To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Kia Optima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 287 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 58 | Next

like it more than i thought...

By on Tuesday, September 4, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great commuter, decent pep, like the options for even a basic LX... Mileage is no where near 24/34 it claims... Most of my driving is highway, and I still only avg 25... City, under 22. Overall, decent car, decent price...I like it much more than I thought I would!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Solid Car

By on Sunday, August 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice on the highway"

Cons: "Headlights burning out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Within the first year I had to have the computer changed because the car kept shutting off even at 60 MPH. It was towed from my home once. When I took it to the dealer to have it looked at, it wouldn't even start so they could drive it to the service area. The dealer had it for a week. They gave me a loaner. The headlight burnouts are a big problem too. Every 3 months, I have a headlight burning out. That runs $10-$15 each time. I had a local battery retailer tell me that KIA's and Mitsubishi's have high ripple problems on the alternator output. Haven't had any major engine or transmission trouble. Runs good on the highway."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Value

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've been pleasantly surprised by this vehicle. I have 27K on it now with no issues. Only improvements could be on gas mileage and interior fabric choices (all fabrics were solid, light colors which shows dirt). Gas peddle/throttle can be touchy but I am now accustomed to it. Lots of omph from the 4 banger, no need for a 6. Very smooth transmission and ride. Owned two corollas before this one (250K and 150K on each) and wanted a larger car with automatic transmission. Looked at Camry but went with Optima saving me several thousand. So far no regrets!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awesome!!!

By on Thursday, September 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my first brand new car ever, and I love it! Great gas mileage, smooth ride, and overall a great car! You won't be disappointed."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Would buy it again!

By on Wednesday, June 1, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable, great gas milage"

Cons: "Seats a bit uncomfortable, styling very boring"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been amazing! Only a few minor issues happened while it was still under 100,000 warranty, and Kia quickly fixed those things at no charge. Since the warranty has ended, we have only had usual maintenance. Nothing has gone wrong with this car! 8 years, and still running strong!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 58 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Optima near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.