To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2011 Jeep Compass

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 47 Ratings for the 2011 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    6.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    7.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

A comfortable ride, good mileage and decent power.

By on Monday, June 20, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride and handling make it a pleasure to drive."

Cons: "The rear posts which obstruct your view."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My overall rating is a 9 because the rear posts obstruct your view and IMO make a back-up camera a must."

49 people out of 50 found this review helpful

Dark Horse SUV Crossover

By on Wednesday, May 18, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Being at the lower end of the crossover SUV market, the Compass takes a bit of flak from the gearhead youtube sensations who decide on what constitutes a good car these days. However, those guys are letting their testosterone get the better of them and they're totally wrong about the Compass. It's smooth, it's comfortable and it's efficient with gas. Not to mention being very reasonably priced compared to its peers. If you're looking for huge amounts of torque then you may be better off looking elsewhere but if you need a solid family car that has some basic off road ability and good amounts of space and features then the Compass is a great choice especially given the low price tag for a second hand model. Buy with confidence."

57 people out of 59 found this review helpful

Just What I Wanted

By on Monday, January 9, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, optional packages, price"

Cons: "Front windshield field of vision is limited, tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have now owned this car for 3 years and could not be more happy with it. The Compass gets great mileage and looks rugged, however has all the creature comforts I was looking for on the interior (heated seats, Uconnect Bluetooth, GPS, backup camera, Sunroof etc). I have driven this Jeep in all conditions, including off-road in the Cascades, and have found the handling and the acceleration to meet my needs. I have the 4x4 limited package with the higher end engine package and love it. Only problem I have had is the stock tires didn't last anywhere near 30000 as advertised, which left a bad taste in my mouth (i.e. what else did the manufacturer skimp out on?)."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Saturday, January 16, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun, sporty"

Cons: "Find yourself always offering to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good vehicle. Why pay twice as much for a top of the line grand Cherokee, just to look like a bigshot? Save your money, buy used."

44 people out of 49 found this review helpful

Just OK

By on Sunday, April 3, 2016

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gets you around"

Cons: "rough idle - not a great deal of space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I had one of these as a rental in Florida with about 30K miles on it. The brakes squealed like a newborn piglet and the idle in drive with the A/C on was so rough it was nauseating. I'm looking forward to trying an Escape or Explorer."

23 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Wouldn't buy it again !

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great looks and price !"

Cons: "Too much repairs !"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Great price, looks very nice outside & inside .Have electrical problems with inside lights ,turns on and off. Brakes don't last very much . Wouldn't buy it again."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Comfortable,good handling,safe ride

By on Tuesday, May 6, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride,affordable,good size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great looking SUV !

"I purchased this car because I liked the look, the size & the jeep reputation. I needed it to travel to upstate NY to a cabin in a rural area. We have an under developed road that is often eroded from the elements. It's hilly and can be icy and snow bound. We have never had a problem getting up the road with the compass. It handles beautifully. It's comfortable and is not a rough ride at all. We have taken two very long trips in the Compass and they were great trips. It's comfortable, not noisy and not bad on gas for an SUV."

41 people out of 50 found this review helpful

Great looking SUV !

Excellent on and off road - totally reliable

By on Monday, July 7, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Does not disappoint ."

18 people out of 22 found this review helpful

I hate this car!

By on Wednesday, April 19, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,740

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "It looks nice - interior is pretty - seats comfy"

Cons: "almost everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I was desperate to get into a car and that is the only reason I bought this. I got a rather good deal on it so I thought Why not. Its a terrible car. There is no get up and go, the transmission whines and I was told this is normal for this car, you can red line the transmission entirely to easily, THERE IS NO COMPASS IN THIS COMPASS!, they took base model a little to far. The seats are comfortable but its not designed for a shorter person. Test drive this model several times for quite some time before buying! Also, terrible gas mileage for such a terrible"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

What kind of vehicle not to buy

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2016

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Nice looking and interior is comfortable"

Cons: "Lowest quality vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I manage a auto repair shop that's been in business for over 40 years. The Compass and Patriot are made in Illinois about 30 minutes from me. Unfortunately this is tops for what a lousy low cost SUV is. I would like to support the brand but I can't this is the low man on the totem pole. Avoid at all cost."

13 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Worst Piece of Junk I've ever owned!

By on Tuesday, July 26, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "NONE!"

Cons: "Almost everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My husband and I are Jeep lovers and have owned several Wranglers, Cherokees, and Grand Cherokees. We've NEVER had as many problems with our previous Jeeps as we've had with this piece of junk! Our transmission coolant light comes on constantly when the heat here in our desert state goes over 75 degree, the transmission is clunky when changing gears and seems like it can't ever find the proper gear and it's highly under powered. The breaks started squeaking about a month after purchasing it. The engine is sluggish and under powered. It feels like it's going to stall at stop lights and runs very noisy while idling. Very unhappy with the purchase of this Jeep. We had a car salesman tell us that this vehicle isn't made to go off road even though it has the Trail Rated badge on it because going off road causes the transmission filter to get clogged with dirt and rocks and start over heating. I should have purchased the Nissan Murano or another Jeep Wrangler which I really wanted!"

13 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Blew the competition away.

By on Sunday, June 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives great, gas mileage , ammenities."

Cons: "could use a better rear wiper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After looking at and driving other midsized SUVs,I was amazed at the driving dynamics of the Compass. It actually drives more like a car than an SUV.Coming from a Chevy Equinox to this, the mileage was incredible at 31 hwy and feels like there is more usable room..Compared directly against the Hyundai Tucson it just felt much more secure on the road. You don't feel as though your sitting over the tires and the is much less body lean. It was more roomy than the Crosstrek for less money snd quiter thsn the Escspe.Well satisfied for the price!"

59 people out of 73 found this review helpful

A step above the competition

By on Friday, October 2, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Riving dynamics are excellent for an SUV. mpg A+++"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV handles more like a car as opposed to a van like most I have driven. Very sure feel on the highway. Excellent gas mileage averaging 29-31 highway. Plenty of room for a family of four. I find it to be among the top of the class for comfort and value for the price . Much more attractively designed than the boxy small SUV's available. I would definately recommend to anyone wanting a reliable,practical SUV."

19 people out of 24 found this review helpful

great, however they're known to have problems

By on Tuesday, September 13, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage, comfort, power, height, led cup holde"

Cons: "ceiling leak in back, driver window and switch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

doesn't show problems, just looks.

"Just got my jeep last month, and it has some of the common issues found with the jeep compass. Rain drops drip from the dome light in the trunk, fan for ac and heat makes a weird noise on the inside of the cab, driver window is very slow going up and makes a creaking sound on the way up, one-touch automatic switch for driver window is no longer one-touch you have to hold it. I question the whine of the transmission on hot days."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

doesn't show problems, just looks.

Yes I am still new to this vehicle

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price - gas - interior"

Cons: "no ports in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the vehicle it is crossover suv whatever -- it is exactly what I needed in all areas"

64 people out of 85 found this review helpful

Excellent Value for the money

By on Monday, July 7, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, very quiet engine, supportive seats."

Cons: "Needs better oem tires, lousey in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 3rd Jeep my wife and I have owned, previously a 1990 Cherokee, 2007 Liberty, and I have to say that so far this is the best. 30mpg, descent power(not a race car), good interior room. I am 6ft and 350lbs and I am very comfortable in both the drivers and passenger seats."

66 people out of 88 found this review helpful

Absolutely hate this car.

By on Wednesday, September 16, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Terrible Car.

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"SUPER SLOW AND BORING TO DRIVE. Driving this jeep is like riding a turtle through a sea of peanut butter. It was brand new when i bought it and had weird delays when starting. Brakes will slip in wet conditions or while hitting a bump and braking (very frustrating and scary at times). Brakes also started squeaking after 5,000 miles. Terrible car and i do not recommend anything about it except for the cheaper price."

23 people out of 32 found this review helpful

probably wont buy one again

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "looks good. sound system is great"

Cons: "transmission is not smooth. high noise level."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Poor quality on interior, had to replace plastics on RT side of passenger seat 3 times..road sounds are very high..transmission has tendency to bounce when in heavy traffic..padding on driver door bubbles when weather is warm."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

BEST SUV EVER!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,749

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive! I feel very secure behind the wheel"

Cons: "Cannot think of any cons....honestly!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 6 speed and moved to the mountains of Frederick. I needed a 4WD. I was more impressed than I thought I would be. First, the car still has the new car smell. All of the "extras" of a LTD SUV was so overwhelming! I still have not learned every detail of each one. The only reason I want to sell my vehicle is because I am moving to Las Vegas."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Never again!

By on Monday, December 1, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Poor driving characteristics

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, not bad looking"

Cons: "Cheap, no power, worst transmission ever!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had a Compass this year and hated it. No power, cheap interior and the worst automatic transmission I've ever driven. The engine is anemic and struggles to get out of it's own way. Super loud at any RPM above 4k. The automatic transmission is sloppy and is constantly searching for the right gear, which it never seems to find. The only way I could drive this car was by manually selecting the correct gear. Cheap plastic all around, but quite comfortable, even for a big guy."

36 people out of 52 found this review helpful

I can't believe Jeep made such a lousy SUV :(

By on Sunday, January 17, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,200

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "good price, but you get what you pay for"

Cons: "too much to list"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have always had a Jeep product. This was my first Compass. I hate this vehicle! I have the High Altitude version, which is such a joke. It has a loud and very weak engine. If you need to accelerate quickly, this is NOT the vehicle for you! It's useless in the snow, even with winter tires. For the people who like this vehicle, Jeep is very lucky to have you."

19 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!

By on Friday, March 7, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love everything!"

Cons: "Wish it had navigation & heated steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish it had navigation and heated steering wheel"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My possessed Jeep

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car has some sort of electrical issue. The locks go up and down while I'm driving. Then for months everything goes back to normal. Then out of the blue it starts again. We joke around with everyone that the car is possessed. We've been told they could take the door apart to see what is wrong, but we haven't wanted to shell out the money. We use to think it was the weather... but that doesn't seem to change anything. I like the heated seats. It's a fine car, but now that it's been recalled i'm just kind of over it. I wish I would have read the safety ratings more before I purchased."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Value

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car, very comfortable, spacey for its class."

Cons: "no stock roof rack, mileage isn't amazing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is a great value for its price. If your looking for luxury this is not the car. It does not have bells or whistles and the interior is not amazing; however, it is a very functional vehicle. The car drive is very comfortable and the space is great. The seats fold down very quick and easy for maximum space. The drive is very smooth. I have driven it for 6 hours plus multiple times for a very easy ride. The only thing I would say is the roof rack is overcomplicated. It does not come with simple racks like many cars do. You have to purchase them from overpriced roof rack companies."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Monday, February 27, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable ride with plenty of leg room, Im 6foot"

Cons: "If u are a sedan driver adjust for cornering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rated the driving dynamics an 8 because like all SUVs a sedan/coupe/sports car will corner much better. This is a very comfortable driving machine and nice and roomy. It will carry a Large dog and a lot of groceries and a shotgun rider to keep the first two separate."

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Compass near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.