Go

2013 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 69 Ratings for the 2013 - 2018 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

2014 ES 300H

By on Thursday, July 20, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxury ride, great mileage, nice appeal"

Cons: "lack of electric trunk lid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the car new and loved it ever since. The car has a luxury feel, smooth ride and gets wonderful mileage. Mileage now at 32000 and never had any mechanical issues, I have only followed maintenance schedule. It still looks brand new. I have no complaints. If your looking for a performance car, this is not it. But if you want a solid smooth nicely performing sedan, this is it. We are looking at buying another one since this is a 2014."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Thursday, May 18, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"PROS: Lexus quality and dependability. Comfortable. Love blind spot monitoring and radar cruise control. CONS: Getting 40 mpg on highway, but city driving is about 33, even with eco button staying on. Little trunk space and not much glove box or storage inside."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Car

By on Monday, October 2, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability and Mileage"

Cons: "Nothing specific, probably less powerful"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a great car to own. Ive 2015 model and around 30k on it. No trouble so far. Never had any issues. Ride is comfortable and smooth (not ideal for drivers who like more power). Also there is noise as the automatic transmission shifts through the initial gears and it is due to chain drive used. I would highly recommend it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

well thought out and executed....

By on Saturday, September 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 859

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value and content"

Cons: "no all wheel drive option."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car on so many levels....drives better than the experts would suggest. great content for the money. gets 50% beter mileage than my previous car ans uses regular and 10K miles between oil changes at 4.00+ a gallon that is significant savings. The dealer experience was awesome....not wonder they have a strong brand following. As one magazine said it is 80% of the LS for 50% of the price!"

60 people out of 67 found this review helpful

Very reliable, great curb appeal w 18"opt. wheels

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new corvette

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great looking car, very reliable"

Cons: "18" wheels are great looking, but they ride harder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Lexus makes the JDPowers top list all the time for few repairs, but they discourage and give you a hard time to correct a problem if it costs too much. My Lexus had 14M when I showed my dealer that that coating on all 4 wheels looked like the coating was getting thin and was spotty. Very noticeable. Pictures were then sent to Lexus for review. After about 4 weeks, Lexus informed me that they would not repair or replace them. I am retired and take excellent care of my car. It doesn't take any Einstein to figure out that it was a defect in material or workmanship! It's always nice when you don't have to deal with issues like this one."

71 people out of 80 found this review helpful

Glad I Got It!

By on Sunday, September 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style, quiet, confidence in safety and reliability"

Cons: "Audio FM reception"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is fun to experience with all the electronics and style and quiet. Has plenty of acceleration for freeway entrance in Sport mode. Blind spot side-mirrors are very helpful. Navigation system provides great job with advance warnings AND images of upcoming turns.(I had a 1998 Avalon I bought new before this; the 2013 Avalons look like a shark to me from the front with teeth in the lower grill, so I sprung for the Lexus.) I expect to keep it 15 years, so got the extended warranty. One con I've discovered so far: audio FM reception is inferior and has low volume compared to satellite stations. Too bad it doesn't "normalize" the volume output when changing from one to the other. Lots to learn via 3 inches thick all in English manuals."

30 people out of 34 found this review helpful

My Fifth ES350

By on Tuesday, November 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, seats #1 comfortable"

Cons: "only one D/C outlet up front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I first drove the 2013 ES at a Lexus demo drive and fell in love with the ES all over again. No matter what the car magazines may tell you, the ES is fun to drive as well as quite, a soft ride and endless creature comforts. The new selectable "sport" mode changes the handling quite a bit. I can feel the difference in steering the moment it is selected. This is my 5th ES and I wouldn't own any other car. I have put over 250K miles total on the 5 I've owned and have never had any trouble with any one except a flat tire and a mud flap falling off. The ES is a great car, a bit pricey, but worth the money. 2013 model gets better gas mileage as well. And I love the blind spot monitors. Don't buy one without that option!"

68 people out of 79 found this review helpful

I would live in this car if I could

By on Thursday, March 9, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, safety & milage!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"OK, so sure, Im an old guy. Stepping up from the CT, this car is just gorgeous. I make a lot of long drives, and this is the most comfortable car Ive ever owned. Im not a speedster, I just want to get where Im going without my back killing me, and I love the 44mpg I get on highway."

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Excellent daily commuter (premium leather, navi)

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "New sporty design, super comfortable, smooth ride"

Cons: "A bit weak in the cornering department"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove SUV's for the past 20 years and was waiting for midsize hybrids to hit the market before giving up the SUV for commuting. This car is EXTREMELY comfortable for a normal size person. My MPG doubled, so I now gas up only every 2 weeks rather than weekly, and that feels GREAT! (Getting about 36 mpg real life , but I do drive a lot of steep hills) The interior gives a luxury feel, and my kids love riding in the back seat. The smoothness of the ride is wonderful if you drive many miles and prefer comfort over handling (if you get a firmer riding car you can do corners faster but will feel every bump; this is your decision, although the handling and engine response do increase if you switch the ES300h out of ECONO mode and into REGULAR or SPORT mode) I have the standard "Premium " audio system with Navigation (as opposed to Mark Levinson). The Pandora app works fine, but the XM radio or iPOD sound qualities are superior to phone streaming on 3G. I took an old iPOD I never use and loaded it up,, leaving it in the glove out of site and plugged to the USB input. The car is designed to show iPOD and phone music nicely on the navi screen. Overall, sound system is extremely clear, only lacking in bass power (although you could add that, it might use up a lot of electricity for the big extra amp), and part of the fun of this car is when it switches into full EV mode , saving you on fuel. I highly recommend including the package with backup camera and parking assist sensors. The camera is very well directed to make backing into a tight space much safer. I drove the Avalon, and the car, although similar, was not the same quality level as the Lexus version, and also is a bit longer. The Lexus has a much better quality interior. For a car that is this comfortable and luxurious under 50k including tax and license, this one is a no brainer. My rides are now too short because I enjoy them so much I just want to keep going!"

35 people out of 41 found this review helpful

NOISE AT 75 MPH

By on Saturday, November 12, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
7/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "TERRIBLE INTEREST IN UNHAPPINESS WITH CAR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"THE CAR BEHAVES BEAUTIFULLY IN CITY DRIVING. WHEN TAKEN ON THE HIGHWAY AND HIT 75MPH SOUNDS LIKE A HURRICANE IN THE CABIN. TOOK TO LEXUS WITH ONLY 1700 MILES ON A 2016 AND TOLD NOTHING WRONG, SOUND WAS WIND OVER THE SIDE VIEW MIRRORS, IF SO, TERRIBLE DESIGN AND ENGINEERING. NOTHING WAS DONE..... HAD A 2007 LEXUS AND DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM."

16 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.