Go

2003 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 286 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

great driving, love sunroof, heated seats

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "heated seats, cold air, great comfort, smooth ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Heated seats!Smooth riding,very comfortable,perfect size for parking,highway driving,local driving,sunroof. I love this car! Leather interior, cold air,dual control.6cd disk,cassette and radio. Spacious,large trunk,good storage pockets inside each door, glove box and between bucket seats. A/C control for backseat passengers. Theft security system.Remote entry/lock/trunk/unlock."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Low total cost of ownership

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value, comfort, dependability"

Cons: "Lacks electronics features related to smartphones"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new nine years ago and plan to drive it to its grave (years from now). I don't like to spend a lot of money on cars, so I buy one I know I'd enjoy for 10 to 15 years. No surprise maintenance costs yet. My previous Lexus, an SC300, kept it until 180,000 and only had one major repair -the a/c. Even with that, it was so much less costly than buying a lesser car and getting out of it in a few years. I marvel that this car continues to provide a very smooth, quiet, and comfortable ride at 9 years old."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Essentially 9 years of maintenence free operation.

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car when it was one year old. Replaced one sensor the entire term of ownership ( which was covered by warranty). Just change the oil every 5k ( synthetic), tires, blades as needed and regular gas to boot. Perfect vehicle for the wife...key in ignition, engage transmission into drive and go, worry free."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

greatest vehicle in the world

By on Sunday, September 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"the best care ever made by lexus why? beause the engine can run up to 300,000 miles and nothing will ever go wrong the car is great just needs brakes and tires the only service you will ever need the car is grear"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best I ever owned

By on Friday, May 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this vehicle certified preowned with 22,000 miles. Now has 110,000 wonderful miles on it. People still ask me if it's a 2008 or 2009? It has been trouble free, extremely comfortable and all the features work extremely well. Outstanding design and implementation. Still rides like new."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid and Reliable

By on Tuesday, November 3, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this car from my mom in 2007. She liked it a lot and got a 2008 RX350. This car is very reliable and i feel safe and comfortable in it. Could be quicker and sportier but it is a great car overall."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best In Show

By on Thursday, August 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my car pre-owned over 3 years ago from Lexus and have been very happy with everything except the acceleration. This car has no pep whatsoever. I guess after driving Acuras for so many years I got used to a peppy car. One thing I will say is that I have put no money into this car, other than routine maintenance. I have never had that experience with any other car I've owned. Unfortunately when it"s time to buy another car again, I think I'll go back to my peppy Acura, which was so much more fun to drive!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!!

By on Wednesday, August 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have never had any issues with this vehicle. Major or minor. The only time I am in for service is for routine maintenance. And the Service Department is incredibly efficient and thorough. And I love feeling so pampered when they pick up my car and drop off a beautiful Lexus loaner car! I will always be a Lexus owner!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

173,000 miles and not one issue ever.

By on Saturday, March 11, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives like the day I bought it. No issues. Only critique is the cup holders dont hold anything."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love My Car

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable great car"

Cons: "No current technology (like backup camera)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Original owner-- my rear window left side went also! Not worth fixing as rarely does anyone sit there. My cigarette lighter, where I attach my cellphone, had to be replaced. Not sure that my lumbar seating is quite as firm Other than that, its been really a great car. Unfortunately, the new 2017 Nexuses are not attractive-- no where near as beautiful as this car. So Im keeping it until something good, Lexus or not, comes along. Only reason I put 9 for recommending to a friend is that it doesnt have the new technology. As a basic car its wonderful."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent, Clean Car

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Clean, Very good condition, No accident"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car for one to purchase"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved this car from the 1st moment!

By on Wednesday, July 2, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Practically everything about this car is a "pro""

Cons: "no bluetooth or navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car the first moment I sat in it, and it has been the greatest car I ever owned. Pearl white, light grey interior, great pick-up, fabulously cushy ride! everything in it has held up nearly-perfectly for over 12 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love My Car

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worry Free Luxury Driving Experience"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car since 2005, it is the best. I love the worry free pleasure of driving a Lexus. It's getting to be about the time for me to trade in for another car. Very little maintenance needed the entire time I've driven the car and reasonably priced maintenance. You can't afford not to at least experience the drive of a Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"great car when first purchased had issue with the tires but got corrected quickly. We don't drive much since this is now 2rd car in family of 2"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Perfect car

By on Sunday, September 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car, never fail on me"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best I ever owned!!

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds its value, great acceleration when needed"

Cons: "Uses premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new ten years ago, still looks great, still runs great. People are astonished when I tell them the vehicle's age. No major repairs, just regular maintenance required."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall, love this car!

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,889

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car,reliable,and stylist."

Cons: "Over priced,sound system weak,no room in back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only major problem I had with my ES300 is replacing the timing belt,replacing rotors and brake shoes.I replaced the timing belt at 118,225 miles cosing around 600.00.At 128,889 miles my Lexus stills rides smooth and looks stylish.Although over priced,in the long run you will save with the reliability and longevity of this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Perfectly Comfortable

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfectly Built"

Cons: "Soft ride - All the time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Here she is

"I bought one of these after I was in my friends. We all called it a Camry with leather - but - it only is when it comes to maintenance items. Every item in this car is overbuilt. I now have 150k on the odometer and it runs and drives like a brand new car. I do most of the maintenance myself and was pleased to find brakes and belts to be as cheap to buy as any other car (not Lexus overpriced). If it had one downside, it would be how soft the ride is - it doesn't handle like a sports or even mid-sized sedan at all - more like a Deville."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Here she is

Comfort with style

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, classy look"

Cons: "Lack of cup holders in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car with smooth ride. Roomy interior and spacious trunk. Low maintenance and still going strong."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

UNBELIEVABLE DRIVING CAR

By on Friday, December 9, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: BOUGHT A NEWER ES350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS WAS THE 3RD ES I 'VE OWNED. I BOUGHT THIS CAR WITH 58K MILES. I DROVE IT FOR 3 YEARS AND SOLD IT WITH 197K MILES. IT RAN AS GODD AT THE END AS IT DID AT THE BEGINNING. IN 3 YEARS I REPLACED 1 SET OF TIRES, 1 TIMING BELT AND 1 SET OF BRAKES. OH, AND IT GOT 30 MPG ON THE HIGHWAY!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned. Never a problem.

By on Monday, November 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cup holders are the only issue I have with this car. Everything else is really nice. I mean really nice!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

What a Car!

By on Thursday, September 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just a great car in all ways"

Cons: "A bit cramped in the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Lexus gave us 7 years of very great driving. I will miss it. I would recommend this Lexus to anyone, bar none."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's reliable, comfortable ,smooth

By on Sunday, August 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Lexus and I love it. I've had no problems. It's comfortable, reliable and smooth. It has good pick up when passing on back roads and rides nice at 75-80mph."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful Car! 2002 ES300

By on Tuesday, August 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Quiet, Smooth, Great Gas Mileage"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car in 2006 with 32,000 miles on it. I now have 63,000 miles on it and it drives just like a brand new car. It's quiet, smooth, interior is beautiful, and the engine is very quiet; sometimes I cannot even tell it's running. I get great gas mileage and have not had any problems with this car. I highly recommend it. It's very comfortable for trips!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, January 12, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.