ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1994 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 581 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next

Tough Stuff

By on Saturday, September 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable and a strong runner"

Cons: "Fuel consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1995 and have driven this vehicle for 7 years now. I traded another vehicle for this one and have put nearly 100K miles on it since I got it. It has room for my family of 5 and decent cargo space in the back plus a luggage rack. I have driven this Jeep through large amounts of snow, bad storms and even a flood and it just keeps going. It's an extremely easy vehicle to work on and the parts are cheap and easy to find. I often have people approaching me asking if I'd be willing to sell it to which I reply...NO! I will drive it until it won't drive any more which is hopefully a long time from now."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

200K and still ticking

By on Friday, October 5, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Well almost 200k. Bought this 9 years ago with 90k miles. It just turned over 184k and is just starting to show some engine problems. 2nd Gear in 5spd tranny was replaced around 100k. Haven't had to replace the brakes yet! I still keep checking, but pleanty of wear left. I do some rough off roading and hunting. Had to have the drivers side door hinges welded back on twice. When we bought it the milage was 21mpg, now it's around 19mpg. Use Bosh Platimum plugs or loose 2mpg. This has been a really great(Car, Truck, Jeep?). It's fun to drive, the 4.0 HO has lots of power. With some minor mods you can take it 4wheeling anywhere from Moab to the Rubicon. I wish Jeep still made them. no. 6 cylinder is getting low on compression and it uses a qt of oil a month now. Tows small camp trailers or ATVs fine. Buy one, drive it and take care of it, you'll be glad you did."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, August 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this jeep brand new. It was our first family suv. We have kept it for so many years because it is a great vehicle. I have not done any major work to engine or transmission. This vehicle had been everywhere. From Mazatlan Mexico to Vancoveer Canada to East Coast and back to Calif. I would recommend this vehicle to anybody looking for a reliable car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fantastic little SUV

By on Tuesday, November 22, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Strong and reliable."

Cons: "Cheap interiors, paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My Jeep is a bare-bones 2-door sport. Other than the interior being worn, it is a great vehicle. The in-line 4.0L 6-cylinder engines run forever as long as you keep the oil changed and coolant flushed on a regular basis. Great car for having 225,000 miles! The only negatives are the interiors are really cheap so wear quite quickly. The polyurethane decomposed to the point where the paint becomes heavily oxidized. If you find one in reasonably good shape and keep it maintained, it will last a very long time."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my jeep

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Purchased mine for $800 and its still running"

Cons: "None of my gauges work- eh NBD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had a few fuel delivery issues but other than that suprisingly NO OVERHEATING issues- Rear main seal leak is a give in. DOES NOT SMOKE. I have launched our 16.5" boat at pineview reservoir and into rivers 2 years straight 3+ days a week and never had an issue. It does have hood spacers on it which help with the temp I am sure. 4-wheel drive used 2x living in northern utah that is surprising. Very evenly weighted- Good looking all around amazing vehicle. I would purchase this specific jeep for a child of mine if i had any. Amazing how many people trash talk it and how often they break down- any time i had an issue a little starter fluid and the issue was fixed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 117 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.