ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 255 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Great midsize luxury alternative

By on Friday, January 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Like the styling and performance much more than a Mercedes E-Class. The controls on a 5 Series BMW are exasperatingly frustrating compared to the Lexus. The build quality of the GS certainly exceeds either of those alternatives. It has a snug feel, but I like it. If I was any taller (6'1"), I wouldn't be able to fit, but that's the price of the sleek roofline. Lots of great features at a price of about $8000 less than the competition. I briefly considered an M35, but don't like the styling, dash, or the driving feel."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

quality vehicle

By on Monday, September 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this vehicle. It is lacking in the power of my old BMW V8 but I'm not complaining about 24 avg mp gallon. Hwy gas mileage is approx 28. You can't beat the quality of leather."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Highly refined car

By on Sunday, September 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Wow what a car. Have had car for just a short time but very goog first impression. Smooth and quiet ride. Car has all the whistles. Plenty of power and also milleage is decent for 8 cylinder. On a recent trip averaged 26 mpg highway. Car is not a total luxury ride like your fathers car. But if your looking for a compenation of ride and performance this is the car for you. Lexus has hit the target with this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Navigation System - Poor

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Overall, this car has excellent curb appeal and interior looks. However, it has the worse navigational system of any factory installed system I have ever had owned (4 previous). It is not user friendly at all and even the "experts" at the Lexus dealer had trouble explaining how to use it. (One salesperson said I wasn't the first to complain about it...) If you are thinking about buying a Lexus w/a navigational system - don't!!! You will be disappointed, I guarantee!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEst car ever no probelms at all with 141k no leak

By on Thursday, February 6, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "interior lighting is dim. wish it was brighter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no oil leaks or problems. amazing car plenty of pwr . awd has great traction and performance"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable ...Just a great car

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best driving car I have ever owned"

Cons: "Not so great on gas !!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing negative to sat except for the fuel usage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Outstanding car.

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like. This car has comfort, convenience, and performance. Things are designed so well that after driving for a few thousand miles the comfort and convenience systems disappear. Example: The dash illumination is controlled by light sensors in the cabin. If you drive into the sun you can see them without strain, if you turn a corner they dim (no longer into the sun), but you can see them just as well. You don't notice that they dim. The car is quiet and the seats have lots of adjustability just what you need for a long trip. I have had no maintenance issues at all. Dislikes. The run flat tires wear quickly and add an undertone of harshness to the ride."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

28MPG , 340hp, every gadget possible, looks great!

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Value in a Luxury Sedan. MPG, Performance"

Cons: "None and beleive me I am picky!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the money I can't think of another car I'd rather own. I have gotten 28 mpg with this car combined driving. It looks awesome, have not had one problem with it. With 340HP it has unbelievable power for a full size sedan. The Mark Levinson sound system is a must have as it gives this car a home theater quality sound system with surround sound that is un believable. Once again Lexus got it right. I am so glad I traded my Mercedes in on this GS450H. Now if I can just get my wife to drive her BMW instead of my Lexus, I'll be even happier."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very professional and comfortable ride

By on Wednesday, December 7, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and professional ride"

Cons: "Not a red Ferrarri"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I drive or ride in this car, I feel like I am in a private plane. The ride is so smooth and I always receive comments from others about how great it looks inside and out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worth every dollar!

By on Tuesday, September 21, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I previously owned a 1999 GS 300, that was totaled in a car accident. I was originally going to purchase an 04 or 05 LS 430. During my research I saw the GS 430 and fell in love reading about it. It had all of the bells and whistles and gave me a Sporty / Luxury vehicle with power. I test drove one and I was totally hooked. I found a great deal on line, and flew to Minnesota and drove back 19 hours in two days. I am so glad that I purchased the 2006 GS 430 and not the 04 or 05 LS. The car is everything that I read about and thought that it would be. Worth every dollar, Lexus did a GREAT job, they truly did their homework! Thank You"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for price

By on Monday, June 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I recently purchased a used 2007 GS350 with low miles (41,000). When I was shopping I was also looking at BMW 5 series, Mercedes C300 and Acura TL. Love the vehicle so far. I was very specific on the features I was looking for. All in all love the drive. Has the a good acceleration and was able to do a road trip from Dallas to Austin to get a good feel of highway driving. Love the comfort and technology. Not sure what everyone was taking about with the bluetooth. I was able to synch up with my blackberry and use it all the time for in care conference calls."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2006 Lexus GS-300

By on Thursday, March 11, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Excellent fuel mileage --- which is the best thing about this vehicle. Driven it ALL over the U.S. and average about 33 mpg on highway; about 26 mpg city. Some real bad human factors problems: No dome light; pop down tray for many controls hazardous to reach for when you're driving; some controls are touch screen; some are push/toggle. Ride not that great. Performance is very good with this 3 Liter engine but probably not as good as the neweer GS350 with the larger engine -- but gets better gas mileage on premium or mid-grade gasoline."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Saturday, January 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2 1/2 years and 19,000 miles later, my 2007 GS is like new. Very comfortable, excellent ride, nice insulation from outside when driving, performance, brakes - Nothing NOT to like about the car. Except...and this is minor, I've had one mechanical issue (bad EGR valve) and two electrical problems (bad a/c fan motor and driver's side mirror motor) but the Lexus dealer replaced both items by the next day. My issue is these are quality check issues (all occurred within 6 months of ownership). Nevertheless, nothing has occurred that prevented the car from starting up in the morning. . I'd prefer driving a comparably equipped MB E class but not at a $11,000 premium. Whenever the time comes, I'll get another Lexus. Expensive - yes but the value is there."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Besides rattles - Awesome

By on Friday, January 8, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car really satisfies my need for performance, acceleration, great radio, but still enough room for 2 carseats and AWD for the snow. I feel relaxed driving it, but can punch it when I want. Can't wait to see what they come up with on the redesign!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worth the money

By on Monday, August 24, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It has been completely trouble free for 2 years and 54,000 miles. still get 29 miles to the gallon"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GS 350 AWD

By on Tuesday, April 14, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Overall, very impressive auto. Voice activated system is a joke, my Honda's works better. The Lexus system has difficulty understanding. Lack of command menu makes it difficult to learn. Performance is really great. Cruise at 75 and average around 30 mpg. Leave most cars in the dust with excellent acceleration. I'd buy one again IF they fix the voice activation program."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GS 350 AWD

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had the car for nearly two years now. There has been some "creaking" in the dash in the cold, COLD Minnesota winters, but the dealer dealt with them under warranty. The care is really fast. Great handling! Quick, QUICK and a great bang for the buck. Not as smooth as my LS 400, but much sportier. I really like it. Blows "sports cars" away with a stealthy appearance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Luxury car with a kick!

By on Saturday, January 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love our new GS350. It has over 300 hp which is more than a stock Mustang GT! This thing has style, class, and will fly!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car for all purposes

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a four door that seats five and has a large trunk. I saw a review that said it was too slow. This car breaks 14 seconds in the 1/4 mile! It has rear wheel drive and his-n-hers automatic shifter like the old GTO's. We have owned our GS350 for a year and it averages about 25 mpg overall. We have owned two other Lexus vehicles in the past 12 years and the only repairs were new tires and batteries."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Nice Car

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS350 in October of 06, it's a 07 model. I love everything about this car with the exception of the trunk space, the seats don't go down which is a pain. Though this car isn't meant to carry heavy bulky equipment, it would still be nice to know that it could. The AWD is awesome in the snow and rain."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good car

By on Monday, December 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"nothing bad to say but this car is getting to small for my family so its time to move on"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not too happy

By on Saturday, October 20, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car for the gorgeous red color, but found that wasn't a good enough reason! The headlights are aimed poorly, the interior lighting is insufficient, the control panel on the left of the steering wheel is a pain, the car needs more horsepower and the rain sensing wipers are awful! I'm trading it in next month for an RX! Anyone looking to buy this car should drive it at night before making a decision."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my GS 350 in January, this year. This vehicle is equipped with the most sophisticated and ergonomical technology on the market. The NAV system is very basic and self explanatory, yet limitless, and all of the electronics are easy to understand. The car has a very slight delay on take off; this is due to Lexus' very luxurious and smooth driving experience. However, the car is equipped with a "performance" switch which, when activated, increases initial acceleration and torque, completely eliminating all lag. It doesn't get much more invigorating than launching an extremely inviting and technological machine to 60mph in 5.5 seconds! The adaptive headlights are extremely affective. I will never purchase another car without that feature. The Mark Levinson sound system is spectacular, and adjustable in many ways - including the ability to turn the surround sound effect on or off! The ride is spectacular and very quite. If you don't mind spending about $50-55k, I highly recommend this vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle - beautiful

By on Thursday, April 3, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value and excellent ride"

Cons: "Expensive gas required; supreme"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love Lexus - this model especially"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car!!!

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I buy a car every two years when I traded out of my GS to another brand I had to get the GS back. Now I will only trade for a newer GS. I rated the 8's because there were significant changes to the interior and nav systems 09 and newer."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.