To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1917 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 192 | Next

Love this car!

By on Thursday, December 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great mileage, resale value"

Cons: "No power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a terrific car. I never thought I would own a Honda but now that I do, I am in love with it. The manual transmission makes the car fantastic to drive. It has great acceleration and handles so well around corners. It is a fun ride. My favorite interior details are the dual dashboard and the leather seats. I have 48K miles on the car and it feels like it will run forever. Oh, and it gets 37 miles per gallon. Buy one! You will be happy you did."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

She flies! You will find your mojo in this car.

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "This car is tuned up and ready to go."

Cons: "Too fast for my 15 year old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The Honda SI package is an incredible value. Everything is stock but she keeps up and handles as well as vehicles way beyond her league. Put the windows down and listen to the race muffler. This is a car to have fun in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid Performer, Honda Quality & Reliability.....!

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, Strong Resale Value, Solid Fuel Economy"

Cons: "Road Noise, Must Get EXL Trim to have heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Pre-delivery.

"This is our 3rd Civic EX sedan, and its also the nicest thus far. We trade every 5-yrs, with my wife getting the new sedan, I getting her used, and trading my 10-yr old sedan in against the new sedan. We also have an Accord EXL Sedan that is only driven for family trips, out of area trips, and weekend use as our Civic's are our daily sedan's. The only issue with the 2009 Ex Sedan is the road noise from the OEM Goodyear Eagle RSA tires that came on the civic. When I took it over earlier this year, I put 4-new michelins on that are the same as whats on our Accord. Big difference. Other than that, the '09 Civic EX sedan its a great vehicle and the MCR for 2009 adds some flair to the nose & tail. We always wait for the MCR(mid cycle refresh)before we buy our new model as it usually will save us money by getting new stock items that were options originally plus a refreshed look."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Pre-delivery.

Great reliable car

By on Wednesday, June 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economical"

Cons: "not too fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my civic for one year now and it has never given me any problems."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love the car. Disappointed in the paint.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun, good looking."

Cons: "Paint scratches too easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my third Civic and my second Si. Best bang for the buck if you sometimes need a back seat. Reliability is exceptional. My car has never needed a mechanical repair. I change oil, wiper blades and tires. The paint (black) is way too soft. It scratches if I look at it too hard showing the white primer underneath. The finish is crackled on the horizontal surfaces from exposure to the summer sun. My previous Civics and my Odyssey had much more durable paint."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought my 2006 honda civic hybrid in the beginning of 2006. and literally, no issues since then. engine is great, battery is great, sound system is great, navigation is great. oil change is on the pricier side, but that's expected for a hybrid."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Beautiful Car

By on Wednesday, March 5, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Every one loves Hondas, they are well known to be a good vehicles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great car

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great reliability, great design, great on gas"

Cons: "Slow, noisy cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my 2009 Honda Civic Hybrid. I've owned the car for two years and put 50,000 miles on it, without any mechanical problems. The design is great. I love the fact that it doesn't look like a Prius, or as I like to call them, Rolly Pollies. People say, "This is a hybrid!?" Gas mileage averages 40+ unless I've been street racing against Rolly Pollies. Great reliability, great design, great gas mileage. Now the bad stuff. This car is incredibly slow, but that is expected when efficiency has precedence over power. The cabin is not very quiet. Sometimes when I turn off the car I think I left a window down because I can hear things outside, but the windows are all up. This is probably due to the need to remove weight for efficiency, so there goes the sound insulation. So, these are just trade-offs for efficiency. According to my calculation based on EPA fuel ratings, so far I've saved about $3,500 in gas costs compared to my 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse. At that rate the car will "pay for itself" at about 230,000 miles. Only 180,000 to go!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolute blast out of a very resonable vehicle!

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, well priced, reliability, Honda!"

Cons: "For some, learning manual, but worth it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fuel efficient, easy to drive, a HOOT to drive! I've driven all sorts of Hondas/Acuras, from old school legends to customized NSXs and still love my car. It captures that Honda sport feel, and throws it into a sedan that seats 5 adults comfortably and merely sips on gas while doing it. The car is planted and predictable, you can throw it into hard bends and it gobbles them up. I've got roughly 120,000 miles on mine. I've put a clutch (knew it was bad when I bought the car), spark plugs (with valve adjust), oil, and tires into it. Not bad at all for it's age and mileage. Considering this is a sports car, it gets driven like one regularly. I daily drive it and it has absolutely never let me down or left me stranded."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very comfortable drive; great mpg

By on Thursday, January 9, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,564

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Higher mileage car than I have bought before. Replaced both batteries, to include hybrid battery at 116,000 miles, to the tune of $3500.00. So car should be good on batteries for another 116,000 miles! Clean inside, quiet and smooth ride. Pleased with unleaded regular gas mileage--39-42.5 hwy; 36-39 city. Exterior paint very good. Headlight covers need cleaning up--have become cloudy. Regular maintenance done. Have done long distance driving and car performed excellently."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 192 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.