint did not exist! Built to last forever."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercedes-Benz CL-Class near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.