Go

2001 Land Rover Discovery Series II

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 216 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.0/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.1/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Never buy

By on Monday, October 5, 2009

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I've owned multiple SUV's. I bought the Land Rover for its styling, the dual sunroofs, and the history of performance. I have never been so disappointed. It has had severe mechanical problems, one after another. The windows broke, it's leaking oil, the power steering went out, among other problems, and this is after I've maintained regular oil changes and standard upkeep. It's a beautiful truck that still catches eyes but unless you have millions of dollars to throw into repairs, I would never, ever, ever buy this truck again."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love the Truck

By on Tuesday, September 9, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have wanted a Rover for years, I finally bought my 2002, several people told me not to, but I had to have one. I bought mine in August of 2007, by August of 2008 I had put 34000 miles on my car. I have had a few mechanical issues, replaced passenger window regulator, cost $150.00 from dealer, installed myself. New starter, found a Rover starter on eBay, shipping and all $93.00 with twelve month warranty. Rear sunroof leaked, took to a window reapir shop, downspout was stopped up, they cleaned it out for $20.00, no more leak. Head gaskets were leaking, took to my mechanic, he put an additive into the water, no more leaks, cost $30.00 maybe. I have had him to look over the car before any trips, he always tells me that everything looks good. I have no major leaks or concerns, with over 100000 miles it looks good. As with any car there are going to be issues, but a regular maintenance routine will help to keep a lot of expense down. And by the way guys, there are a lot of certified Rover mechanics that have there on shops, and they charge a lot less than dealerships, anywhere from a fourth to a third of a dealer......open your phone book. I will definitely have another or two......."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great ride

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Utility says it all. Awesome 4 wheel drive system, towing capacity & towing performance. Stereo better than most homes. Tires wear better than a sedan. Only one negative... Fuel economy is poor, 12 - 16 mpg tops."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

HMMM...

By on Friday, July 17, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

"I have had my LR for a little under a year and I have had nothing but trouble with it, from head gaskets to faulty door lock mechanisms, I have been very disapointed!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Truly an amazing vehicle

By on Monday, June 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my Jet Black Land Rover Discovery SD7 fully loaded brand new, since then i have put 119xxx miles on it, it has never given me a lick of trouble, its truly an amazing vehicle, and well worth the price. other than regular maintence and a window regulator, its been perfect. The car is not very fuel efficent, expect no better than 15mpg on the highway with premium gas, but you should not buy one of these if your concerned with gas, the car is designed for safety, and true 4x4ing, however is an awesome car just to drive around! The harmon Kardon sound system is amazing! The two sunroofs are also quite nice. but again if you want gas mileage, get a civic, if you want something your going to absolutley love get a Land Rover.. The amount of attention that this car gets is unbelievable when you pull up to gas stations, or stores, you can tell people are staring at your rover, and that there jealous because there driving a minivan! Truly one of the best cars ever!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Woa Rover

By on Saturday, February 9, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"The Land Rover is a truck that looks great and drives well. It is not reliable and all repairs, however minor, will leave you feeling like you've lost a kidney. If you pass a bank, it's pull over Rover... time for a withdraw."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Breaks down and costs alot to fix

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Breaks down regularly. In just over 6 mo. I have had the colling system hoses go, the water pump break and the head gasket blow. With the head gasket blow they said it was likely that the sleve in the cylined slipped and fell and hence the engine was likely blown but couldn't tell for sure until they did the 2k in work for the head gasket. In short, Land Rovers are not reliable, constantly break down and cost an arm and a leg to fix. They take premium gas and full synthetic oil meaning maintenance and operation is expensive as well. Paired with very poor gas mileage as they age they are a very bad buy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid Truck - Must be Mechanically Inclined

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 2001 SE7 is just turning 90K Miles, and yes I've needed to perform some dealer-sponsored maintenance such as leaky driveline/transfercase seals and replacing one of the airbags for the rear suspension. My extended warranty has definitely paid for itself and once it expires, I will probably put another 5000 miles on the truck before beginning to search for something else. Overall it's been very reliable and trustworthy. I'd never hesitate to take it as far away from civilization as the weather/geography would allow. If you are not mechanically inclined, then be prepared to pay a little extra to fix some of the little, quirky things that malfunction or break on these vehicles, such as the rear window washer hose where it crosses from the body to the back door, or the 40 amp fuse that routinely blows when adjusting the front seat while the seat heaters are on. When all is said and done, you can't help but enjoy the extreme safety, comfort, convenience, visability and ruggedness of the Disco II."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1999 LandRover Discovery 11

By on Sunday, November 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A smart looking, very dependable British made SUV. This particular model handles and rides extremely well with a rarely found air suspension that operates in both an manual or automatic leveling/handling mode. With the addition of 4WD, ABS brakes and air ride it makes winter road handling a dream and prioritizes safety first. A large roof rack can handle an extreme amount of cargo, good for camping or long vacations as everything gets stored outside with an easy to use ladder provided to reach the top for off/on loading. If you want fuel economy, well your not going to get very far with this SUV as it not only never reaches 20mpg but also burns premium or high octane (91 or better) at the pumps. It has a large tank so if fuel prices are high be prepared for your first full fill-up shock, it could be more than you expected. Once you get passed that you won't find a better built SUV on the road, it is comfortable, many features are ahead of their time, and it is British who have always been known for constructing very reliable and long lasting automotive and aircraft designs since early in the 1920's."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Be prepared

By on Thursday, November 1, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love the look of this vehicle, that's why I purchased it. I found myself having expensive repairs on parts that should not wear out on a vehicle so soon. If you can repair the vehicle yourself, I guess it would be ok. Just know that looks are deceiving!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Would buy again

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this vehicle for almost 5 years. Bought with 60k, now have 113k. No major problems or maintenace required. Is very comfortable and the quality is great. Hold up better than any other car I have owned. Would reccommend to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Worst Ever

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"This is the worst vehicle I have ever owned! It is constantly breaking down and repairs are outrageous. We own an automotive shop and purchase parts at wholesale - that is still expensive. Head gaskets go out at 70K, standard maintenance the dealership said! I would never purchase a Land Rover again. I am so sorry I paid a fortune for such a low quality vehicle. What happened to Land Rover?"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle!

By on Tuesday, August 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This has been a fantastic vehicle. While being smallish and rugged it still can seat 7 with the rear jump seats. The build quality is excellent, and I have had no major mechanical issues."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever Owned

By on Sunday, May 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "On Road or Off this Vehicle is amazing"

Cons: "Could use more power ports and Cup Holders could b"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV rides better than most cars but will still go anywhere without slipping a wheel."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

183,000 miles

By on Monday, April 11, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We drove our Disco II for 12 years and 180k miles. It is a fun SUV and was great in the off road. The biggest drawback was that the maintenance, parts and repairs have always been outrageously expensive. We are "putting it down" and moving into an American made SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great on and off road vehicle

By on Sunday, December 27, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just bought my 2000 Land Rover Discovery a month ago with 72,000 miles and it has been nothing but great. I love the way it looks and how nothing on the road look anything like it. The power on these things is great especially when you put in into sport mode. We just took it on vacation and I wanted to test the 4x4 and it was fantastic. I put it in muddy trails and when the wheel would spin, the Traction Control would immediataly respond. You have to have some money when buying one of these though. I just had an oil change and that was over $90. The rear air suspension is now sagging but I will definately get an extended warranty and not have to worry anymore. I love this car and would want anybody to get one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not so good

By on Tuesday, June 30, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Bought this car a while ago and loved it when I was offroading it. I finally ran into some trouble about three years ago and had to start spending close to $20,000 since then to repair the vehicle. Even though I love this vehicle I am finally giving up on it. Save your money buy a jeep to offroad, and a car to drive, trust me it will be cheaper."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great TRUCK ok SUV

By on Tuesday, April 28, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I've had my LR discovery for about two years now and it has been reliable and also stylish.Rides more like a truck then a luxury Vehicle but looks great just like one.This winter we got over two feet of snow witch is a lot for this area.Most people were snowed in...... Not me got around Great without studs or chains. i would suggest this vehicle to anyone who plans on DRIVING it if u want a curb jumping,paved road driving truck buy an Escalade if u want a Stylish, tough and CAPABLE vehicle BUY LAND ROVER I'll never own anything else.well maybe a Bently LOL"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Disappointed

By on Friday, February 20, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought new in 2001 and have kept up with maintenance since then however once I hit 50,000 miles this past year I have spent thousands on repairs. ABS, head gaskets, door lock repair, heated seat element, and more. Couple of break-downs ( Thanks AAA ) I enjoy driving this unique looking vehicle but my 18 year old BMW is more dependable. Land Rover service is great but expensive!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worst Verhicle I Have Owned

By on Thursday, August 7, 2008

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"I originally leased this vehicle for 36 months and purchased the vehicle once the lease expired. At the time of the purchase, the vehicle had not given me much problems, except for a number of electrical issues. Well things changed for worst within six months of the lease buyout. With only 47000 on the vehicle, the following items went bad: air conditioning out, transmission failure, radiator replacement, electrical issues causing headlight blubs to blow for no reason. And to beat them all, the ECM unit went out. In thirteen months, I have put approx. $8,000 into this vehicle for repairs. What a waste of money. Never again will I buy a Land Rover. To add insult to injury, even the Land Rover Dealer Technician said I should never keep a LR vehicle beyond the warranty period. I wish the saleperson would have told me that. At least I could have had the option of buying an extended warranty."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

junk

By on Thursday, January 31, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"although my disco did live up to its name off road very well, it was wheeled very little and broke all the time. it was an electrical nightmare, had temp problems from day one, and in general ALWAYS had SOMETHING wrong. i couldnt wait to get rid of this thing!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

it delivers what land rover promised

By on Wednesday, January 30, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 2001 Discovery for over a year now and have never once had a single problem with it. FANTASTIC off-road, especially with the OME lift kit and tires. I've owned many 4x4's and this is by far the most comfortable. anyone complaning about reliability didn't properly maintain the vehicle. Has some harsh wind noise at highway speed, but with the aerodynamics of a brick i didnt expect to much from that aspect of the truck! Besides that, I love it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i luv rovers

By on Friday, January 18, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I owned a 1997 Disco for a long time. It was a love hate relationship. I absolutely loved this vehicle since I am an avid outdoors man however even though it never left me down in the bush, it certainly let me down in the driveway. Alot of expensive maintenance. If you are gonna shell out this kind a cash for a vehicle you would expect some toyota dependability. I hope this is helpful"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love my rover

By on Saturday, October 6, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"bought it in 2006, had 38k miles, now has 63K. Same gas mileage as a hummer h2, which is the only drawback Performs amazingly off road. very stable, and very comfortable. I'd rather be driving this truck than any domestic 4 wheel drive out there, even a Jeep. But, don't buy this vehicle without an extended warranty. Repair and parts don't come cheap; better to buy as certified from a rover dealer."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my Rover

By on Monday, October 1, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car was built to go anywhere in the world. Not for driving 90 on a freeway. It's a very heavy truck, you need to drive it like that. They break down because people drive them to fast and hit the brakes to hard. It's the best on a dirt road heading for a great camp spot that no one else could get to."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Discovery Series II near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.