Go

1997 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 181 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.6/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Best Luxury Value on the Market

By on Tuesday, May 4, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned seven years with no problems and 22 mpg city/29 hwy...was over $60K new. This is one incredible vehicle and they sell OVER KBB blue book with good reason. This car received Consumer Reports top rating of any car ever tested and any dealer will tell you of these the two best years are 1998 and 2004. If you find a nice clean one, don't quibble, buy it!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Incredible

By on Thursday, December 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 96 LS400 that I recently purchased I am totally impressed. I recently sold a MBZ S 420 class that put me in the "poor house" with repairs. I spent over $4k within the past 9 months. Folks go and get yourselves a LEXUS. This car is everything and then some vs. a MBZ. This vehicle responds to your every move on the road. Just maintain the vehicle and it will serve you for a very long time. I have 212k miles on mine and cannot wait to get another 212k out of it. Don't forget get the regular maint. on it , this is a luxury vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Luxury car!

By on Wednesday, June 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own a 99LS400 for almost 6yrs now. Bought it with 50k miles and it's now at 141k. I'm not the type to keep cars very long but this car has given me no reason to get something different. Excellent reliability and holds value very well too. Great road trip car with good gas mileage for a V-8. 18-27mpg. LS430 will most likely be my next car! I like the look of European luxury cars but I can't overlook the overall value and dependability of Lexus/Toyota cars.."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Car

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my Lexus LS400 now for 12 years - mostly due to not finding anything that I love more - it runs excellent, has never had any major mechanical problems, still rides comfortably and quiet, and the beige/gold exterior still looks great - most people think it's a much newer car. In terms of value and luxury, it truly has been the best purchase I've made yet."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

COMFORT ,RELIABLE POWERFUL

By on Saturday, July 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"BOUGHT MY LEXUS FROM A FRIEND 2 YRS AGO 210K, STILL LOOKS LIKE A BRAND NEW CAR, ALL I'VE DONE IS REGULAR MAINTENCE AND STILL CRUISING AT 245K WITH 20 IN RIMS AND STILL RIDES LIKE A CLOUD, HAD MANY OFFER FROM PEOPLE TO BUY ,SOME PEOPLE CAN'T BELIEVE IT IS A 98, OH ALSO GOOD GAS MILEAGE FOR A CAR BIG 25 TO 27 MPG HWY. AND CAN ACCERLARATE 0 TO 60 IN ABOUT 6 TO7 SEC, I V'E LOVE TO HAVE THOSE STOPLIGHT RACES AND I JUST LOVE THE LOOK IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEE THE DISTANCE, IF YOU CAN FIND A USED LEXUS IN GOOD MAINTENCE BUY IT YOU WON'T BE SORRY ONLY HAD TO CHANGE THE HOOD SHOCKS AND FAN CLUTCH IN THE 2 PLUS YEARS I HAD THIS PEARL WHITE BEAUTY I PROBABLY NEVER SELL IT"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Choose No Other

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'm a small-time used car dealer that can drive any car I want and I choose the LS400 over any other car out there - more expensive or not. You can't do any better, regardless of price. The quality, fit, finish are impeccable - I like perfection! These cars don't cost that much to work on which differs from what most think.....if there ever need it. I've seen them with 300K miles purring like a kitten. Be sure and get one that has the HID headlight system if you can, makes a big difference. Don't really notice that much difference with the Nakamichi sound system though. Good luck on your hunt for the best."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

95 LS400

By on Saturday, April 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought a month ago off of ebay for $7900 w/96000 miles.What a great car.Beware though.Parts prices are very high.Timing belt replacement is high too.Budget at least a grand for the 90000 mile service.That said though.It feels like ir will go at least another 100000 miles before I have to lift the hood.Buy parts off ebay.Remote's ,Keys,even got the hood stuts for only $39 off there."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Monday, November 5, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchase a 1998 LS 400 in 2005 with 75,00 miles. The LS400 performed and appeared new then and now. Very Comfortable and it is Smooth and the highway. I get over 28.5 mpg driving between 75-80 mph."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

cream puff

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Nice car". my LS 400 has 197000 miles,burns no oil, has no rattles, and It's fast. I PM the car my self useing synthetic oil and I keep my motor clean. At 159000 miles I replace two parts on the front end, powersteering seal, timeing belt, plug wires, plugs and one outside temp probe.My LS has not missed a lick in the last 40,000 miles. With its classic lines, at ten years old it still looks good. I guss you could say, I'm a happy 1997 LS-400 owner."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.