Go

1998 GMC Sonoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 392 Ratings for the 1994 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

Runs well with v6 power. Topper with rack.

By on Wednesday, July 13, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,355

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good power with tuned V6. Interior in good shape."

Cons: "Shows wear. Small dents and scratches. Limit rust."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Still has the passing power of the V6 engine. limited rust. missing some nobs and one hubcap. New tires. Tailgate needs work. Very well kept. Used for hunting and fishing and business. Low mileage due to short commute. Third door works well on extended cab. It also has jump seat. Good runner!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great value for my needs.

By on Saturday, January 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price fun to drive."

Cons: "No radio or cruise buttons on steering wheel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All I really needed a pickup for was pulling a small trailer when I had to transport my riding mower, or, hauling appliances we had purchased. That's why the small bed was plenty. I was able to have what I needed and still drive a good looking truck(big wheels and tires,low and wide stance, plenty of power)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable, winter rain

By on Wednesday, July 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great truck"

Cons: "3rd door rust, vacuum leaks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"owned since new have 113100 kms on truck, replaced ball joints, 4x4 vacuum module, brakes, signal lights, head light bulbs, 3rd door, and handle paid $34,000 New Good little truck, I care for it like I own it LOL"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1st & Best vehicle I have ever purchased

By on Wednesday, July 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The best small pickup ever. Would buy another !"

Cons: "GMC doesn't make them any more !"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First vehicle purchased. Been so very reliable. I am 6'0" tall and this little truck fits me perfect. It is the perfect size. The lower bed height makes it easy to lift items in and out of the bed. It is easy to get in and out of but not too low. Very easy to park at Wal-mart and really easy to see out of, front, back, sides. Stats are: 4.3 V-6 - 165 hp 236000 miles. Change oil every 6-7000 miles, Pennzoil 10W-30 3rd alternator, Second Thermostat, 1 set of intake gaskets, changed the transmission oil twice. 6th set of tires. A/C lasted for 115,000 miles. Just a great all around pickup. I hope my 9 year old likes it when he turns 16 as I would like to rebuild the engine or put a small diesel in it and give it to him for his first pickup. I wish GMC still made them. For my midlife crisis vehicle, I would really like to have a yellow 2003 ZR2 !"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the rust is dissapointing

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"bed cross members need replaced because of bad rust. the rust is at each wheel on the body."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sonoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.