To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1999 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 300 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

LEXUS OWNER FOREVER!

By on Tuesday, June 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My dad gave me his 1998 ES300 a few years ago and I have not had a single problem since. It now has 290,500 miles and it runs like a brand new one. I put chrome 17s on it and tinted the windows and it looks awsome. I get many complements on it and when I tell them the year and miles they don't believe me. I love everything about it, great mpg, very comfortable, and good power. I plan on driving it until the wheels fall off and at the rate that its going it will probably be while. I will never buy anything but a Lexus for as long as I live!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Thursday, November 19, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my Lexus for 8 years now, it has 178,000 miles on it. I was rear ended 4 years ago, I was at a complete stop and was hit by someone doing 50mph. My car rolled and I survived. I again was hit last week, I was at a stop light and was rear ended by someone driving 40mph. These cars have steel bumpers, the volvo wagon that hit me was totaled, and I just need to replace my bumper. Thank you Lexus!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Thursday, December 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Smooth, and at 145,000 still runs new!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Car

By on Friday, February 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best car I ever owned!!! You can bet your bottom dollar when I decide to get a new car it will be another lexus. Not for status symbol but overall vaule and realibility and fun. How many other 10 year old cars bring 10, 11 and even 12 thousand on the resale market???"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, October 5, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Nice complete package! First lexus I've owned and find the reliability and workmanship outstanding. Quietest vehicle I've ever driven. Not the most stylish, but styling is adequate for a sedan. Just wish it was a bit bigger in the back seat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car has been incredible for 15 yrs

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful looking car, drives like a dream."

Cons: "one cup holder damaged,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The interior is cream colored Leather Excellent condition exterior is Light and dark silver also in excellent condition. This car has just been driven from the East Coast to the West Coast with no problems whoever buys it will get about another 10 yrs of worry free driving."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Quality,comfort,sporty design.

By on Thursday, March 6, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Lexus makes fine cars but the '01 ES 300 is a much sportier, better looking car than later models."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It simply is the best car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would own another If I could afford it but alas I cannot..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Old faithful. Few problems, many rewards

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,699

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "enduring and endearing still beautiful"

Cons: "badly designed cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car has lived in very sunny areas - Arizona, Hawaii and now Florida and paint bubbled up enough to require a new paint job and leather on front seats and console is cracked and worn, but other than that the only real deficiency is of a badly designed cup holder. I still love this car and wouldn't consider giving it up. For a car as old as she is, she still gets pretty good mileage. Her turning radius is remarkable and still has plenty of zip on the highway. We having driven together from San Diego to Florida without event when she was a young 14 year old with only 150000 miles on her. She was in 2 car accidents being rear ended where the cars at fault were maximally damaged, and she has little tiny dents in her bumper. I hope I age as well as she is."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I bought my 1997 pre-owned Lexus in 2000, Love it!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "pricey! Burt great quality...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The only thing I would improve is the seats to include a better lumbar support... I learned to never buy another silver or grey colored car! Other drivers don't see me."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very dependable

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Cup holders aren't too good, need better design. Nowhere to put anything, except floor. FYI- Anyone with sun roof... there should be drain holes on both sides, they are small but get clogged with leaves etc... Use very stiff wire to "ream" it out carefully. Mine goes all the way past the top of the doors. When you get it cleaned you will see water"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great history and comfort"

Cons: "cup holders too loose"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 10 years and I love it. Lots of comfort and convenience. Few challenges: The cupholders don't hold regular sized water bottles so drinks can spill easily."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

first lexus

By on Tuesday, December 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ease of driving. controls are very easy to use."

Cons: "no heated front seat. cups fall out of the holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this automobile used from a reliable dealer on his recomendation and could not have been happier. If not for being given a more expensive cadillac I would drive this car forever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

this is the best car ever!!!

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fun to drive and very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, minimum maintenence, had my lexus for 10 yrs and only thing that I have had to replace is the starter. Very good car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Sunday, October 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive. great style"

Cons: "bad cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. i plan on getting another as soon as this one gives out which is going to be a long time. 140000 miles and it is still running smoothly with no problems."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my car

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has 245,000 miles...and still runs great!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I ever Owned!

By on Wednesday, June 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, fun and reliable"

Cons: "wish they would include GPS on all vehicles but $100 easy add on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car has 180k, I used to communte to work 80 miles per day and never had problem. Change the oil 3k and timing belt, brakes. 1 O2 sensor fail that is all. It drives great still. I purchased it used 40k and could not ever known that the vehicle had any miles. Handles as well as my former corvette and with wonderful ride and quiet that you cannot find in other vehicles. I had a BMW and well it was a baby. This is reliable and comfort. I will purchase another for the wife soon."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding 11 yr old!

By on Monday, February 7, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just replaced the timing belt and water pump, thermostat and spark plugs after 106K to make sure it will last me another 10 years. I bought this 2001 Es 300 in 2006 and will finally pay it off in Oct. 2011. I will keep it for at least 5-7 years and decide if I need a new car. For now, I am enjoying my 11 yr old "brand new" car immensely!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, December 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best value I've ever had in a car. It is extremely reliable and delivers you in comfort."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

third one and wont be the last

By on Monday, September 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"fantastic car this es 300 .had 2 ls 400.s before this loved em all although the 400s were much nicer the es is more than most other cars. smooth ride and best bells and whistles of most in its class. im hooked and would rather own a used lexus than almost any other new car. have over 100k and still no major problems only an ignition coil ($100) and battery in the 2 years i own it. cant beat that ...try one you will love it"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lovin' it!

By on Friday, April 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 98 ES300 off of a used car lot 12/06. I was a little sceptical but the test drive I took it out on won me completely over. I got onto the highway and was going 90mph in about 8 seconds! Talk about get up and suprised. Downside, LCD screen payed out a month or so after buying it however the cd changer/radio/cassette still work perfect. Leather on the front driver seat cracked a bit so now I use this leather softening and conditioning gel. Need to replace the sencors(87 bucks a pop and there are 4 I beleive). I bought it at 87,000 miles and I now have 124,000. I drive this car everywhere and feel very confident in it. I also rode passenger on a long trip and was suprised at how confortable the backs seats were. When I do go to buy a new car, I AM getting a Lexus. expensive but very much worth it!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Value

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Our 97 Lexus did well for us. We bought it used. However, the electrical system seemed to be unreliable. Sometimes the fan would work for the heater/AC; the window mechanism broke and the CD player/radio needed to be replaced because it was shot. Also, the seat heater on both front seats went out! But other than the electrical, the car was great!. We ended up getting a different CD/radio system. We tore the doors apart and fixed the driver's side outside handle and window mechanism, OURSELVES, instead of paying the dealer $500!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car for price

By on Thursday, January 3, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my ES! It's quiet, comfortable, reliable and the best deal for the money. I have owned two since 1998 and will be purchasing a third by the end of 2008. A car like this deserves loyality."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

What a great car

By on Friday, December 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I found this car for half of the KBB and my gosh is it worth so much more then what it books for. This car was $35,000 new and it's still to this day worth every penny. Found this beautiful gem for $3900 and it now has 180,000 runs like the day it was made. (Lucas and Seafoam additives help). I will drive it till the wheels fall off! Love it!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

350ES

By on Thursday, December 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My wife and I have had this car for almost 19 months. It is our third Lexus and is proving to be the best of the three. Plenty of power, great styling inside and out, and no problems to speak of. We get compliments all the time. Several people have complained of the gas mileage but I check ours often and my wife gets 22 to 23 in town and we get 33 or better on the hwy. For 270 horspwer you can't get better. Great car all around and won't be our last Lexus."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.