To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2006 Hyundai Elantra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 905 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 181 | Next

Worst car ever!

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2017

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Horrible car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
1/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It runs"

Cons: "Constant breakdowns"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this car with 40,000 miles. Sold it with 47,000 miles. In that time, the following broke: door handle, gas gauge, radiator, radio antenna, key ignition, HVAC actuator, wheel hub and a few other misc parts. Everything made with cheapest plastic components. If you encounter anything on the road stouter than a plastic spoon, something on this car will break."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

jkolney

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, reliable"

Cons: "hard on tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased this car with 113,000 miles on it and it no has 199,000. I've only had to replace the brakes and a pipe running to the steering fluid pump. Overall it's been very reliable. My one big complaint with this car is how it has run through tires. It seems like every year I'm having to replace the tires, even after an alignment. Overall though it's held up very well."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First commuter car

By on Saturday, March 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas-sipper"

Cons: "cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought a 2004 Hyundai Elantra GT at 54K miles. So far, after 100K it is still strong and going. Had no major problems until it hit 98K. Only few minor transmission problems. Drives good but not a lot of feedback. It is like one does not feel the sense of "belonging" in this car. But given the status of gas prices, I would keep and drive this gas-sipper till wheels-fall-off. Interior is very basic and cheap plastic. Makes you feel like you are in your grandma's old car. It is very versatile since it is a hatchback, so just fold down the back seats and you can throw in a small/medium size furniture like computer table and bunch of chairs with ease. Although, it has 132 HP engine, it accelerates very fast because it is a light weight car. Good basic commuter car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

its almost new

By on Sunday, October 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is one of the best cars I have owned. It's reliable and great on gas. I've driven it out of state and across the country."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Like a Timex...

By on Monday, June 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Takes a licking and keeps on ticking. I purchased my Elantra in 2004 and it had 35,000 miles on it. Now, in 2010 I have 190,000 miles on it and it's still running strong. I've had to change spark plugs or wires twice. Oil changes at 5,000 miles (not 3,000). A couple minor repairs (each one under $250). Changed timing belt, etc twice. That's it. I really think I can push this thing to 250k and beyond. Not the most fun vehicle, but it'll get you from A to B reliably."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 181 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Elantra near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.