To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2004 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 294 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Thursday, February 3, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car brand new in 2002. I have literally never had a single problem with it. The car wasn't cheap new but I probably would be on my 3rd domestic vehicle by now so it is a wash."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2000 gs best vehicle ever!!!!

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"one of the best vehicles on the road now! i have not had any problems with this car what so ever, and it has 173,000 miles on it. it drives like new, just do the regular oil change and its ready to go. i cant say one bad thing about this car, my next car would be the LEXUS LS430!!!! can't wait"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle i ever bought so far

By on Tuesday, July 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"everything is easy and feels great when u accelerate miles dont mean anything for this car i have 201000 miles and it runs like it has low miles runs better then every year 2000 and under car i purchased"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Surprise Surprise

By on Sunday, June 7, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my car for a number of years and no real problems at all. The car still operates like it did when I purchased it. If I wasn't in financial ruins, I wouldn't even be considering letting my car go, however, I paid nearly $38,000 for the car six years ago and now you can't even get a car lot to offer you $10,000 for it. I know cars loose their value soon as you drive off the lot, but in mint condition with all the bells and whistles, and a $8,500 offer from a car lot was an insult. My custom wheels and tires nearly cost that. I may be in diar need of cash, but I will just let it sit before taking that big a loss especially when I know how good it runs and how clean it is inside and out and how good it looks."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Modern Tank

By on Sunday, November 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have gx 470 vvti, sc 400vvti, and gs 430 vvti. I love Lexus V8s, and I would love to recommend gs 430 to buyers who are looking for premier quality and defined craftsmenship. I love working my cars due to ease of Lexus design and functionality. There are good values out there with high milege beyond 100k, because these cars go beyond 300k with timely and proper care."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sound Semi-Luxury Vehicle

By on Thursday, February 28, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new and paid fair price. Car has been very reliable and trustworthy. Comfort is OK. One terrible feature they need to fix is the trunk lid. It comes crashing down on you (has happened twice to me) without warning. Needs correcting since this is supposed to be a higher-end vehicle. Piston would be a nice solution."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Wednesday, January 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It is my first lexus and I love it, will have a hard time buying any other make! I test drove a brand new camry and a new accord and then this used lexus, they did not compare, there was no question in what car I should get."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Made

By on Monday, December 12, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,950

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, look, ride, quiet"

Cons: "Smaller rear seat than later years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Toyota did what they do best with this vehicle. I've been wanting one for a while and looked for a year before finding mine with 1 previous owner and only 6k miles/year since original delivery. I rent new cars a lot traveling for work and have driven just about every new mid size sedan this year. Not one compares. I like the body style of 2006, but that and 2007 had horrible engines. If you can find a 2000-2005, grab it quick!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Timeless design and amazing quality sports sedan

By on Friday, March 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2003 Lexus GS300 has 110,000 miles on it and it still looks almost brand new inside and out. This car has an amazingly smooth inline 6 that is on par with the similar BMW engine with better overall reliability. The cars interior is extremely quiet even at highway speeds with little to no squeaks or rattles. The car is very soft over bumps, yet stills gives you decent cornering with only moderate body lean. The cars 5 speed automatic transmission is so smooth that shifts go unnoticed. The glove leather seats are both soft and comfortable and the burled walnut accents add class and sophistication. The a/c is very cold and the standard stereo is excellent with great treble and bass."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LOVE IT!!!!

By on Saturday, February 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,fast,safe,affordable"

Cons: "nothing!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is extremely fun to drive. It's an affordable fast, luxury,reliable and safe car. I bought the Lexus a while ago and can only say for the price you get 20 out of 10 possible. The 4 liter V8 takes you of the line in no time at all. And the gas mileage inst so bad on it either I get about 17-19 combined of course It also matter how you drive yet this car is a BEAST!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Toyota/Lexus loyal customer!

By on Wednesday, April 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my lexus. I have NEVER had any kind of issues with it. It drives extremely smooth and is comfortable for the long drives! You get the full value for your buck!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Ageless Class

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"An ageless stylish car that is comfortable inside. Been very reliable for 14 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Competent vehicle that is comfortable

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, a parent's car"

Cons: "generic, a parent's car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car with about 75k miles on it 6 years ago. It has been totally reliable and overall a great car. Just like most cars, the services at the dealer are outrageous, but I have always gone to the dealer for service. Because of that, it really does still drive like brand new. I think I want a new car, but this one is so reliable it is hard to justify spending the money on a new one!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a blast to drive and looks great too"

Cons: "a little tough on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car goes like a rocket, handles like a sports car, and rides like the luxury sedan that it is."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would not want anything else.....

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, Fast, Fast...."

Cons: "Gas. Small trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I bought my gs 400 after it was recked and rebuilt. It's super fast when you want it to be, and sunday driver when you want it to be. I sold cars for years and drove many. Nothing beats this car in my opinion. You will pay for gas, but it's worth it. I bought mine with 130,000, Have over 170 now and no problems, but I do change the fluids regularly and always put in chevron gas. I just love this car. GS 400 Baby : )"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

RELIABLE CAR!

By on Wednesday, July 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS 300 when it was 8 years old in 2006 and took it to my mechanic so he can take a look at it before I bought it. He said the car was in PERFECT condition and whoever had it previously really took good care of it. 3 1/2 years in of owning the car, i've only needed new brakes and a starter and THAT WAS IT! The car has never broken down on me or had any other issue what-so-ever! It's reliable, comfortable and looks great. My friends can't believe my car is 10 years old. GET ONE!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 GS 300

By on Friday, December 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned the car since new and never, not even once, has there been a problem. 75,000 miles later not a squeek or rattle. Great performance and handling. Absolutely the BEST car I have ever owned. Been buying cars since 1966, owned them all and this is the best hands down."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, October 4, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"After a fun filled but tiring 8 month search for a used luxury ride within my price range, the Lexus GS300, 2000 model fit the bill! Bought at 60,000, now at 96,000 with no problems, mpg is 21 with mixed driving, and the style just doesn't quit. The ride is smooth, the engine is strong, and the interior is very comfy with plenty of room. What a great car!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing Comfort and Style

By on Wednesday, October 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I simply love a Lexus. I have driven a lot of cars for business travel, but the Lexus suspension delivers one of the smoothest rides you will find. Also a very reliable car, other than general maintenance, I have not put any significant money into this car; it has performed well in the 3+ yrs I owned it. The only drawback, if I can call it that, is the cost of repairs and labor are a bit higher than standard sport sedans, but you are getting quality parts for the price you pay"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Luxury with a mean engine

By on Saturday, May 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The V8 engine boasts phenomenal performance. For even an older vehicle, it still maintains its sweet sporty style and luxurious appearance. This is a great every day car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliabilty

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have an 01 gs300 for about five years and 150k miles. My car has never been in the shop unless for upkeep. This car is so well built from top to bottom. Unlike my benz who is in the shop almost once a month. One of the most reliable cars out there."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Our favorite car

By on Saturday, February 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven a lot of cars over the years, and none comes even close to our Lexus. We bought it used at about half the sticker price and love every minute of owning it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid Car

By on Wednesday, January 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2001 GS300 as a certified Lexus from the dealer and have owned it for 4 years. Overall, minor problems - oxygen sensor and new battery replacements. It's a fun car to drive, dependable, handles great in the rain, and is beautiful inside and out. Everyone thinks it is only a few years old as it has held up so well with nearly 75k miles on it. I had never spent $30k on a car, but glad I spent my money on this one. I plan to keep this car indefinitely."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

environmentally friendly high performance

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is more fun than my old corvette. How nice to get a true 28 mpg while cruising down the highway at 75 mph. Great handling and dandy luxury features, all with dependable Lexus performance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

ahead of its time

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Best car I have ever owned, accelerates like a slingshot total class, new platform gives it unbelievably great handling and performance,must test drive yourself"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.