To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1993 Mazda RX-7

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 57 Ratings for the 1993 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Nothing else like it.

By on Thursday, January 5, 2017

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Way too much fun."

Cons: "Try finding a worthy mechanic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I went to the Mazda dealer to look at the Miata in 1994. I never even sat in one. I made the mistake of trying out the Rx7 first and ended up driving it off the lot. I have owned or driven just about every sportster made and in all honesty, this was the funnest car of them all. EVERYBODY looks at it, trying to figure out what it is. Driving up a freeway on-ramp was like taking off in a rocket ship. The nose drops down and out of sight at high speeds, making the pavement all you see from the windshield forward. I blew doors off Porsches and Corvettes regularly. That little baby scared me sometimes. Mine was white, which is rare. I wish I still had it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Pure Fun on wheels

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Timeless Pure Powerful Sexy FUN"

Cons: "a lot of care and attention compared to a Honda"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Still turning heads at 16 years old. 1995 RX-7

"This car is not meant for anyone that doesn't Love to drive. I crack a smile just looking at it in the garage. Granted it takes more care ($) than a Honda but every penny is so worth it when it launches out of a hairpin turn clawing the asphalt for traction like it was nothing more than a walk in the park. Few drivers will ever know what this car is capable of. It's limits are so far beyond what can be done legally on the street. You have to get use to heads turning, fingers pointing and explaining "no pistons". Stock is insanely powerful for the street and Modified units should come with life insurance. You can buy more dependable transportation but you will have to remind me why."

14 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Still turning heads at 16 years old. 1995 RX-7

Amazing Car

By on Sunday, September 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the best sports cars ever made, hands down. These cars look like they could have rolled off the assembly line yesterday, and perform equaly as well. These cars require a fair amount of upkeep that is usually required with all cars of this caliber. I wouldn't recomend this car to anyone who is not willing to learn about its unique engine, complicated turbo system, or is not willing to work on it themself. As many people have stated, most Mazda dealerships are not up to the task of working on them. These cars are not made of glass like most people make them out to be, mine has never left me stranded and it gets driven like it was meant to. If you are looking to buy one know they are a pure sports car, there are no cup holders and not a lot of storage room or leg room for that matter. But, if you want to go fast, turn on a dime and out-perform cars that cost ten times what these do then this is the car for you. Overall, it is a great car to own, by far the most fun car I have ever driven, definitely unique and pretty reliable with good maintenance."

14 people out of 19 found this review helpful

a civilized race car

By on Wednesday, November 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fast, fast, FAST...nimble and fun."

Cons: "kidney killing ride, high maintenance costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mazda got it all right with this car. Perfect weight balance, incredible power-to-weight ratio, supercar performance at a reasonable price. No wonder all the major car magazines raved about it, with at least one naming it 'Car of the Year'. Twenty years after its debut, this car will still turn heads with its timeless styling and fantastic performance. The low volume (about 15,000 cars only) sold in the U.S. over the three years they were available ensures you that this is a car you don't see very often, so if you are looking for a car that really stands out from the crowd the 3rd generation RX7 is the vehicle for you."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great sports car for the money

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have driven RX7's for over 25 yrs. This sequential twin turbo has all the power & a fun ride. Limited quanity made this a head turner car that is great for the money. Has retained value and a pleasure to drive. Recommend to anyone."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda RX-7 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.