To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1997 Land Rover Discovery

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 122 Ratings for the 1994 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Great off-the-beaten path SUV

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This is an awesome performance vehicle. Do not expect a ride equivalent to that of other luxury SUVs due to that fact that this vehicle was designed for off-road performance as well as highway driving. Expect around 16mpg without much variance of either city or highway use. The cabin is loud and engine noise can be annoying if you are expecting a Mercedes style commute. Aerodynamically, you can actually improve gas mileage by removing the luggage rack cross bars. I highly recommend this vehicle if you are the adventurous type, but not if you are more desirous of a smooth, quiet ride."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Sunday, March 13, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Over my life, I have had three land rovers. My first was crashed into a tree, with the front end wrecked and still got us home. I now drive a tricked out D2 and an old D1. The 94 d1 has NEVER gotten stuck. Only in march 2010 flooding in New england, when it was driven through water up to the windshield did it die, but it made it home. And It started the next day. And offroad capability is far beyond any jeep. However, expect huge repair cost if you take it to the "stealership" But if you are a Do-It-Yourself mechanic this car is very cheap to maintain. Cheap to buy, maintain, and will not fail you when put to the test."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great vehicle. When major repairs are required it is a little pricing, however the vehicle very seldom had anything wrong. If you are handy and can work on cars, this Discovery is made for you. The tune/ups, brake changes are simple. There is plenty of room to work on this car. The Discovery does ride a little rough, however it really is a truck and not a car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 by Far ( as long as its looked after)

By on Sunday, November 7, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Look after this vehicle (routine service) and it will never let you down. I am a landrover Mechanic and i swear by the off road capabilitys of these machines! I will never NOT own one!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Night at the Disco(Very)

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"It has been my daily driver for four years. I've drove over 80K of its miles to and from my mountain trips. Although it sucks up gas, and the rear passenger seating is small when the two seats up front carry tall passengers. It has been the greatest vehicle I have ever driven."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Discovery near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.