Go

1998 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 180 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Amazing

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had a 1994 LS400 that hit 200,000 miles and started looking for a replacement. Looked at the other models of Lexus and found I was spoiled with my older LS. Talked to the dealer and found that they just got a 1998 LS 400 in with only 67,000 miles!! It drives even better than my '94 (to be expected) and has even more amenities. Knowing the reliability of my last vehicle I'm pretty confident there won't be many problems. I couldn't be happier!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Used Car Ever

By on Monday, October 17, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 446,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability and Comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my '98 in '03 with 62,000 miles. As of 11.17.2016, I have 446,012 miles. I replaced the alternator at 155,000 with a rebuilt and outside of water pumps, timing belts etc. EVERYTHING is original. Am on its seventh set of tires with Michelin giving me nothing under 77,000 miles a set. DO RECOMMEND USING ONLY OEM [Original Equipment Manufactured] parts. Most OEM parts available online and no need to go to the dealer for parts. Just replaced both engine and transmission mounts. Runs great, it is extremely quiet and I average nearly 27 mpg on the highway STILL. Unbelievable! I just acquired a '07 LS 460 and gave my LS 400 to my daughter. It is reliable, comfortable and a safe vehicle for my daughter."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 11 of its 13 years, and it has been nothing but dependable and solid. Drives like a dream, smooth, comfortable. My 90 year mother loves to go for road trips with me in it, and I have never been stiff or uncomfortable on long drives. It has 206,000 miles on it, and all original major parts. I just now am having things like the radiator and alternator replaced, after all these miles and years! It has been a tank that has been nothing but good, dependable and powerful. 1998 must have been an stellar year for Lexus! I love my Lexus LS 400!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car, great value

By on Tuesday, October 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven hundreds of cars over the years and this is one of the nicest cars I have ever owned. It has classic line, the model line does change for almost ten years, the car drives like you are sitting on your living room couch and the safety features are the best. I owned a 1994 and know have a 1997 and will not let it go. I am amazed to see them for sale with such high mileage but that is a tribute to the car. Great job Lexus( Toyota), only complaint is repair costs"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car

By on Monday, October 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our 1995 Lexus LS-400 with 140000mi and it now has over 190000. I've known them to go for ever if you take care of them. It is the smoothest car ever. No bumps, horsepower deluxe, good looking and does 30+mgp all at the same time. Had to replace the struts on the front and the hood but other than that it's been the best car. I would definatly recommend this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love Love Love

By on Tuesday, September 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car for over 3 years and this 13 year old car is better than the brand new car I leased before it. I have the 1995 LS and couldn't be happier. The only problems I have encountered have been minor and have been my fault. I left it sitting un-started, on an incline, in the freezing New England weather for about 4 months, so it was understandable that the breaks had a serious squeak and groan to them when I started to drive it again, but that quickly wore off and she's my fantastic beauty once again. I plan on driving this car until it won't go anymore, so I guess I'll be driving it until I'm ready to be buried, it's always so good to me."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Poor at the pump, excels everywhere else.

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just inherited a 1996 LS from my father with 205k miles. He bought it off-lease from the wife of an ACC basketball coach who received a new car every year. We've had this vehicle from mile 6k to mile 205k. With standard preventative maintenance, premium fuel, and timing belt changes, we've had to replace only lightbulbs. The hood and trunk lifts gave out long ago, but otherwise, everything runs like day one. This is an amazing vehicle. Without using hyperbole, I've been asked twice if I would sell it in the parking lot. Granted, when I inherited it, I went to town on the pearl white paint with a rotary buffer and she's been garaged day and night since day one. Buy without hesitation. Bad gas mileage (right around 15.5 around town, 22 on the highway), but the peace of mind makes it worthwhile. Especially given that you can pick one of these up now for about $7k in prime condition."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1997 Lexus LS400

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this 97 LS400 in 2000 with 28k miles. Simce then it has run with very few repairs. Normal maintenance is a little expensive. This is an awesome car, the best I have ever owned by far. I just leased a 2007 BMW 750Li and I think I prefer the lexus ride."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Extremely Reliable and Well Made

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been perfect for the last 9 years. Very little maintenance has been needed and the car literally looks and runs like new. I am sold on the LS series"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car I"ve ever owned!!

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car was a little pricey, but it is well worth it. I've had it for 7 years and never had a problem with it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.