To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2014 Hyundai Veloster

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 121 Ratings for the 2012 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

very good commuter

By on Monday, August 7, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mpg, price, fun, design, compact, roomy"

Cons: "a/c, tranny questionable, insulation, lack of hp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Main issues for me are the a/c unit and manual transmission. Living in Nevada i dont think a/c sufficient enough for the hot Las Vegas summers. Sure the a/c works and blows cold air but even with tinted windows, I dont think theres enough insulation in the car. As for the manual transmission, it started to make rattling noises at around 38000 miles. Also the drivetrain warranty, it will take forever (couple months) to replace the transmission because the replacement tranny is coming from South Korea. Other than those issues, the veloster is an excellent city car with very good highway mpg, very light and maneuverable chassis, roomier than it looks with convenient hatchback design, and personally I would not seat anyone taller than 59 in the back seats. I recommend getting the turbo version of the Veloster because the NA 1.6 liter is underpowered against the wind plus it does not like the cold weather some odd reason. The driver seating position is excellent. C-pillars cause major blind spots along with back window splitter, makes it kind of hard to tell if thats cop behind you. I give this Veloster RE:Mix Edition 8/10 for what it is made for, economy sporty-looking city car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Would not recommend

By on Friday, September 1, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,200

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Unique body design, nice paint color burnt orange"

Cons: "Electrical, AC, tires, suspension, etc"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Ive had this car for 2.5 years and would not recommend it to anyone. I purchased the turbo model. Ive had what I call ghost electrical issues where the car wont start sometimes or the stereo wont work. This will just happen out of the blue. The original tires lasted me about 8000 miles before wearing out. Bear in mind that is not from driving crazy either, thats just regular city driving. The air-conditioning is severely under-powered and really does not blow very cool. It was like that when I purchased the vehicle. There is no spare tire. You spend 24K on a car and it doesnt come with a donut? That to me is crazy. The car handles fairly well but potholes or speed bumps or horrendous. The suspension leaves a lot to be desired. I hit 1 small bump and it feels like the car drove over a hole 3 feet deep. The car design is nice but performance wise it just isnt worth the money. Mine is listed @ 205hp and it just doesnt feel like 205hp. Not impressed with the stereo and 400 watt Dimension sound system either. All-in-all, disappointing purchase and wont be buying Hyundai again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love the turbo!

By on Thursday, November 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty unique look, fun to drive, large trunk"

Cons: "Needs power seats,no dimmer for display screen"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved the 2012 Veloster so much we bought 2 this year and just traded one in for the turbo. The turbo is worth the extra money! Love the push button start, all the added extras, rear camera has a wide view angle. Ride is a lot smoother than the 2012 version and extremely smooth handling. Thinking about trading in our other 2012 for another turbo!"

42 people out of 45 found this review helpful

I like this car

By on Sunday, July 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 955

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Owned this car for 2 weeks dont know how people are geting 40 mpg I cant even get 35 out of it on freeway at 72 mph. Also it seems the speedo is off by about 5 mph. other than that I like the car. Oh one more thing it does'nt come with a spare tire or jack and tools if you want those it's 250.00"

51 people out of 55 found this review helpful

Great Little Car for the Price

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price for the features, excellent mpg"

Cons: "Sluggish acceleration for 138 hp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

At the Dealership

"This car met all of my expectations, except for acceleration, which is a little sluggish for a 138hp engine, and larger than normal blind spots (fixed with fish-eye mirrors). I use it mostly to commute to and from work in Dallas, and average 31 mpg with A/C on, and 35 mpg with A/C off. What really surprised me was the highway mileage; I drove to Richmond, VA and back, and averaged 38 mpg on the Interstate. The front seats are comfortable, and the two back seats are acceptable if you aren't tall (I'm 5'10, and have no problems). The audio system is very good, and blue-tooth links effortlessly. The nav system is accurate, although loading the address information could be better. The car looks good, and I get a lot of inquiries and positive comments. Overall I have no regrets and thoroughly enjoy driving the Veloster."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

At the Dealership

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Veloster near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.