To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Mazda MAZDA6

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 202 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Good for the Price

By on Sunday, November 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a good car for the price. The exterior is stylish and masculine. The handling is brilliant. Fuel consumption is impressive, and is fast on the highway once cranked up to speed. Now for the cons: The 4-cylinder model takes a while to crank up, but that's okay for general driving. The only real deficiency in the vehicle is the flimsy feel of the interior. Had Mazda spent a little more on the interior, this would be an excellent car for it's price range. While the interior quality is disappointing, it is still a good car for the price. It could have been an excellent vehicle for the price, but I still recommend it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love It. Stylish,Fun to drive . Great Handling

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling fun to drive price, and value"

Cons: "noine right now"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Own the car for year and a half. No problems. Service has been great on it. Really love the way its handles. Mileage could be a little better. 25 city 32 33 highway. That's going the speed limit. All in all love the car. Its a 2010 I Sport."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Hello Mazda...Goodbye Honda

By on Thursday, June 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Styling, spacious, great stock audio system"

Cons: "Mediocre gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previously I owned and drove a '98 Honda Accord for 11 yrs and 143,000 and now am the happy owner of a 2010 Mazda6. I'm very pleased with the car overall...my only complaint is the mediocre gas mileage which is about what I was getting with my 6 cyl Honda. That said, the value and quality you get for your money more than outweighs the shortcoming of gas usage. Comfortable ride and spacious cabin are a plus when having to travel with a full load (myself and 4 adult passengers. Take a test drive before you look at Toyota and Honda which have had their share of recalls and quality issues these last few years. Highly recommend this auto to those looking for a sporty everyday, everyman automobile."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Decent car

By on Monday, April 18, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is my 3rd reveiw on this vehicle. I now have 15,000 miles on this 09' V-6 Zoom-Zoom Sedan. Mileage is poor in the Wisconsin winter but improves as the weather warms up. I recently switched to Full-Synthetic oil and hope for a little better mileage now. Car is still solid, very little road noise and runs/performs well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Zooming for life!

By on Sunday, April 3, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"After 5000 miles, I have no complains about my Mazda 6, ITP - V4, ebony black and black interior. So far, I can say that the Mazda 6 is a great car for its value. It's slick and sporty design stands out from the rest of of the pack. Handles really well and actually zooms as needed. It is not a racing car but a zooming sporty everyday sedan. I added HID lights (inside/outside), tinted windows, silver bumper protector, mud flaps, silver door handles and pillar posts. I get nothing but compliments about it. Pros: Blind spot monitoring. (The key to my buying decision). Interior design and colors. Excellent handling. Fabulous look. Stylish and impressive. Stands out. Cons: Better MPG. (I know its about my driving style) More speakers in the rear. Leather seats for the ITP trim. Mirror turn signals. Xenon headlights option for the ITP."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, January 22, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great Car, I have had not problems besides a squeaky door lock. I have had it for about a yr. It runs great, pretty quick, great handling. It has good traction in the winter snows of nebraska. I use to drive an awd suv and it is about the same!!! I love it styling, mines comet gray. Get the touring or touring plus models best value for the money. Enjoying your mazda is fun!!! I rev it a lot and it just zoom-zooms away. It is a great family car. It was given the title as best handling of the whole midsize class. It is fun to drive!!! The Mazda 3 is even better!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Accord killer

By on Sunday, October 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"After being a loyal Honda owner for 14 years, the disastrous redesign of the 2010 Accord led me to explore other options. After test driving the 6, I was sold. I've been very pleased with the vehicle's performance, styling, and comfort. It does leave a bit to be desired in fuel economy, but you can't get everything. Highly recommend!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, June 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, April 5, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"15,000 miles and it sounds like a 1970 pinto. Rattles, squeaks, groans, squeals, not what you want to hear in a new car. If I had it to do over I would pass on this vehicle. Do not let the scrumptious body style seduce you. She is beautiful but turns into a hag quickly. Mechanically so far nothing major but I do not remain optimistic. Performance still remains a positive experience. gas mileage is poor. I do not look forward to long rides any longer. Take a look at the VW CC. Slightly more expensive albeit less options but in general a better car. Too late for me, stuck with it for 3 more years, hope it holds together that long."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

water pump

By on Wednesday, March 17, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought brand new 09 Mazda, v6, 1.5years, less than 13,000mi... had to replace water pump/drop engine...OBOY.. can't wait to get it back and see what else is wrong with it...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice car for the money

By on Wednesday, November 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned the mazda 6 for little over a month now and really like it. Decent highway mpg (26-28) plenty of ZIP from the V-6 at the stoplights and lots of horsepower to pass on two lane roads. Ride is somewhat firm. (yet comfortable) Handling is responsive/quick and the interior/trunk is spacious. The rear fold down 60/40 seats and the arm rest in the back seat is a plus. I drove a simularly equipped Accord and Camry and could not justify spending THOUSANDS more just to say, "Hey, I drive a Honda or Toyota." The Mazda 6 is truly a value priced sedan. If you are a do-it-yourself oil changer you will notice the oil filter is right up front and easy to access and the oil plug is within arms reach without having to elevate the vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car - Great Value

By on Thursday, September 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Years ago I owned a '91 Mazda MX-6 GT, which I enjoyed & was impressed throughout my ownership. My previous primariy vehicle is an SUV; I wanted a sedan this go round. I researched 5 other popular cars in this class (more & less expensive); I found the styling, performance, features, & realiability of the Madza6 S GT not only to be a great value, but an awesome automoblie to drive & own. The dealer service as well as the after sale service has been great. I highly recommend checking this car out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car...but I really need an SUV

By on Monday, March 3, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The MOST fun car I have ever driven! :)"

Cons: "I forgot that I needed GPS until I got lost! :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I feel like this car "found me" at the dealership. The paperwork was ready for me to purchase a new vehicle and at the last minute I asked the salesman if he had any other gently used vehicles that he could show me. When he brought this car out I knew this was the one for me. He said that he usually didn't show a manual transmission vehicle to woman but heck, I love to shift!! Anyway, it was a fluke and I love this car. I get so many compliments on it...especially from the young men at the car wash. That makes a middle-aged woman feel young again. Unfortunately, as much as I love my car I need to think about getting an SUV perhaps a Mazda 7, as I have grandkids and need a bit more room. But in the meantime this car has been a nice ride! Zoom zoom!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, May 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive, good handling, power"

Cons: "alloy wheels should be std, the steel wheels cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This time around, when buying a car, I focused on my needs rather than emotions or keeping up with the Jones. The Mazda 6 with the 6 speed manual represents the best compromise between fuel economy, comfort, power, and fun to drive. I added a spoiler, 17" alloy wheels with Bridgestone Turanza Serenity tires, body side mouldings, and fog lights. The car now has everything I want and nothing I don't want. Mazda is the unsung hero of the Japanese imports."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun to Drive

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price and fun to drive. Lot of trunk space."

Cons: "Average fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has amazing pickup and is a lot of fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great features"

Cons: "no sirius radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car. It has great gas mileage and goo get up and go power."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My 2nd Mazda. Love the way it drives!

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Interior quality could be a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives great, good gas milage, and looks Sharp!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth, cozy, very great body style, reliable"

Cons: "pricey, mediocre gas mileage, expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car on an impulse buy. Test drove it and had to have it! I love this car its design is nice it drives smooth and is very reliable. The sun roof is great too! Goes through snow great and i love everything about it! only thing is i hit a deer right after i bought it and it was very expensive to fix. Thats the only downfall, but i don't plan on selling it so it was worth the price! Definitely recommend this!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Nice Car

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Not a cheap, bare-bones car"

Cons: "small selection of manual tranny models to pick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's hard to find a medium-priced sedan that is fun to drive, and I like to drive. This includes driving a manual transmission. I had to search hard to find this Mazda6 that has the features I want, and also a manual tranny. Cudos to Mazda for building this type of car! Keep it up!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is a great car

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"tons of bells and whistles and with a 6 speed transmission this is a fun car to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best choice I could have made!!!

By on Tuesday, February 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great drive, looks, sound (bose) and all around."

Cons: "No rear AC vents, gas mileage isn't greatest."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had the car for over 3 years now, haven't had any issues other than the couple of recalls."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car no more to say

By on Friday, February 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage"

Cons: "wish i had went with the automatic tranmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it!!!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome Car Great looks and super color

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and sporty car European style love it"

Cons: "Orange dash color, confusing MPG calculator"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Blue

"I love this car. Got my 2012 in early december and really love it. Drives sound minimal cabin noise very comfortable driving. Very quick pick up and fast. I never drove a mazada other than the rx-8 which i did not like. I wanted this car after I drove it. Not a big fan of the orange color display lights however i do like the blue glow on the dash. The MPG calculator on the dash is not user friendly. Love the blue tooth controls which includes bluetooth controls on steering wheel. Best car I have ever owned. I have the darker blue mica which is not listed here and I love the color."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Blue

Like driving a Lexus without the Lexus price.

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Aesthetically the most appealing car on the road."

Cons: "Obscure compromises on quality."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well appointed interior with more gadgets than I have the time to use. Excellent ride comfort and noise control. Keyfob system means never having to find your keys in the dark. Just grab the door handle, it beeps, and you can get in. Step on the brake, push the start button and you're on your way. Exterior styling is second to none. You get the appearance of an exotic import in a car that's built in Michigan. Navigation system adds $2,000 to the sticker, but if you can spend 30,000, why not make it 32,000? Love being able to find my way anywhere. Fit and finish are not the most precise. Upon very close examination, the hood is slightly off center. Interior rattles are minimal after 2 years. What is that sound in the trunk? Still can't figure it out. Don't expect miracles on fuel economy with the 3.7L 24 valve V6. I wanted power and I got it, but that eats up fuel. Great sports car feel and performance in a vehicle that provides ample space and comfort on long family trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my Mazda6

By on Friday, November 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, Sporty look and feel, fun to drive"

Cons: "Cannot think of any cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked around at several competitors of the Mazda 6, test driving and getting a sense of what the other manufacturers had to offer. I decided on the Mazda6 for several reasons - sporty look and feel, both interior and exterior were high in quality, gas mileage, and overall value. It is incredible to drive; corners great. I love driving this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda MAZDA6 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.