Go

2012 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 804 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next

By on Thursday, February 24, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Honest Truck

By on Monday, February 14, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Like a work truck should be, its a reliable good looking pick up that doesn't cost $50k. My only complaint is that with the V6 it is a little sluggish In the steep hills. The 4 speed tranny can't make up its mind what gear it wants. The engine needs more power. Get a V8, and problem sloved. Seats are a benchmark in the pick-up category."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sierra denali

By on Tuesday, January 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Super nice truck...In my opinion a sharper truck than the f150 platinum which is a tad more expensive..They are both overpriced but you gotta pay for luxury....drives like a dream"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

traitor to Ford

By on Friday, January 7, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new after owning many Fords and wow won't look back. Great motor, great ride full or empty. I have GM Goodwrench intake, Flowmaster exhaust, and Edge Evolution programmer on it woke her right up. Glitch in tranny but not too bad."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 6, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, December 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Simply put, powerfull, dynamic, stylish, compfortable and by far the best riding pick-up I have ever experienced. I test drove Ford and Dodge and they could not even come close to the 2008 GMC Sierra, 2500 HD 6.6 Liter Turbo, Allison Transmission. 660 LBS Torque. Pulls my 4,000 LB boat like it is not even there (1400 RPM at 60 MPH) and my 10,000 LB 5th wheel travel trailer with ease."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great basic truck

By on Wednesday, July 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just off my first road trip with this truck and with 5 hauling jobs complete, this truck is everything I expected it to be. Gas mileage estimates are accurate! Performance is good, very good for 6 cylinder. The ride is comfortable for a truck. Handling is great. The towing feature is nice for that extra umpff when you need it. I have only one complaint: Possibly yeilding to the pressure from Ford and Dodge lovers, GMC made the truck sit up higher off the ground than before. One of the advantages to the GM trucks was convenient loading, and that is gone. I'm a tall guy, and reaching over the side is still a stretch. Getting in and out of the bed is also harder. Still, this is a lot of truck for the money, and I am happy with my decision so far. Despite it's size, this truck is a pussycat to drive, and it's a work horse when it needs to be. I've hauled 3/4 ton loads 3 times in it, and it can handle it, even though it's supposed to be a 1/2 ton truck. (I'm not recommending overloading, but I did do it and get away with it.) I have owned a Dodge, and I have driven a couple of Fords. I also had a Chevy. This is my 3rd GMC, and I doubt if I ever buy anything else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

never a problem

By on Saturday, March 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"still has original brakes at 84,000 miles.towed a 14,000 lb fifth wheel across country and to fla and back.abs sensors replaced.new fuel gauge sensor/fuel pump o2 sensors.has always had 10 ply tires,crank down full size spare.have replaced battery once and fan belt once.radiator has been recently flushed"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 3, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, February 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, November 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Looks great but...

By on Wednesday, May 20, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought a new 2008 GMC regular cab with the 4.3L V6 about a year and a half ago. I was trying to save some money and went with the V6 instead of a V8 and I am really regretting it now. It is great driving around in town but on the highway it is very weak. It can be a chore to blend into traffic on the highway and the slightest hill will make it kick out of overdrive if you have the cruise control on. On the positive side, the looks of the truck are awesome. Mine has all of the options EXCEPT the V8 engine (again, huge mistake on my part) and they are all great. I would recommend this truck overall if you get either of the V8's but stay away from the V6. It is pathetically underpowered. Also, the gas mileage is worse than my dad's 5.3L V8. My fault for choosing the wrong one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I owned

By on Thursday, March 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I Have had this truck for 10 years and it has been a very dependiable truck and rides grat and takes a beating. and keeps going. Would not hesitate to buy another one or tell someone"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Work Horse

By on Saturday, March 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great Truck I have the 8.1L which is very thirsty at 12 MPG but when I tow my boat or my toy hauler I barely even notice. Very comfortable. No problems yet but still farely new I have had quite a few GM trucks and usualy the weak link is the transmission and with the Allison I have a feeling that will no longer be the case."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Thursday, January 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this truck in october of 2007 and it has been a great truck for us. The only problem we had is the bad cluster module (speedometer quit working sometimes) which is a common problem and there is a recall on it up till the 2004 model. I have the 05 model but it was still covered under the warranty. Otherwise great truck!! I love driving it. Pull a 5th wheel with it and it is great. HIghly recommend"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

worst vehicle i ever bought

By on Friday, January 16, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Lot of problems with this truck Would not start 3 times dead would not turn over at all. took it to dealer they said nothing is wrong with it. Not charging properly. Had it towed in last time dealer said it was fixed still doing the same thing thing before i took it in, not charging properly. Will not buy another gmc/chevy with a diesel in it ever again."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, January 11, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

seats

By on Tuesday, December 2, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"seats are a joke poor fabric shows bad wear after only 3500 miles..............."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very nice truck!

By on Saturday, November 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This truck is a 2008 GMC Sierra Denali 6.2L with a 6 speed transmission. It is much more than I expected. The fit and finish are excellent and with 403 hp, it is a powerhouse. I am getting 15+ mpg driving in town and 19+ mpg at 70 on the freeway. The interior and exterior quality are excellent, and I am very picky. The cargo management system is a nice feature too. Don't buy a full size truck until you take a look at the new GMC/Chevy!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great when it's runnin

By on Friday, August 29, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It's great for towing or haulin. It has plenty of power and handles a load great. I have owned the truck since it was new and had quite a few issues from the get go. It had to have a new transmission at 2k miles, dash cluster at 16k, rear universal at 30k and a water pump at 42k. It was all warranty but it was still discouraging since I bought it brand new. I have 66K on the truck now and havn't had any other major issues since the water pump. Hopefully it stays that way!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Tuesday, August 5, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i like this truck as for as ride and comfort however fuel milage is about 14.8 and fabric on seats is baddddddddddddd showing much wear after only 6 months use.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck I've owned

By on Friday, June 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2003 with 229,000 miles. Still runs and rides like it has 30,000 miles. The Duramax/Allison combo is the best drive train on the market. The truck has NEVER let me down. I have confidence that it will go well beyond 500,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, June 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

WorkHorse

By on Sunday, May 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i bought this vehicle to get out of a car and back into a truck, the diesel was the obvious choice because i love the ability to apply the long skinny pedal and be gone(previous car was modified ford mustang with a supercharged 455 olds engine), mostly i needed to get back into something with some suspension travel and better seats because i have a bad back, this truck goes fast and rides nice, rides like a cadillac with a load in it. fuel millage is decent to, it gets about 20 City/highway combined if you keep you foot out of it(harded than you might think) i also like the fact that it has the allison tranny."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 3500 HD Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.