Go

2004 Jaguar X-Type

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 364 Ratings for the 2002 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next

2006 Jaguar

By on Wednesday, June 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN TO DRIVE; AWESOME TO BEHOLD, ELEGANT"

Cons: "A BIT MORE LEG ROOM IN BACK WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own this car and purchased it new. It is beautiful, drives like a dream especially in the mountains of W VA and VA. is service regularly with synthetic oil, has 1 set of new tires (Michelin still great), 1 set of brakes & pads. You get amazing comments (which is nice), car is detailed and waxed 2 x year. I would not sell for the suggested price on KBB not enough but close. I would not sell if I could not find another Jag I loved as much. WONDERFUL AUTOMOBILE FOR A SINGLE FEMALE."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Beautiful Car! Fun to drive and reliable.

By on Sunday, August 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style - AWD - Reliable"

Cons: "Automatic Garage Remote is hard to program."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my X Type 3.0 JAG. It's been an extremely good car and I haven't had any major problems with it. The styling is great inside and out. I'll be holding on to mine for a while longer!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great wagon, but...

By on Thursday, November 6, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bored with driving an Accord and needing a wagon for my 90 lb dog I decide to give Jaguar another try. I had owned two in the past, an XJ12 and a V12 VDP. Both gave me a lot of trouble. Last year I bought an X type wagon dealer demo with 19,000 miles. It now has 32,000. The car has a clasic line, great traction and is fun to drive. However it is plagued by all sorts of little problems which I had hoped I would no longer encounter that required numerous trips to the dealership. parking aid not working. Drive shaft bearings had to be torked to stop vibrations at 5,000 rpm. Foul a/c smell. Windshield washer motor stopped working. Inside rear pillar pannel fell off. curtesy lights stopped working. Headlight lamp needded changing. Squeaky steering wheel. If it were not for the excellent service i have received from the Jaguar delershicp which has so far always provided me with a replacement Jaguar when servicing mine I would have given up my car long ago. However the thought of going back to a boring but reliable Japanese import is too much to bear. Jaguar, please try and make a reliable car!!!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

We love our Jag! Popular on road trips.

By on Thursday, November 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Unusual vehicle Jag Wagon. Lots of looks."

Cons: "No place for CDs. Back seat a little small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love at first sight. We were looking for something a little different and found it in our X3. Gets alot of thumbs up on the highway and curious looks until they see the leaping Jaguar on the hood. Then we see the passengers in the passing vehicle point and smile. Has a sports car feel. A little more road noise than I would expect from Jaguar but acceptable. The seats however are horrible. There is a lump in the middle of your back until the seat softens and your back eventually conforms. We almost did not purchase the car but the dealer ASSURED us the stiffness would disappear. Eight years later it is still there. We have taken several trips to Michigan and Washington DC area with no great discomfort. Dash instruments reflect a lot of light and sometimes hard to see if passenger wears something light colored."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great value for an entry level Jaguar.

By on Monday, September 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, very fun to drive."

Cons: "Road noise, cost of maintenance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car second hand from a private seller and have had it for two months now. So far it has been a very satisfying drive. No issues so far other than an intermittent flashing battery warning light which eventually went away. Drive is smooth, corners like anything and could actually get you a speeding ticket (especially in Sport mode) if you don't watch the speedometer. Very nicely done interior and exterior styling that definitely turns heads. Good stock audio system. Lots of safety features that makes me feel confident on the road even with the entire family on board. Road noise is noticeable though unlike some other cars I've had (and I've been through quite a lot). Unless you have a nearby Jag dealer, then parts may be a challenge (luckily I've got one close by). Preventive maintenance is the key here as in all cars. Overall, I think it's bang for the buck."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jaguar X-Type near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.