Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2008 Mazda MAZDA3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 1214 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 243 | Next

A great handling car!

By on Sunday, May 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nimble handling, body design remains current"

Cons: "odd tire size, gas around 23mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This model was rated at the top for years by Consumer Reports, and I see why. It's reliable, cute, and has excellent handling. Passengers who ride in my car notice, as well as those who have borrowed it. It handles curves really well, and has great accelleration. Due to this, for a compact car the gas mileage is not the best....however it has a lot more kick than Hondas and Toyotas that are of a similar size. Also...the tires are a little sportier, so harder to find when it's time to replace (less choice, some places such as goodyear said they would have to order them), so comparison shopping for the best deal is a little more difficult than your average car. Oh and mine is an 04....and people think it's a much more recent car and tell me I should "get a beater"...when I tell them technically it is as it is 11 years old, they don't believe me!"

2nd best car I ever owned.

By on Thursday, April 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of fun to drive, rides & handles well."

Cons: "Wish it got a little better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like I said, the 2nd best car I ever owned. First was a 1990 Honda Civic SI with 204,000 miles on it that I stupidly traded in on a new 2003 Honda Civic EX; the new Honda was back at the dealership for repairs 16 times in less than 18 months and 13,000 miles. Biggest gripe: it squeaked and rattled worse than any car I ever owned new OR used. (My research found that this was a very common problem on this body style, from model years 2002 through 2006). Last straw was when the I-beam behind the rear seat broke in the middle; the dealer's repair was to crimp the ends together. I asked them to weld it properly but their reply was: we can't do that, we would have to remove the entire interior of the car, blah blah blah whine whine whine, never mind that the car was still under warranty. I should have contacted the Honda zone office but I had had enough! Instead I immediately went to the closest Mazda dealer, found a Mazda 3S I liked and made a great deal on it, trading in that piece-of-junk 2003 Civic. What 13 years and 204,000 miles accomplished in loyalty, Honda destroyed in 18 months and 13,000 miles. I love my Mazda 3!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car except for the rust.

By on Tuesday, April 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This has been a great car mechanically. Still handles great too and is fun to drive. The only problem is the rust. The rear quarter panels began to rust after seven or eight Michigan winters. I understand that this is a common complaint of Mazda owners. What's up, Mazda? Why is this happening? Since resale has been so negatively affected by this issue, I won't buy another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car!!!

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, very fun to drive"

Cons: "Minor suspension issues depending on driving ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've own a 2008 mazda 3 HB for 6 years and it hasnt given me any trouble at all, I keep up with the maintenance and replace whatever needs to be replaced more or less on time... so far no issues, love this car!. My next car for sure will be a Mazda."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

ZOOM ZOOM

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handling, Gas Mileage, Interior design, Fun t"

Cons: "Space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my favorite car of all time. I bought it new and felt like I was driving a really expensive sports car! The handling is superb and the interior design made my colleagues at another car manufacturer jealous. So far the only issues I have had are replacing the headlights and fixing the wiring on my auto windows. After driving my car one time 3 of my friends went out and bought one. I am now looking for one for my teenager to drive."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 243 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mazda MAZDA3 near Honolulu. See local deals