To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Land Rover Discovery Series II

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 216 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.0/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.1/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next

Solid Truck - Must be Mechanically Inclined

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 2001 SE7 is just turning 90K Miles, and yes I've needed to perform some dealer-sponsored maintenance such as leaky driveline/transfercase seals and replacing one of the airbags for the rear suspension. My extended warranty has definitely paid for itself and once it expires, I will probably put another 5000 miles on the truck before beginning to search for something else. Overall it's been very reliable and trustworthy. I'd never hesitate to take it as far away from civilization as the weather/geography would allow. If you are not mechanically inclined, then be prepared to pay a little extra to fix some of the little, quirky things that malfunction or break on these vehicles, such as the rear window washer hose where it crosses from the body to the back door, or the 40 amp fuse that routinely blows when adjusting the front seat while the seat heaters are on. When all is said and done, you can't help but enjoy the extreme safety, comfort, convenience, visability and ruggedness of the Disco II."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

HMMM...

By on Friday, July 17, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

"I have had my LR for a little under a year and I have had nothing but trouble with it, from head gaskets to faulty door lock mechanisms, I have been very disapointed!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Breaks down and costs alot to fix

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Breaks down regularly. In just over 6 mo. I have had the colling system hoses go, the water pump break and the head gasket blow. With the head gasket blow they said it was likely that the sleve in the cylined slipped and fell and hence the engine was likely blown but couldn't tell for sure until they did the 2k in work for the head gasket. In short, Land Rovers are not reliable, constantly break down and cost an arm and a leg to fix. They take premium gas and full synthetic oil meaning maintenance and operation is expensive as well. Paired with very poor gas mileage as they age they are a very bad buy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1999 LandRover Discovery 11

By on Sunday, November 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A smart looking, very dependable British made SUV. This particular model handles and rides extremely well with a rarely found air suspension that operates in both an manual or automatic leveling/handling mode. With the addition of 4WD, ABS brakes and air ride it makes winter road handling a dream and prioritizes safety first. A large roof rack can handle an extreme amount of cargo, good for camping or long vacations as everything gets stored outside with an easy to use ladder provided to reach the top for off/on loading. If you want fuel economy, well your not going to get very far with this SUV as it not only never reaches 20mpg but also burns premium or high octane (91 or better) at the pumps. It has a large tank so if fuel prices are high be prepared for your first full fill-up shock, it could be more than you expected. Once you get passed that you won't find a better built SUV on the road, it is comfortable, many features are ahead of their time, and it is British who have always been known for constructing very reliable and long lasting automotive and aircraft designs since early in the 1920's."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Be prepared

By on Thursday, November 1, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love the look of this vehicle, that's why I purchased it. I found myself having expensive repairs on parts that should not wear out on a vehicle so soon. If you can repair the vehicle yourself, I guess it would be ok. Just know that looks are deceiving!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Discovery Series II near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.