To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1819 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next

One sweet whip!!

By on Sunday, September 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Keeps its value, DURABLE!!, Phenomanal drive"

Cons: "Passanger seat is hard to reach release"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my sweet little civvy. It always gets me where I need to go especially since i have long commutes and travel often. The gas mileage is fantastic and the coupe interior is perfect for keeping me comfortable but awake for those long drives. This car is a trooper because it always starts (unless I left the lights on!) and and keeps on going. Bottom line is that I shed tears the day a stupid girl t-boned my innocent little civvy into a curb I parked next to and broke my door and both my axles. These cars may not be the most luxurious or fastest, but as far as getting what you've payed for you need not worry. You will get all you spent plus a love for a machine like no other."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car- and mileage!

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great MPG, very cute"

Cons: "Small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The only reason I didn't give this car a 10/10 on everything is because the cabin is small (my fiancee is 6'6" and he's squished!) and it rides a TAD rough- but of course all of these things are to be expected in a smaller car. Great MPG and awesome turning radius; this little car will last you forever if you take care of it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable Car!

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car for a student or professional"

Cons: "bumpy drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very nice and reliable car. It's so reliable that I passed it down to my daughter.I have the peace of mind knowing she is getting where she has to go safely. This body style is timeless and it's a fun car to drive. The only monies that I have invested in the car is general maintenance. I recently took the car in for an oil change and the mechanic said it's in great shape!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, April 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Cons: "Speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Gas mileage is great in this vehicle"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car i have ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great fuel economy, drives smooth"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car for the person looking to save some of that hard earned money from poring into your gas tank. i have had this car for half of it's mileage and have only had to change the starter in it. i even have the same tires that it had on it when i bought it, and they're still full of tread. an amazingly reliable car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's reliable, easy to maintain, fast, fun, easy t"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It was more expensive but well worth it. Change the oil and keep driving. I drive the wheels off a car so if you drive like I do buy a Honda or Toyota."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Superstar Fading Away in Old Age

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great mileage, build quality, handling"

Cons: "old age and finally worn out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a great car! We bought it new in 03, and it was very spunky and sporty to be an economy car. The fit and finish were far superior to a Toyota sub-compact we used to own. Civics feel like little sports cars and are a lot of fun on twisty roads. Parts breakage has been minimal: cv shaft, two wheel bearings, exhaust leak, and a broken door lock; the majority of these mechanical issues have been within the last year or two. The interior has held up well over time. The car is getting a little tired now, but I would not hesitate to buy another Civic. This was the first new car that I bought that I really loved."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Worth every penny!

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fantastically reliable"

Cons: "Suspension was shot at about 100K miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and have driven it into the ground and it is still running wonderfully. I would highly recommend this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing car! Still going great at 280K. Worth $

By on Sunday, February 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super commuter car. Great value."

Cons: "Road noise is louder inside."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was worried about buying hybrid technology in 2003,but wanted diamond lane access for my commute. Glad I took the gamble. Best car I ever owned as far as reliability and cost savings. Honda has been great about standing behind it. They replaced the battery unit at 100k. No problems since then."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Only had 1 problem with the car.. ever

By on Wednesday, February 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything but the faulty gas flap"

Cons: "probably not great for a really tall person"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"That was the cable that opens the gas tank flap snapped. It was still under warranty so that was an easy/free fix. Other than that, no problems EVER. I don't even have to do much to it. The inside feels intuitive and I can fit in small spaces without feeling claustophobic driving around in it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It was great until 150k

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We have just hit the 150k mark on our Honda Civic and are having a nightmare. The biggest is the transmission, which is going out. This is a huge problem on the 01-03 civic's so beware. Recent repair bills have been timing belt, camshaft sensor, TDC sensor, brakes, and struts. The car is a great gas saver and a 5/5 overall until we got slammed with problems between 145 - 150k. A little under-powered but an acceptable trade for mpg performance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, December 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "small, fuel efficient"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had it for years and it still runs like new. Its a great car too have and really fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my Honda Civic.

By on Saturday, December 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, easy to drive and park"

Cons: "no jack for iPod, squished feeling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only complaint I have is that because it's so small, the front passenger seat and back seats can feel very squished, especially when there are people in the back seat. The gas mileage is awesome on this car. I have had it for 6 years and I absolutely love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Saturday, December 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful on gas"

Cons: "Not a "luxury" type of car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a 2001 Honda Civic LX since 2007. I have been extremely happy with my purchase. It is wonderful to know I am driving a safe, reliable car that requires little else than regular maintenance, is awesome on gas and looks very nice as well. I would not hesitate to purchase a similar car in the future."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car ever under 20k

By on Friday, December 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"reliable, fuel efficient, comfortable"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my Honda!

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "super fun to drive"

Cons: "wish it had a little more pick up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has gone above and beyond my expectations. It is totally reliable, holds its value, and the MPG is still amazing 7 years later."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

<3

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage"

Cons: "Road Noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I researched a lot before purchasing this car. I've had it for 3 years and love it. No problems so far. Good on mileage. I would definitely purchase another after this car too!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my civic!

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2004 was a great civic and I loved how the lights looked before they switched the design in 2006(?). This car has been reliable through many a Maine winter and I've never had a single problem with it for 120000 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle!

By on Wednesday, September 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MPG, price, fun to drive, very dependable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car w/salvage title, at approximately 20K miles. Average 34-38 mpg, drive 200 miles/day. It has never left me stranded, and I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Have owned Honda's for years...they're the best!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Reliable Vehicle

By on Friday, February 25, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car in 2003 brand new. I have owned it for close to 8 years and have NEVER had a problem...ever. Most people think it's only a couple of years old! I never took it in to Honda for the recommended service, but do get oil changes regularly. I have 134K miles on now and believe my car has at least another 134K miles left in in. Overall, you can't go wrong with the purchase of this vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little get around car

By on Monday, February 21, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2001 Civic DX brand new and it's been my daily driver ever since. I've taken it everywhere (snow, mountains, desert, city) and it performs well. It's not the best snow car and it's not the fastest car but it keeps up with traffic and simply goes and goes and goes. I'm very hard on cars and this thing has taking ever bit of abuse beautifully. These things are made to last. I've just replaced it with a sportier car but I know I'm going to miss the reliability and incredible gas milage of my Honda Civic. It's a great car for a small family, a student, or commuting, or just getting around town and I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for reliability and affordability. If you want a race car though, it's not the car for you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A disappointment

By on Sunday, June 6, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"We bought our Honda Hybrid in 2003. It was a good running car until the IMA light came on at 107,000. IMA means an issue with the the battery pack, the charging of same or something of this nature. Well, we were told our we needed a battery pack, which would have cost $3,500, remanufactured. Well, Honda gave us a 90/10 split, so we ended up paying $315 for the remanufactured battery pack, which is guaranteed for three years and 36,000 miles since we paid a portion of the the cost. If Honda had paid 100 percent of the cost, the warranty would have been good for only twelve months and 12,000 miles. We are lucky to have Honda cover the cost, but unlucky to have a vehicle whose operating life is limited to an additional three years and 36,000 miles. At the time, the vehicle will have 143,000 miles on it, and will need a new battery pack, which could run anywhere from $3,600 to $6,000 (estimated for a new battery pack, if it is possible to get). I have saved money on fuel, since I got 42 miles per gallon with a poor battery pack and higher mpg when the battery pack was newer. But the cost of replacement of the battery pack makes the savings a moot point, considering the cost of continuing to replace battery packs. Other considerations include the rough ride of the car and the intermitant rattle from the air bag compartment on the passenger side of the car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Flawless Car

By on Friday, April 9, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought this car (LX Auto 4 DR) new in 05. 5 years later absolutely no problems or repairs...just replaced battery and tires. Great mileage, handling, etc. However, when we put 2 teens and 2 adults in the car and run the AC, gas mileage plummets, in fact, we do better loaded down in our bigger cars - 2005 Accord AND in our 1995 Toyota Camry Station Wagon. I would love to buy a new Civic but may never have the opportunity since this car may run forever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2003 Honda Civic - The Best

By on Saturday, April 3, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned many cars during the last 55 years. This is the absolute best. Not a single problem is any sort. And regular mainenance costs are minimal. It is 7 years old, and I bought it new."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best compact car you can buy for the money

By on Wednesday, March 17, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"3/2010: As of this writing I have accumulated over 108K miles on my Civic LX 4dr. The car has performed flawlessly since I purchased it in late 2001. In fact, I just scheduled the first major service for the car, the 110K recommended service which includes a new timing belt, water pump, and valve adjustments. The only other items I've had to replace are the tires (at 65K) and the battery (at 102K, yes, this was the original battery!). I was pro-active in maintaing the car, I replaced the transmisison fluid and coolant earlier than recommended, and I changed the oil myself every 3K to 4K miles. The Civic has also consistently achieved 38mpg on summer gas and around 35mpg on winter gas, I've gotten as high as 40mpg on all freeway driving and that's with a bit of lead foot. The paint shows a little rash up front but no rust bubbles yet. Everywhere else the paint is still shiny and the clearcoat is still intact. I would recommend this car to anyone looking to purchase a reliable used Honda. I fully expect to get another 100K miles out of this one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.