Go

1998 Jaguar XJ

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 198 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next

I love my car!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Prettiest car on the road! Graceful-powerfull-Safe"

Cons: "Premium gas but worth it to own."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1998 Jaguar Vanden Plas

"I have owned this car for 9 years and it has been easy on the budget considering I have put 105,000 miles on it since I bought it. I feel safe, eligant and and comfortable driving it. I have owned several Jaguars, and I can't think of owning anything else."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

1998 Jaguar Vanden Plas

My last car...

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "low maintenance costs - great security system"

Cons: "needs roof handle to help driver to exit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will keep this car as long as I can drive. Easy and inexpensive to maintain and economical to drive. Many newer models may have more electronics and the new, but common European design; this model has all the indispensable equipment and will always retain its classic appearance."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Really a Spa Car

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Purchased from the single owner, I thought maybe I had paid too much at $28,000 for a 2002 XJ8. But, it only had 10K miles! And it was the color I wanted. And it was my 50th birthday present to myself. What the heck, I bought it because I've always wanted a Jag. Boy, am I glad I did. What a sweet car. Good job, Ford, never thought you could make an English luxury car better. If there was a massaging seat I'd never have to visit my spa again. God is good."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Know what you're buying

By on Sunday, March 28, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It's a little amusing reading these reviews. It's a love it or hate it kind of car based upon whether or not you look after it or not. It's a big Jag, and, given that you look after it, will give you decades of glorious motoring. I've had my XJ8 VDP for about seven years, and it has not gone wrong yet, except for the front shocks were replaced as one was leaking slightly. A great drive, a perfect mix between glorious comfort when you want to cruise, and a real blast when you want to get sporty. The only concern in the back of my mind is tha plastic timing chain tensioners they fitted to the pre 2001 engines. They might break up and cause major engine troubles. The newer models have metal tensioners. The leather needs looking after, and the wood, yes it IS real wood, has a lacquer that can haze over time, but all in all, a great looking classic. Be careful of the engine if you buy used, but apart from that, this car is mechanically bomb proof. Highly recommended. I read one review where the writer was complaining about the timing belt breaking... they don't have timing belts... it's a big chain. And they don't break."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Fabulous luxary sedan.

By on Tuesday, November 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pros: Classy! The supercharger makes all the differents when you live at nearly 7,000 feet. Driving up and down the mountain is a great experience. Four wheel independent suspension helps grip the road and smooth out the bumps. Truly a pleasure to drive short and long distance. Of course, it doesn't have all the widgets a new one has but has so much at a fraction of the cost of a new car. Cons: It's difficult to hunt down electrical problems and expensive to randomly replace electrical components trying to fix a problem like door lock malfunction. Still, I'd buy this car again in a heartbeat."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 40 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jaguar XJ near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.