Go

2004 Lexus IS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 249 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

luxury with a edge

By on Sunday, January 11, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is a great car overall in style, performance, and comfort. The only thing that i would change is that it needs a better center console. The one that is in it is a little low. They needed to make it higher so you can use it as a arm rest. Other than that, buy it!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Tuesday, December 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"But as I pass through my sixties find that it is just a little too low to the ground for easy in/out, so need to step up the size of my ride. Has expected Lexus mechancial perfection as well as really lovely styling."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, November 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazingg

By on Sunday, November 23, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is just amazing and sexy. If the gas mileage would be adjusted a bit, then this car would be perfected!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

that nice!

By on Monday, November 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"very classy, sporty, elegant combo. well worth it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had this car from new and it now have over 97,000 miles on it...... One word, GREAT!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Monday, June 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car brand new in 2001 and never had a problem in 6.5 years. The only thing I had to do besides regular maintenance was replace the tires every other year. It is the most reliable, quality car that I've ever driven. Now that I have a family, I have to upgrade to the GS 350. I will miss this car and wish that I didn't have to sell it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good for a single person

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I got a 2002 IS used when I was 19 and kept it for about 3 years. It handled very well in the right conditions, but at the end of my ownership the car was nearly totaled on very thin ice. That's probably the only downfall to the IS, but now Lexus offers all wheel drive on the later models. I just traded it for an RX and am very happy with both Lexuses. The IS was an awesome car overall, but now I'm a new mom and it just isn't realistic, especially if you live in climates with snow/ice."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, March 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Lets's put it this way, I had a 2002 IS, drove it for 4 years, enjoyed everything about it, ordered a 2005. I've had it for another 3 years, so far...have test drove the C-Class and 3 series. going to keep my IS."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun Car

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had the car 3 months so far and have driven 7,000 miles. Had to get the lights stabilization and cd player fixed but it was covered under warranty. Car handles excellent in most conditions. Rear wheel drive in the snow has been somewhat aweful but I guess it was somewhat expected and probably not much different than other luxury rear wheel drive sports vehicles in its class. The breaks and traction control are exellent and have saved me from a number of accidents. Definitely recommend the car as it handles very well and is quite enjoyable to drive. Service is excellent from Lexus. Car does need high end snow/all wheather tires to perform well in all conditions, especially in the winter. I also keep 150 lbs of salt over rear tires in the winter as you need more weight over the tires in the snow and ice. Also keep a shovel in your car so you don't get stuck places. The seats are sporty and for longer drives are good, not excellent in comfort. Reliability in the winter is good but not excellent. Other than that I wouldn't get any other car in it's class. I recommend upgrading to the sports design as you get upgraded wheels and more chrome and a unique color. I haven't seen the same color car on the road yet. The upgrades make a big difference. For the price and options and the Lexus name, it's a bargain. The car using tiptronics is fast and probably quick enough for most. Taking turns on a dime is probably the best thing about this car. Being fairly light and low to the ground taking turns at 30 is no problem."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Greatest Car ever owned

By on Wednesday, February 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this car, and extremely happy with its performance and stlying. I would recomend this car to anyone interested in purchasing a new "used" car. More reliable than the BMW and handles much better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car for my wife 4 years ago and she loves it. Just the right size for her and very reliable. She absolutely refuses to talk of replacing this car with anything. Now that is customer loyalty!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, January 14, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this is a great car. reliable, very responsive, quick, smooth and forgiving. it's easy to drive. fell in love with it the first time i drove it. it something i can see myself keeping for a very long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the car

By on Sunday, December 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this car. I have the manual transmission. It is an easy car to drive, my wife can even handle the manual(thats saying a lot!). Interior design is great. Can fit 5. Have 70k miles and just now thinking about my second set of tires. Has been very reliable, no issues. Would highly recommend the vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I LIKE IT!!

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I agree with an earlier post as far as the premature wear on the inner side of front tires, the oxygen sensor, and the radio errors which require replacements. It is a great car overall though. I whip around in it through traffic. It's quick at the draw and when you want to pass. I dont have any major problems with this car. I want to upgrade to the 07 IS AWD..hopefully it will handle better in the snow..since my 02 IS300 usually remains PARKED during those times!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"By far the best vehicle I have ever been in or owned. Its sporty, hip, and beautifully designed inside and out. The ride quality is second to none. The 5 speed is so much fun to drive. Engine is super smooth, responsive and sounds great! Look no further when looking for a mid sized luxury sedan....AWESOME!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Trust me. You will like this car.

By on Tuesday, September 2, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is an OUTSTANDING daily driver. Average person- With that said I will talk about its drivability in the snow. Every IS300 came equipped with summer tires, so this means that most IS300s probably have a summer performance tire on it. This handles bad in the snow. Same goes for every other RWD car. If you put all-season tires or winter tires coupled with "snow-mode" on, you are golden. You also have to see if the car came equipped with "LSD". Limited-slip differential. Some IS300s came with it. This will help tremendously in the snow and in the rain. There are no other questions about this car if it is your daily driver. Nothing is wrong with this car. It is peppy, has great brakes, handles very well, and looks good as well. Trust me I know everything about this car, I could talk about it for days. Ive ripped the car apart and put it back together. Ive driven it VERY hard and know its capabilities and weaknesses. For daily driving and for an entry level luxury car there are know weaknesses. Boost-addicts- This car/2JZ engine responds tremendously to modifications. Specifically to boost. Buy a simple bolt-on turbo/supercharge kit for about $3000-$6000 and you will be around 300rwhp give or take at about 8psi. Of course you have to help it breath. The only problem is the wimpy tires. 215s give you no traction with 300rwhp so you will have to upgrade to wider tires and wheels. When you start to get near 350rwhp and above you will need to upgrade transmissions. As the w55 is weak. You have three to choose from w58, r154, and v160 (look them up). Also remember if you are not into forced induction there are a variety of bolt-ons you can do. I recommend the first thing to do is to look up some gearing. Chand the ratio of the rear-end. The MT IS300 comes stock with a 3.7 final drive and the AT IS300 comes with a 3.9 final drive. Ive seen people go up to 4.56 from TRD, but the best final drive for this car and the w55 transmission is 4.11 from most of the V8 Toyota trucks. You can buy the 4.11 from a Toyota dealer. Like I said I could talk about this car for days. I know almost every detail about this car. The only thing I dont have experience with is the AT (automatic transmission) on this car. I just gave you some rough details on this car so I hope this helps. Make sure when you are buying this car that the person took care of it before you. That goes for any care. But with a Toyota (Lexus IS300) if you take care of it, the car will last longer than you. Good Luck"

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

No regrets

By on Friday, October 17, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my IS new in 2002. 128,000 miles later, get this. I still have my original brake pads, original battery, original clutch (5 speed). I stopped taking the car to the dealer a while ago ($50 oil changes, c'mon). I still admire this vehicle when I'm walking towards it and especially after I had just washed/waxed it. Only drawback that I have to baby it to get 25mpg. premium fuel also."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This is only my 2nd Car! Such a GREAT car!

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quick pick up"

Cons: "Only 2 cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I first fell for this car when it came out and it was the first to have those round rear lights! I thought it had a handsome profile and clean sharp details like the drive Shift ball being silver and cool pedals! My first car was a '89 CRX new-it lasted me 13 years(bought it in "88)! I decided I should update and thought this car would be equally worthy! It has met my expectations. When a car is mostly built in Japan I notice a LONG life, just like my first car. Last SMOG check the people couldn't believe it "passed as if it was a brand new car!" Car seats are kinda tricky in this car but not really that difficult. It's been an awesome car for the last 10-11 years now! Wow! Totally recommend it. Tight steering. Easy to park in the city. "Zippy" is the best description for this car! Great car for Day to Day and Long Trips down I-5!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Getting fed up with this thing

By on Saturday, February 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs, drives and holds up flawlessly"

Cons: "Mediocre gas mileage and it won't quit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Over ten years and I'm getting tired of it and want a new car. The Sportcross fits everything I need to carry, it handles like nothing else I've test driven and, with the exception of one oxygen sensor, has been fault free. I can't find a replacement that's not a downgrade and I'm getting really fed up."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

nice quick ride.

By on Saturday, December 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "quick, reliable, luxury."

Cons: "RWD in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

the beast

"i bought this car at 95,xxx for 10k$ in great condition. i have driven it year round summer and winter,and taken it all over the united states. 40,000 miles later the only money i have had to put into the car was for oil changes/reg maintenance and tires. my only concern with the vehicle is the RWD. the is300 is not very good in snow."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

the beast

Lexus = Quality

By on Saturday, March 20, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love my 2002 IS300. I bought it used in 05 with about 42k miles on it. Nearly 130k now and it really runs great! I've had no MAJOR issues with this vehicle! Just small things like the hood latch, etc. A couple complaints: Minor: the cup holder is tiny and actually comes out (which always wedges on to the cup). Moderate: The low profile tires look kinda cool but are big candidates for flats. I've had a few. Major: I'm from Chicago and this is NOT a very good winter car. Light + Rear Wheel Drive = control issues. I try everything: snow setting, huge bags of gravel, etc and it's still quite bad in the snow. Overall, very pleased. NOT ONE ISSUE with engine, starter, exhaust, transmission, fuel system, cooling system, etc. Just minor wear and tear. Try to avoid the Lexus dealer. A simple one axle break job (rotors and pads) is a staggerign $600. I told them no thanks and got it done for less but best avoid them altogether unless its a very specific part you need."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus IS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.