To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 117 Ratings for the 2012 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 7 8 9 ... 24 | Next

Love this car more every day

By on Tuesday, October 6, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPGzzzzzzz, options, safety"

Cons: "None I can think of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my 6-speed Veloster (a.k.a Veloceraptor) since new (1.5 yrs). This is a really fun car to drive, the steering feels great - like you are connected to the road. I get incredible gas mileage commuting 65 miles a day. Just drove from GA to VA and back and I averaged 40mpg the whole trip. Also the cars comes loaded with options (even base model) and is one of the safest compact cars on the road because its loaded with airbags. I think it turns into a marshmellow if wrecked. Anyway...love the car and would recommend to anyone."

24 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Awesome Vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "SUPER fun to drive, EXTREMELY economical"

Cons: "Cant think of even one con with this vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2012 Veloster used in July 2014 and have loved every minute of it. With the Tech package, like mine, anything that could make a car comfortable for daily driving or a long trip is included in this vehicle! This car is super easy on gas (32 mpg everyday driving / 40 mpg highway only) and the insurance dropped an automatic 15% because of all of the safety features. The Veloster is super fun to drive and extremely economical. I've never been one to love smaller cars (and I haven't owned a 4 cyl since I was a teenager), but this one has my vote. It rides/drives well, even on lengthy trips, has plenty of room in the backseat for teenagers, and looks sporty with that hidden third door!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Amazing Car, Hefty but Sporty

By on Monday, March 7, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Unique look, lots features, Turbo is #1 Trim"

Cons: "Getting in/out, highly recommend some DIY-upgrade"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My new 2016 Turbo is an amazing car. The turbo is good and does make that "psshhht" sound roughly at 3000rpm or so. Great pick up. Suspension is not great on roads with a lot of holes and bumps but the ride is smooth everywhere else. Recommend K&N filter for easy boost in performance and sound and new BOV. **My favorite is the ECO button and seeing my MPG average on the highway for commuting, and turning off ECO a serious performance increase. **My least favorite is the bit of awkwardness getting in and out of the car and how tough the leather seats are (old car had cloth seats). You get used to it"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Major Disappointment

By on Thursday, September 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "There is nothing positive I can say about this car"

Cons: "The entire vehicle is a con"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased my 2013 Veloster with the style package in November of 2012. The test drive and first few months were great. The audio system sounded amazing, the ride was firm and sporty. Overall, I was happy. Then the problems came, specifically the rattling. They Veloster is so poorly manufactured, it's disheartening. The interior is made with such cheap plastic. I've experienced rattles in the over head area above the visors, both have been worked on by the dealer, but have returned. Both the driver side and passenger side doors constantly rattle. The center console it constantly creaking when driving, or resting my elbow on it. When it is hot outside, even more creaking and rattling can be heard throughout the car when driving. I'm assuming it's the transmission, but there are so many annoying sounds that come from underneath the car when driving. It just sounds like this car is going to fall apart at any moment. The DCT transmission gets very annoying to drive after a while. I have had four speakers replaced. The driver side woofer, one of the rear woofers, and twice for the passenger side woofer. If you look for speaker problems for the Veloster on forums, you will find a lot of people who have experienced problems. I have had fuel pump issues. I have had air conditioner issues. I have had stereo issues. Specifically, well, the speakers keep blowing out, the head unit freezes up often and has to be reset, the tweeters randomly work and not work. The bluetooth music streaming with any app, ios or android, is absolutely terrible quality. It sounds like mp3s ripped at 32 kbps. Horrible, useless. I have had my car in for repairs four times in the past few months, totaling to about a month and half. I dread the day my warranty expires. Hyundai may have revamped their image and advertising, and may be producing better designed cars, but the quality is terrible. If you are looking to purchase a Hyundai, do a lot of research. The best advice I can offer is to just stay away from Hyundai, and consider other brands. I wish I had never purchased this vehicle, and every day I drive with regret."

46 people out of 62 found this review helpful

Disappointed

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage"

Cons: "Carpets are hard to vacuum. Engine is sluggish."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"When I open the doors following rain, there is water on the inside of the door frame. The carpets are terrible to vacuum. The blind spot in right rear corner makes backing somewhat more difficult. The back seat doesn't fold completely flat. Great gas mileage. Many people have asked about the car and commented on its great looks."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 7 8 9 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Veloster near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.