To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 790 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 158 | Next

Best vehicle I've owned.

By on Saturday, June 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "NO COMPROMISES!!"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Compared the Sonata to the Camry, Accord, Malibu and Fusion and couldn't come up with a reason to do anything but buy the Sonata. After the first year, the car is as good as advertised and better in many respects. On trips, I regularly get 40MPG (not hybrid!) and with the value Hyundai provided, I was able to buy after-market DVD players for the headrests (dealer installed) and the kids love them. I can't think of a single thing I compromised by getting the Sonata."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, June 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "quick stops, good pick-up, beautiful styling"

Cons: "Needs an auxiliary plug in back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new right before Christmas 2011, and got most of the features on it; did cut out the rear camera, something I now regret. Also did not get the moon roof or guidance system (I have a very good Garmin), which I don't miss. The car handles very well, good on dry and wet roads; handles well in quick stops. It gets great gas mileage, if I can keep my foot off the gas. Making a game of more efficient driving helps make it easier. I average 32 - 33 mph in town (we have a lot of hills), and around 40 on the road. This car has plenty of room - I was surprised at the amount of leg room in the back seat. Good trunk space too - enough for two adults on a two week vacation. I got a great deal on this car, which makes it even better. Love it, and would definitely purchase another one."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Dependable, comfortable, 34mpg on hwy

By on Sunday, February 5, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable peppy, well trimmed, pleasure to drive"

Cons: "not much very pleased"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought with 135K, runs great, comfortable, Highway MPG at 73 mph is about 34 mpg comfortable on extended drives, rides good, very large trunk. one of the best cars I have ever owned."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent Mid-Size Sedan. We plan to keep it 10 yr

By on Thursday, October 6, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price. Loaded w/Features. Fun to drive."

Cons: "Ext trim is blk tape; steer whl color wearing off;"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car after MUCH research. Got a great price and bought the 10 yr. bumper to bumper add-on warranty due to many electronic features we assumed would be problematic at some point. So far, >3 yrs. no problems. Turbo will get you out of trouble every time. Handles well in traffic, interstate and curvy roads. Brakes excellent. trunk is large, seating comfortable, heated front and rear seats VERY nice. In cabin ambient road noise higher than I would like, but definitely bearable. Sirus/HD Radio really nice. Bought In-Dash Nav system and back up camera. Had some problems with the NAV System - didn't recognize which button was being pushed. Updated the NAV system and problem went away. Dealer wanted 6 hrs. and several $100 to update NAV software. I downloaded the free update from Hyundai to a thumbdrive and updated it myself through the USB port in the console. Took 30 min. No problem. SUMMARY: Great car. Having a few trim issues (they use black tape instead of paint for the window and door pillar trim; gray accent color wearing off the steering wheel show the black underneath). I change the oil, bought new tires, use regular gas. Averages about 24 MPG combined. I recommend the car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Greatest value around

By on Saturday, August 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price , great looks fun to drive price good"

Cons: "No memory seat setting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I ain,t no spring chicken. Owned lots of very expensive cars. This one is great value fun to drive and makes me feel young. A whole lot less than the. Jag XKE V12 I once had. Gas mileage is good too. Great looking car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 158 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.