Go

1995 Mazda RX-7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 57 Ratings for the 1993 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Nothing else like it.

By on Thursday, January 5, 2017

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Way too much fun."

Cons: "Try finding a worthy mechanic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I went to the Mazda dealer to look at the Miata in 1994. I never even sat in one. I made the mistake of trying out the Rx7 first and ended up driving it off the lot. I have owned or driven just about every sportster made and in all honesty, this was the funnest car of them all. EVERYBODY looks at it, trying to figure out what it is. Driving up a freeway on-ramp was like taking off in a rocket ship. The nose drops down and out of sight at high speeds, making the pavement all you see from the windshield forward. I blew doors off Porsches and Corvettes regularly. That little baby scared me sometimes. Mine was white, which is rare. I wish I still had it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Sunday, September 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the best sports cars ever made, hands down. These cars look like they could have rolled off the assembly line yesterday, and perform equaly as well. These cars require a fair amount of upkeep that is usually required with all cars of this caliber. I wouldn't recomend this car to anyone who is not willing to learn about its unique engine, complicated turbo system, or is not willing to work on it themself. As many people have stated, most Mazda dealerships are not up to the task of working on them. These cars are not made of glass like most people make them out to be, mine has never left me stranded and it gets driven like it was meant to. If you are looking to buy one know they are a pure sports car, there are no cup holders and not a lot of storage room or leg room for that matter. But, if you want to go fast, turn on a dime and out-perform cars that cost ten times what these do then this is the car for you. Overall, it is a great car to own, by far the most fun car I have ever driven, definitely unique and pretty reliable with good maintenance."

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great sports car for the money

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have driven RX7's for over 25 yrs. This sequential twin turbo has all the power & a fun ride. Limited quanity made this a head turner car that is great for the money. Has retained value and a pleasure to drive. Recommend to anyone."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Impressive

By on Wednesday, August 4, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Mazda created one of the best sports car in history using one of the most unique engines around. Powered by a 1.3L Wankel Rotary Engine and attached with a twin-sequential turbo setup, the performance is there. Harnessed with factory Yokohama tires and a limited slip differential, it handles amazingly. It's comfortable and modern, especially for a '93. The gauges have a nice, clean setup and the controls are angles toward the driver. The Touring package is one of the models that includes the Bose "Snake" System which sounds outstanding! Honestly, my only concern is proper maintenance. It is a super car, so maintenance is extremely important. You have been warned. Knowing about the rotaries will make it easier to own. Your Mazda Dealership usually won't have a mechanic that is knowledgeable about these engines. It's all worth it though."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

More fun than my 911

By on Monday, May 11, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This RX7 is a better sports car than my 911 4S. It has a great deal more acceleration, and is just more fun to drive. It's light weight and low power to weight ratio and 50/50 weight distribution make it a ton of fun. The styling is better as well, with the timeless lines of the cray supercomputer designed body of the RX7 surpassing the timeless but less interesting lines of the Porsche. The distinctive humm of the rotaries makes me smile every time I drive my car and i've been driving this RX7 for 10 years. The downside? Finicky to repair, and few mechanics are capable for this type of car, and, like a 911, when something major goes wrong get ready to pay handsomely. But there are few sports cars that can compete with these cars, even after 13 years of development. These cars are incredible."

17 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda RX-7 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.