ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 978 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

Bad Transmission

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 07 JGC new in July 07. Almost immediately I began to notice transmission shudder at about 38 mph. This is when the vehicle shifts into 5th gear. It has been in the shop several times and just today I have been told by Jeep that this is an issue with the transmission but they have no plans to correct this. I love the vehicle but they apparently have no plans to fix an obvious problem. The dealer has been great. Too bad I can't say the same for the manufacturer."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 16, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have had this jeep for 10 months. So far there has only been one minor glitch. Sometimes the automatic window on the front passenger side acts funny. The one touch will only allow the window to roll up so far then it will go back down. It seems like the motor in that window is not working right. Other than that, we absolutely love it. The quality of the cloth seats is not the best, but that is why you pay extra for leather. Plenty of room. The drive is very smooth and very quiet. Our chocolate lab would kill us if we traded this for something with better mpg, so we will have to deal with that. I would advise anyone looking in this market to give this jeep a chance. We really are impressed with the quality. Audio input for your ipod is a nice bonus at no extra charge. Full size spare is very nice to have as well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely love my Jeep and I recommend it to anyone that will listen! It's roomy, and the back seats go down easily and quickly if I need to haul anything large, yet it gets surprisingly good gas mileage!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Ever

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very nice car. Rides wonderful and is easy to drive and park for a Sports utility vehicle. I'm emensly pleased with it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My jeep is my baby!!!!!

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ive never owned a jeep before until i got mine in february. I love it so much."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

ok jeep

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"cloth seats are junk...Even water makes a stain. Loud road noise....Windows go up and down many times when you try to close them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"of all the 4x4's that I have owned in my 33 years of driving this is the BEST in snow that I have ever had the pleasure to park in my garage! Im more than impressed with the mileage that I get both intown and on the highway. way better than my little 4x4 pickup ever was. Now if only JEEP would make a midsize 4x4 pickup... I'd be a happy jeeper...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

hot suv

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"i like everything about this jeep. but the power windows up front . i have alittle issue with. they are onetouch up,down. sometimes when i go to put the window up with the onetouch the window will stop then go back down and up a few times before i become frustrated and then will just hold the button to get it to work."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Choice!

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited is the best vehicle choice I have ever made. It has excellent power with the hemi and has no trouble towing my 20' boat. When compared to my 05 Tahoe that I traded in, it is amazingly better! The driving is much more comfortable, the engine is much much quieter, and the vibrations that are caused by Michigan roads are a thing of the past. The cargo space is amazingly large when the backseat is folded down, it also has a great roof rack that will hold luggage for at least 4 people when traveling for more than a week. The gas milage is great on the highway. i am averaging 15mpg towing and 22mpg when I am not. This is a big difference from the Tahoe when I was maybe getting 10mpg towing and 15mpg when I was not. I also do not feel the weight of the boat when I accelerate or decelerate as when I did with the Tahoe. Jeep has created an amazing tow system that gives me the added power when I need it. The two tone leather is extremely stylish and the wood inserts are a great touch. Everyone that rides in the jeep cannot believe that it is a Jeep when they enter the vehicle and they cannot stop talking about it when they exit. i have already converted 2 nonbelievers to the Jeep Grand Cherokee and hope that anyone that reads this will give it a shot when looking for a stylish comfortable ride."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, hemi, lots of room"

Cons: "mpg, no aux input,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first car and I love it. I wanted an SUV, something I could go on the beach with. This is a great first car or for a long timer in the car industry. The only downside is that I have a hemi and didn't realize the amount of gas I would be putting in every 5 days. Also, there is no aux input. Being 19 with an iPhone thats a major bummer. All in all I absolutely love my car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "cheap floor material"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love the leg room. a little disappointed in the quality of the floor material, had to have it replaced. but other than that, the can has run perfectly for the nine years that I've owned it. I would definitely consider buying another jeep."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful, dependable vehicle.

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Handles extremely well, very tight"

Cons: "15-16 MPH"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One owner car...has been the most reliable car I have owned. No major mechanical issues at all. Very pleased with the performance level of this vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Value

By on Tuesday, September 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good value, very reliable, awesome power, smooth and quiet. Tows my trailer easily. Very good in the snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awsome and versatile

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "versitile performer"

Cons: "not the most ecconomical vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"So much power, and flexibility. Handles great and carries what ever you need. A true SPORT utility."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love my jeep

By on Sunday, July 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my 2nd jeep. the first one lasted us 13 years. I've owned the grand Cherokee for 2 years now. I love the jeeps and won't ever buy anything else. they are sturdy and reliable. we live in the mountains of WV and the jeeps are a popular vehicle here for good reason. love it love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Beautiful Black Jeep

By on Saturday, July 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great deal at the time, reliable ride ,safe ride."

Cons: "Gas mileage was only slightly better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a loyal Jeep Owner, and this Jeep is my second. I 'traded down' from a 'Limited' in 2009 because my 2004 needed a lot of work and there was a tax write off, and Dealers were doing their own 'cash for clunkers' deals. Although, the Limited was FAR from a 'clunker' , I wanted the tax write off for going from 8 to 6 cylinders. The new Jeep ,for me, was better. It is a far better ride, far better engineering, needed very little work and we ( my son and I) 'worked' it ALOT. When things get better for me I would love to buy a Jeep again, I will ALWAYS be a loyal "Jeep" girl."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is a great car.

By on Thursday, May 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 3 year lease and when the lease was up a decided to buy the car, I loved it so much. I sell real estate and live in an area with snow. I need a car that is reliable and will get me where I have to go. This car also hold its value really well. The only negative is the gas mileage....not great. I don't put a lot of miles on my car in one year so this is not an issue for me but could be if you drove a lot of miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Overall great vehicle

By on Thursday, January 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,550

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, look, features, comfort"

Cons: "horsepower could have been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned several jeep products and always happy with every one I have owned. Jeep is a great product and don't know if I'd really consider driving anything else. My 2009 has been the best that I have had the pleasure to own. Only one area I considered a slightly lower rating. On a scale of 1-10, I'd rate the pickup/horsepower a 9. I support fuel efficiency but would have liked to see a more powerful engine. Look forward to my next purchase."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nothing but trouble! It's a shame

By on Thursday, April 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "In the shop too often, computer issues!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Jeeps have always had a good name in my mind but this vechicle has made me curse the day we traded in our diesel Liberty for the upgraded diesel Overland- although the Liberty also had issues. We've had to replace multiple computer modules, the swirl cage,the alternator (due to a design flaw in the location design), the rear differential leaks chronically, it is poorly sealed so the Jeep is consistantly filled with dust, especially along the rear lift window seals. I can't remember all of the reasons it has been in the shop. The Overland had a high purchase price and we expected more out of it. On the plus side, the quadra -track (?) system is quite nice on dirt roads, especially when driving on sand. The Mercedes diesel engine is also nice with increased power and gas mileage over a gas engine. My theory is that many people live in cities, use predominately paved roads and buy Jeeps to have a fun toy on the weekends so they may not encounter these problems as frequently as a rural resident"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family car, roomy and confortable!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Spacious, good for trips"

Cons: "Cost of fuel and mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The Jeep Grand Cherokee is a great, reliable car. Love the interior and exterior. My kids have plenty of room and there is enough space for toting all there toys in my trunk. Only negative: the cost of gas and mpg! It is terrible 16.2 mpg. Aside from that I love this vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive for sure! Hauls better than most."

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Jeep has had incredibly little trips to the shop for repair. Honestly just the basics tune ups and what not. It tows no problem. The inside is nice a spacious. It is crazy reliable. I am seriously going to hate when I have to put this car out to pasture. They joke that JEEP stands for "Just empty every pocket" that hasn't been true for this one except for on the tires but that doesn't have much really to do with the car function."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Its my 4th Jeep and I Love It!

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Luxury, great in any weather, sporty, fast, towing"

Cons: "Gas mileage, cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only 2 negatives I can think of is the gas mileage, which I knew before hand getting the HEMI, and the amount of cargo room in the rear is a little small. Other than that, what an awesome vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can't beat the Grand Cherokee

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "always went where I pointed it, never had a proble"

Cons: "gas milage hurts the wallet a little at $4.00 a ga"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2nd Grand Cherokee. Trading this in on a 3rd. 1st one went 120,000 with no problems, this one is at 135,000 with no problems. I don't think there is a better review for a car than to buy another one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best 4 navigating deep winter snow.

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good in snow. Comfy seating. Power Passenger Seat."

Cons: "Poor mileage. Poor interior lighting."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I feel the jeep's high clearance, ABS brakes, stability control and good heater make it an excellent car for winter driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!!

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, fast, turns heads"

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is hands down the best I've ever owned. Not only is it one of the fastest cars around, it is comfortable, good in snow, and can haul most of materials for any project. Granted, I wish it got better gas mileage but that was not the point of buying this vehicle anyways. Turns heads wherever I go! Also, it is really a safe vehicle. I have been been hit twice, both times it kept me safe with no injuries. Cant say the same about the other drivers unfortunately."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.