To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Lexus GS

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 294 Ratings for the 1998 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

An outstanding vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the 2nd GS300 we've owned and this one was the best. I think it's one of the most beautiful sedans ever built and it's beauty goes far deeper than skin deep. I'm afraid this is the last one we will own due to retirement and don't have those big paychecks anymore."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love mine!

By on Friday, April 21, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "just feels solid"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently got my 2002 gs300 and really enjoy driving this car! Its comfortable, spacious and has lots of power and accelerates and drives super smooth. The build quality of the interior, exterior, engine and transmission are top notch. My car has 126,000 miles and feels, drives and looks like a new car. Like another owner said if you can find a 1999-2005 with not too high mileage I would definitely grab it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

RELIABLE, RELIABLE, RELIABLE

By on Sunday, September 11, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABLE,COMFORTABLE,QUIET"

Cons: "COULD BE A LITTLE FASTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"EXCELLENT CAR , I'VE HAD IT FOR 15 YEARS AND ITS BEEN THE MOST RELIABLE CAR EVER. VERY SPACIOUS INTERIOR, COMFORTABLE RIDE AND AGAIN...RELIABLE"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Still looks great! Reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Lexus used in 2000. Previous owner had it for six months, 2,000 miles. I am in the process of trading it in for a Camry SE and am going to miss my 13 year old vehicle; hope the Camry stands the test of time like the Lexus has. It has served me well with conventional adjustments (tires, oil changes, engine/cabin filters) and an extended warranty issue with alternater/throttle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

An all around car for everyone

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, no problems in over 10 years"

Cons: "cramped back seat could use a little more leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GS is a comfortable 4-door sedan that is desirable for your grandparents to your grandson. Throw a set of rims on it and it instantly turns into a boy racer. 13 years later, there have been no problems with the car, still drives like it's brand new. With a little TLC it would look like it was bran new too. The V-8 is smooth and powerful and always has more power on tap than you need. A roomy trunk can hold a weekends worth of luggage, even with a huge subwoofer installed. This is probably the best car I have ever owned next to my '87 Cressida. Toyota knows how to make luxury high end cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable and fuel economy is great for a V8

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Snowy road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Apart from regular oil change, I have not taken it to a shop to be fixed for any problem. The only negative I have if driving in the snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very solid and reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used with 25,000 miles. Have driven the car for over 6 years and now have over 165,000 miles. No mechanical issues period. Very reliable and comfortable car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

better than most, good power

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "quality and power"

Cons: "headroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this 300 HP v8 rear wheel drive has good power to weight ratio, however, there is some throttle lag (fly by wire). Handling, braking and fit/finish is very good. Road noise from front suspension/tires is above averaqe, however, good quality touring tires (ie Mich. Primacy) can help a lot. This car is capable of cruising at 100 MPH (maybe Autobahn). Driven normally USA then mileage can be 25MPG"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the best thing is the ride and comfort.

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliable and prestige"

Cons: "I wish i could use regular fuel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car i have ever owned and itis over 10 years old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive.

By on Monday, December 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Quiet, comfortable, fun to drive. Dependable and inexpensive to maintain."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Long Term Value - Bulletproof

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long term value, very reliable, comfortable, fast"

Cons: "Handling not quite as good as comp European car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car (GS400-V8) used with 29,000 miles on it over ten years ago. I now have 165,000 miles and it still runs great, still gets 22mpg on the highway, and still has plenty of HP. The paint is finally showing some wear after being parked outside next to the ocean for ten years but it still turns over on the first crank every time. The only major repairs were some engine mounts and suspension bushings around 130k miles more due to my driving habits than the quality of the car. Will buy another GS when I get rid of this one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great conditions"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 26, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am in the process of buying a 2004 lexus. GS 300The reason is my 2002 lexus GS300 was totalled. I love my GS300. It had 143,000 mile on it prior to the crash. I never had any mechanical problem with it. I just kept up with its schedule maintence. You can not beat the value on this car. Its second to none. Buy it new or buy it used you will come out on top. Enjoy the ride! I brought my 2002 GS 300 in 2006, and was totalled in 2011"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It's been great!

By on Thursday, October 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have really enjoyed this vehicle. It has proven to be most reliable.The next vehicle I buy will be another Lexus, this time it will be in the LS series...I'm moving up!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

TTT___TTT

By on Wednesday, October 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"good car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Got this for my 16th birthday. Did 90k service including timing belt, water pump, break fluid flush, transmission flush and rear differential oil. Very quite and comfortable. This baby got power! Very expensive to maintain though.. Overall, great car! Drives like new and my car has 128,000 miles! Planning to keep the car for a very long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've had

By on Sunday, April 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Simply the best car that I have ever had; I bought the car new and now it has 205,000 miles with very little problems; I'm not sure how I'm going to replace it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GS400 love

By on Monday, April 5, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned! I have almost 240,000 miles on this car and have done nothing more than replace the battery twice, and scheduled maintenance. It is still comfy and stylish! I will certainly buy a car like this again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, February 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Friday, January 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"One of the best cars I've ever have. Roomy, nice body, good on gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Perfect except...

By on Friday, August 21, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a high quality, comfortable, good looking car. I would buy another Lexus but not this model, first because it is no longer made and second because it is very thirsty and not nearly as quiet as I'd like. I'd like to stress that I am happy with the purchase and knew about the problems I've mentioned when I bought it. It won me over anyway."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, June 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought car new, maintained by relaxed program (7,500 - 10,000 mile oil changes). Well built, reliable, good performance (fast), good handling, good paint, excellent interior. Audio system LCD display was replaced under warranty. It has failed again after another 5 years - system works, but you can't read the station/CD display. After 165K miles, burns no oil, no leaks, no rattles. Firm suspension, more sporty than luxurious. Gas mileage consistently 20 - 21"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my GS300!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just bought a used GS300 with 90K miles. From all the reviews, I am hoping that we will have trouble free driving. It's a beautiful, quiet, and refined car. Have driven Audis, BMWs, and Mercedes. I wanted something more reliable this time. This one is not the most powerful car I have owned, but it's comfortable, quiet, and seems to handle very well for a car this size. I am counting on it to be more reliable than the German cars I've owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

flawless!

By on Saturday, November 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'M 65 years old and have owned many vehicles, including quite a few luxury models. This Lexus has 140,000 miles and has never had a major mechanical problem. It is quick,comfortable,and reliable . By far the best auto I've ever owned. Might trade it in when it reaches 250k miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Friday, August 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my GS400 new in 2000 and she has done me well over the last 8 years. Still looks like it just came from the showroom. Never had a single problem with the car. By far the best car I have ever owned. Regular maintenance and she will run for decades."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus GS near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.