Go

1994 Lexus LS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 133 Ratings for the 1992 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Great Car

By on Thursday, January 8, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is what a luxury vehicle should be--comfortable, reliable and stylish. The only downside is it requires premium fuel and gets poor gas mileage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the first 1500 Sold!

By on Friday, January 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car from a friends father, who was a maintenance freak. Well maintained. I bought it to use in business 12 years ago. Picked up the car and my wife drove it home. She was adamant about keeping her van. Half way home told me that I would not like the car. She saved me from myself! I can't get her out of the car as long as it rolls she will drive it. Only complaint Toyota normally uses under capacity breaks in the first model year of all the cars, the Lexus is no exception. I have done more break maintenance then I would like, but not compared to the BMW and MB vehicles. The first of it's line which revolutionized the luxury car industry. Just a flat out great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

After 16 years, LS400 still great!!!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my LS400 over 16 years and it is still running great. All maintenance and repair are reasonable on this car if you find a good mechanic as the parts are much more reasonable than their European counterparts."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Luxury Vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you are looking for the best luxury and reliability, Ls400 is the car for you. Most people don't know that it is really fuel efficient V8 too, it gets around 20 mpg average!!! I would recommend getting a model that has Nakamichi stereo system, you gonna love it ;)~ Bottom line no Bimer Mercedes or Infinity will offer you same reliability as this Lexus, sold mine 1990 when it had 225k miles to a friend of mine and he still drives to this day!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Well Done Lexus!

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"In 1989, Toyota introduced Lexus' LS. This was made to compete with the BMW 7-Series, and the Merc S-Class. They did a great job. I am a car enthusiast, and have driven many higher end cars. Unfortunately, my income does not permit me to own any of those cars. But this can come close. I have driven the incumbent (735-750, S420-S600), and have to say, other than the speed department, Lexus nailed it. Great fuel economy, excellent comfort and amenities. It's a relatively slow car (0-60 est. 7.5sec) for me, and I've also had a few slight problems with the power steering pump and the instrument cluster, but beyond that, the LS wins over BMW and Mercedes in the early nineties, hands down. Does great in rain, great in snow (w/ snow tires). If you find one at a good price, you can't go wrong."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I HAVE HAD

By on Wednesday, July 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a '94 with 190000 mi. and it rides like new! and looks GREAT"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

amazing car

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"millions of car owners of this car can't be wrong, one of the best cars i've ever owned"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Thursday, December 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"94 Lexus with 245K, runs great, best car I have ever owned. I did all the usual repairs, timing belt, steering rack, brakes, tires, power steering pump, clock and temperature control LCD's, window motor, steering wheel tilt motor, but when I need to go 1200 milles in a day you can't beat this car. Set the cruise control sit back and hold on, I love this Car! It will do 500K miles for sure. In fact I am looking for another to keep up north."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A Very Smoooooth Ride

By on Monday, December 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my 1991 with 152k miles from the original owner who took exceptional care of it. My car is the equivelant of the average 10 year old vehicle. It rides very smooth and performs exceptionally well for a 16 year old vehicle. The power steering/rack and pinion system had already been changed along with the AC compressor. Those are the two items which are known to malfunction over time. I am not going to replace the ABS Actuator which is another common malfunction because we don't really need it. Overall, I feel like I'm in a late model vehicle when I'm behind the wheel. Due to the high cost of maintenance, I highly recommend purchasing from an individual who has documented receipts for maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my car!

By on Friday, November 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Well it is a 1990 with 180000 and still running excellent, I know that is not much for this car i hope to drive it many more years keeping it maintained.Theses cars are well worth the money and if you research it deep like I did you will see how many people own and love theses cars!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Superior Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, November 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"More advance feature than its time. Excellent ride and comfort. Very reliable"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lovely vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my Lexus!!! It drives great, it's fast like a Nascar, luxurious, comfortable, reliable and great on gas!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has NEVER broken down on me in ALL THESE YEARS."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

cool ride.

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 237,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only problems were a powere steering leak and alternator. besides normal wear and tear . People always complimented the look."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

MOST RELIABLE CAR EVER OWNED

By on Friday, January 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FLOATS WHEN DRIVING"

Cons: "NO HEAT IN SEATS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I AM A REALTOR AND NEED A CAR THAT GETS A LOT OF MILES. GREAT RELIABILITY AND MY CLIENTS LOVE RIDING WITH ME."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Made of Steal not plastic

By on Wednesday, June 9, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is very sturdy, Still rides like a lexus, and I give this body type; sleek, and strong. Absolutely the best body style for the Lexus because it stands out, especially in the color black. CD"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SOLID!!!

By on Sunday, March 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid Car. Quiet cruiser with power to spare. This car was far ahead of its time when first introduced. Still looks stylish and current after 17 years on the market. Solid value."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Won't be disappointed

By on Wednesday, February 24, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid everywhere, but strangely, the seats don't feel quite right. Lots of knobs and variation, but it never adjusts quite right."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, January 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I wanted one of these cars when I first saw one when they first came out. I said to myself that one of these days I will own one, well many years later I was able to purchase my dream car and my fatasies came tru! It is the best car (out of about 100) that I have ever owened!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, September 9, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 91 LS400 in 07 with 60k miles on it from a Lexus dealer in Dallas. The car has been excellent overall with minor things needing repair. Had the A/C fixed in 09, had a new alternator in 09, overall excellent car for the age and doesn't at all feel like a 91."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

extremely nice car

By on Monday, July 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned lots of different cars, but this Lexus just stands apart from the crowd. It is as exhilarating to drive today as the first time.I have owned the car for 12 years now, and will really struggle to give it up."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Monday, April 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great car. Bought it used Love the way it rides. Very comfort. I have 185600 miles and still going strong."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

above and beyond none better

By on Monday, February 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"ride is fab, power is smooth, quiet and plentiful, interior very comfortable, very roomy for a "mid-size", handling like a sports, but comfort like a full size touring car. the only problem is the LCD for the clock and climate control, starting to go blank, very costly to replace but with over 160,000 miles who can complain. still has a lot of life left in to it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Faithful LS

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this car and has been a great, big, and safe vehicle. It has around 150k and i bought it with 140k and put new tires, new battery and interior speakers and she is ready to go. This engine and tranny will go another 100k at least. Only complaints is that she guzzles the gas, but with mid plus fuel, she does fine. Also some parts are slightly costly, but are worth it when you weigh the dependability and durability. I have only owned Toyota's and buying this premium Toyota is a slight scale up and is worth every penny!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The Best Luxury Value on the Market

By on Friday, December 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you are considering a used Luxury vehicle and want to get more than your money's worth, get a Lexus. My LS400 is a very smooth vehicle 17 years and going. I was blessed to find a one owner, garaged, well-maintained vehicle. I feel like I have a vehicle that is 10 years or younger. Maintenance is expensive so please get documentation before you purchase or be prepared to buy quality replacement parts (expensive)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus LS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.