To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Jeep Compass

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 47 Ratings for the 2011 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    6.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    7.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Blew the competition away.

By on Sunday, June 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives great, gas mileage , ammenities."

Cons: "could use a better rear wiper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After looking at and driving other midsized SUVs,I was amazed at the driving dynamics of the Compass. It actually drives more like a car than an SUV.Coming from a Chevy Equinox to this, the mileage was incredible at 31 hwy and feels like there is more usable room..Compared directly against the Hyundai Tucson it just felt much more secure on the road. You don't feel as though your sitting over the tires and the is much less body lean. It was more roomy than the Crosstrek for less money snd quiter thsn the Escspe.Well satisfied for the price!"

59 people out of 73 found this review helpful

I hate this car!

By on Wednesday, April 19, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,740

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "It looks nice - interior is pretty - seats comfy"

Cons: "almost everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I was desperate to get into a car and that is the only reason I bought this. I got a rather good deal on it so I thought Why not. Its a terrible car. There is no get up and go, the transmission whines and I was told this is normal for this car, you can red line the transmission entirely to easily, THERE IS NO COMPASS IN THIS COMPASS!, they took base model a little to far. The seats are comfortable but its not designed for a shorter person. Test drive this model several times for quite some time before buying! Also, terrible gas mileage for such a terrible"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A step above the competition

By on Friday, October 2, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Riving dynamics are excellent for an SUV. mpg A+++"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV handles more like a car as opposed to a van like most I have driven. Very sure feel on the highway. Excellent gas mileage averaging 29-31 highway. Plenty of room for a family of four. I find it to be among the top of the class for comfort and value for the price . Much more attractively designed than the boxy small SUV's available. I would definately recommend to anyone wanting a reliable,practical SUV."

19 people out of 24 found this review helpful

great, however they're known to have problems

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage, comfort, power, height, led cup holde"

Cons: "ceiling leak in back, driver window and switch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

doesn't show problems, just looks.

"Just got my jeep last month, and it has some of the common issues found with the jeep compass. Rain drops drip from the dome light in the trunk, fan for ac and heat makes a weird noise on the inside of the cab, driver window is very slow going up and makes a creaking sound on the way up, one-touch automatic switch for driver window is no longer one-touch you have to hold it. I question the whine of the transmission on hot days."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

doesn't show problems, just looks.

Yes I am still new to this vehicle

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price - gas - interior"

Cons: "no ports in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the vehicle it is crossover suv whatever -- it is exactly what I needed in all areas"

64 people out of 85 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Compass near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.