Go

2001 Kia Rio

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.3
Out of 10

Based on 281 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.1/10
    Quality
    6.5/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    6.6/10
  • Comfort
    6.6/10
    Styling
    6.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

good car for the money

By on Sunday, February 28, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"i bought this car just to run around in so i dont put miles on my other automobiles, it was cheap paid 3k for it, good on gas i have the 5speed fun to drive, can whip it in tight spaces esp living in the city, i call it the P car for practical. have pleantly of space esp with the rear fold down seats, cold a/c good heat, had no problems with her she got 68k miles, i did replace the timing belt as suppose too. hope to keep it few more years."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

No glitz but good car

By on Sunday, January 25, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the second Kia Rio I have owned and I really like it. I have had it for almost 5 years now and haven't had a single problem. It is not by any means a fancy car- it is a cute car that is great for a college student like myself who only uses it for commuting back and forth to school and work. I think it accelerates well given its 4 cylinders but it's not anything that would blow your mind, and if it's a windy day prepare to be all over the road. Other than that its a great economical car that's worth the money- especially for the incredible 10 year 100,000 mile warranty. This car keeps its passengers pretty safe but the car itself is not very resilient. I lost my first Rio(2001) when it was totaled by a drunk motorcyclist who hit me head on at about 40 mph- I got out of the car with hardly a scratch but the outside of the car was crumpled like a tin can. Safe on the inside- little flimsy on the outside- and given the low price of the car, pretty easy to total."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

fair for price

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"this car has been very good overal for a throw-away car (low resale value). good mileage (33-37 mpg); pretty spunky performance (with K&N air filter);would have rather had another color (black was only color available with desired equipment when i bought it in oct. '03); one other drawback is lack of aftermarket or oem parts except through kia. would probably buy another."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 1, 2008

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"my kia rio dropped a valve, detinating the motor at 102,000 miles. magically 2000 miles after the warranty expired."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent small compact!

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive - easy to park - good on gas!"

Cons: "No engine power - Not comfortable - Cheaply made!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This vehicle is a decent small compact car. The quality of this particular year is OK but could have been a lot better. They have improved this vehicle a lot since 2005 making it better. You generally get what you pay for but this car is fairly easy to work on and most of the parts are cheap. It is a great little car for running around town but its not much of a open highway/expressway vehicle for power or comfort. The gas mileage is fairly good!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Rio near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.