Go

2012 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 805 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next

Best Truck Ever

By on Monday, February 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned many trucks. Although I splurged on it.. it is by far the best one yet. This will probably be my last vehicle purchase. I can't say enough about it! I Love It!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, February 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Never to stray...

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I would just like to say this is honestly the best vehicle I have ever owned. It barely topped my 86 Suburban. Smooth Comfortable ride with the cloth seats. The engine is as quiet as a mouse. There is minimal black smoke (for those of you that dont like it). Plenty of pick up and go power. Many aftermarket parts available for upgrades. I will never stray from a GM product thanks to the quality of this Truck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable!

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"The Duramax Diesel is a very powerful and reliable engine. Aside from obvious injector issues that have been resolved in the last two years. The truck rides like a champ and pulls a trailer like a champ, whether its a bumper, gooseneck or 5th wheel, does not matter. The truck pulls and rides nicely. This is the second diesel I have owned from GM and by far this is a very strong runner. If you own one, you will know what I am talking about."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable

By on Monday, January 7, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle for about three years and the only thing it ever needed was a battery... I can't ever say I had that luck with any other vehicle I owned and that was a lot of them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Truck in 30 years

By on Monday, December 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am loyal GMC owner since 1975 ant just purchased a 2008 GMC Sierra Ext. Cab. It seems to be the best one yet. The new 8-6-4- engine make a real difference at the gas pump. Ride is outstanding and more power than my old big block trucks. An outstanding vehicle. I would rate it above all comers, included the Japanese."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

HEAVY Duty

By on Monday, November 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent truck! hauls 5000 lbs in the bed no problems. Power mirror & window issues.Low, budget, plastic tailgate handle trim ring.All in all great, reliable vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, November 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best truck

By on Friday, October 5, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own this vehicle and would recommend this truck to everyone that i no the people that have been in my truck and saw the power that it has two of my friends bought the same truck.I have had Fords and dodges and by far the GMC 2500HD has been the most powerful truck that i have ever owned the Duramax is a strong motor and has plenty of pulling power it pulls my fifthwheel that weights 10000 pounds and with all of my bikes and quads it comes to around 17000 to 18000 pounds and it pulls it just fine i would tell everyone that will listen to buy this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!!

By on Sunday, September 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have the turbo Diesel. i tow a lot and fuel mileage is around 18mpg pulling 4horses."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BULLET PROOF!

By on Friday, September 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"IVE HAD 3 DURAMAX TRUCKS AND COULD NOT BE HAPPIER W/ THEM ALL!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

built to be rough and tough

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought the truck used and now have 248k on it. I like having the Duramax, Allison, 4x4 and 8' bed for towing. Also, by far the most reliable and comfortable vehicle I've ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super truck

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 2004 6.6 li turbodiesel is by far the best investment in a vehicle I ever made. It is the sharpest looking,most comfortable and most functional truck I have ever owned. I average about 18+ mpg and it has plenty of power for any towing I do. Can't wait to get my new 2007 truck with upgraded engine and tranny."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

out performed ford

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"At 78,000 miles the gmc is in much better condition than previously owned fords. The only parts that have been raplaced are two front wheel bearings. The vehicle is in perfect running condition."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

extremely satisfied

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicel has done everything they said it would and more. Styling, power, convience its all there. The duramax is very quiet and powerful. With the allison transmission what a combination."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great Truck we tow an 12,000 lb. 5th wheel trailer, with no problems! The crew cab with fold up center arm rest seats six comfortably. I would buy another one!! The Duramax is one of quitist diesels around."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Would Buy Again But With A Diesel

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I Recently Purchaced A 2007 Sierra 2500HD With The V8 6.0 And Its A Very Nice Truck But Mine Had Some Issues With The Oil Pan Assembly. And I Feel After Owning Two Duramax Diesels That This Is Lacking In Power. I Think I Might Trade Up For The Duramax."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 8, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Luxury Truck

By on Tuesday, April 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I traded my 2005 Sierra Denali in on the new 2007 model - what an upgrade! The new 6-speed transmission mates very well with the boosted 403hp 6.2L V8. The ride is smooth, quiet and very comfortable. The navigation radio is easy to use and worth adding."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Sierra yet!

By on Wednesday, April 4, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 170 degree opening rear door along with the roll down windows in the extended cab model make it extremely easy to get my family and friends in and out on trips. The active fuel management system works extremely well to get me better fuel economy. The roomy interior will make you forget that you are in a professional grade pick-up and make you feel more like you are in a luxury class truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Gets the job done

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"While taking 7600 mile vacation the trk crossed the contential divide in flying colors. Trk was great pulling 30' fifth wheel camper at whatever speed desired. At 13,666 elevation, 7-8 degrees slope it performed fine; for the most part trk will pull this grade in second gear. However, take the grade to 10-12 degrees and trk must go to low gear. Caution; unless your able to maintain 3000 RPM trans "will" red-line. Engine temp never elevated; once I learned to down shilt and maintain the 3000 RPM it was clear sailing. Even 26 mile grades in second gear never re-lined the trans and the engine temp "never" elevated. Trk is 2500 HD running 4:10 rear and 6.0 motor. One grade encountered approximately 17 degrees I had to go to low-transfer to maintain 3000 RPM inorder to stop trans from over-heating. The problem here, the trk is in four-wheel drive so I had to let the right front wheel off the pavement to made the turns. If I could have locked out the four-wheel drive and gone to low transfer it would have gone much smoother. I would buy the trk again and would recommended it under heavy duty use. 7-8 MPG mountains and 8-10 in the flatlands (towing) running 65-75. No shortage of power although diesels did pass me in the mountains had I wanted to they would not have kept with me in the flatlands 75 MPH+ was no issue and 4-5000 RPM was no issue; desiels could not have been able to maintain that pace. Great trk although next time I will go for the 454! MPG wouldn't be that much less. Oh, trk by its self gets 13-14 MPG if you drive it right; considering the difference in price between diesel and gas the gas burner for now is the most economical."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great truck for the money.

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great value, great quality, great looking"

Cons: "Plasticy Interior. Needs a std locking tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got a 2008 work truck with rubber floormats and manual windows and locks. The truck drives great, is very quiet, and gets 20mpg on the highway all day long. I've had no problems with anything in the first 3 years of ownership. My only complaint is that parts of the interior feel cheap, but I did get the base W/T. No rattles or squeeks though. The only options I have are cruise, XM Radio, A/C, and the Eaton Diff. I got the SL exterior appearance package, and I get compliments on my truck all the time. It looks like a $35k truck. You can't beat a brand new truck for $20k that has a 100,000 mi. warranty on the drivetrain."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Gorgeous vehicle

By on Friday, May 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great body style, smooth ride, spacious interior"

Cons: "Seats could be of higher quality and comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the 5.3L V8 Crew Cab, with the Texas edition package, convenience package and the back up camera. I have put around 3000 miles on it and so far I have not had buyers remorse. It is a beautiful truck if you appreciate these newer, bulkier designs (which I do). The engine is very responsive and has plenty of get-up-and-go. The handling is amazing and the turning radius is better than I have ever seen from a full size truck. The size of the vehicle does make the truck somewhat difficult to maneuver in tight spaces, but if you aren't willing to learn how to handle a vehicle like that, then perhaps a full size truck isn't for you. The only thing I may have done differently would be to get a HD Duramax, and/or a 4x4. For a truck that isn't meant to be a farm truck, the power is great. There are plenty of options to fit your preference/wallet. The new Ford's are very appealing as well, however I feel that the cost for the quality is much better with the GMC/Chevy's. You get what you pay for either way, however and both trucks are very high quality this year. It's also a GMC branded vehicle, so you can hold that over the head of your buddy who owns a Silverado (kidding of course)."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best truck out there right now

By on Monday, January 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability and styling"

Cons: "no sunroof on standard models, only denali's :-("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my sierra. I've had it for about 2 years now and have not had even one problem with it. Very dependable truck. The powertrain is good in both performance and fuel economy. I use it to tow a small trailer on occasion(roughly 5000-6000 lbs) without any trouble. Styling is great... I get compliments on it all the time. The quality of the components and the ride are both top notch. Bottom line, its a great vehicle."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 3500 HD Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.