To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 GMC Savana 2500 Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 46 Ratings for the 2003 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I love driving this van

By on Wednesday, September 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Enjoy driving this van."

Cons: "Could use more plug ins for dvd 's/media and such."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the steering. Easy to drive even in downtown traffic. Reliable,in 8 yrs havn't had many repair issues. The interior has held up quite well."

16 people out of 18 found this review helpful

good van

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned conv vans and mh in the past as well as working for a large rental fleet of van based trucks, and this is the best chassis I have driven. Other than the constant noises coming from the front brakes (common to all gm truck products I have delt with in 20 years as a ASE master tech) this is a high quality van with excellent ride and drivability. The AWD system shudders a little from takeoff but is very smooth in operation, and the fuel economy is fantastic even considering the power."

28 people out of 34 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 13, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2006 new in 2007. It came with the 6.6l duramax turbo diesel. 2006 was the last year you could by a diesel without the diesel particulate filter. Awesome power. great reliability, the duramax diesel was worth the extra money. I also have a 2003 with gas engine. Disappointing by comparison to the diesel engine."

16 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Tuesday, May 11, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have a fleet of (6) 2006 Ford Econoline vans. They constantly have issues with brakes and front end wearing out tires and issues with check engine lights, coil packs etc. Convinced the company to purchase a 2007 GMC with the 4.8 V8 and we have had zero problems with it. Going on two years with only oil changes and tire rotations. Never misses a beat and is a lot better in every way. We're purchasing another one in a couple of months and eventually phasing out are Fords."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best work van ever

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "realiabilty"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this new ...67k miles all i have done is change tires at 57kmiles I use this van daily.... Im a contractor and i have used it to tow etc heavy loads... no problems.. Worth every penny i paid for it..."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Good utility and family van

By on Thursday, January 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "interior room, towing"

Cons: "exterior door hinges bind and rust over time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only major complaint is I bought the "6-door" model with the dual passenger doors on either side. Great access but the exterior hinges are prone to rust and bind as the years add up... Remedy is lots of WD-40 and silicon spray applied frequently but they are still balky and stiff... In retrospect the sliding doors might have been a better choice. The AWD is a blessing in northern MI and I can tow things without a hassle with this rig. Interior is huge but the bench seats in the rear are not easy to remove or replace single handed. That said, you don't pack the interior in one of these, you just "load away". Mileage is good (19ish) at a steady all day 55mph but I average 15-16 most of the time. No glamor here but tons of utility and passenger room."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

excellant van w/ 6.0 lots of power

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "pleasure to drive"

Cons: "needs a tachometer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent truck bought w/ 100,000 have 145000 min. repairs some brakes frt shocks excellant handling w/ a limited slip rear end never got stuck in heavy snow. well built truck fuel mileage ok in city very good on highway 20 mpg plus w/ 6.0 excellent hauling capability"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

very clean with new awd, transmission

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great highway van with decent mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had all wheel drive replaced and newly rebuilt trans"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Awesome work vehicle

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "four semi new tires and very high up off the groun"

Cons: "no windows in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is a used DHL van and was in excelent shape when I baught it. It is a very dependible work vehicle and despite the miles is in great condition. It does not have windows in the back and is plastic floored."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid

By on Wednesday, July 21, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought the van because of having a bunch of kids. Easy to get the kids into and out of and comfortable on long drives. Wife drives it and loves being up high. I love it because I feel the family is safer that a mini van. Very pleased. 3500 extended 12 passenger with 6.0l."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The perfect van

By on Wednesday, August 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My All wheel drive GMC Savana has been a total pleasure. Never a problem in snow or rain. Unbelievable power (295 horses), yet decent gas mileage. I've put 70000 miles on in 2 years and have not had a single problem. It drives great, rides great, and the pop up side cargo doors are awesome. I LOVE THIS VAN !!! I recommend this vehicle to everyone."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Cargo Van

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, handles well."

Cons: "Noisy, plastic headlight glazed over, Gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very Reliable, never had a problem with anything. Goes fast and Handles well with a load."

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

useful to live in

By on Wednesday, October 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent space inside, pulls trailers very well"

Cons: "poor gas milage. fuel pump replaced at 53,000 mile"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"A great space to turn into a living space (as I did) Had a builder put in two lenth wise shelves on either side plus two closets. I live inside with my 7 cats. Should have insulated more, but holds an enormous amount of belongings. I like using the easy downshift to slow down. Do not let gas tank fall below half. My fuel pump burnt out at 53000 miles. eats gas, but ok otherwise. No problems except fuel pump."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great big rig with a couple expensive design flaws

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great on the open road."

Cons: "Critical parts exposed to corrosion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great on the open road, trucky and bumpy in the city. 50,000 care free miles on the engine. Expensive to fix design flaws: 1. Anti-slip sensors in wheels get corroded and fire even on dry pavement. Need to be removed and blasted clean every few years. 2. Air conditioning lines going to rear condenser run right at the bottom of the vehicle where they are very vulnerable to corrosion. I had to replace both (right and left) at $1,000 - $1,200 each after 5 years due to freon leaking through rusted areas. These should have been rustproofed. I'm selling the rig before I have to do this again. 3. Door hinges are exterior and they seize up. I had to have the doors taken off and the hinges cleaned up so they work three times in 9 years -- the first time after only 3 years of ownership."

22 people out of 36 found this review helpful

A lemon if there ever was

By on Tuesday, July 20, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Have had reliability issues in about all areas of concern with this AWD van. I love the way it drives and rides and the AWD for the northern climate is just the ticket....but the oil pump went at 6000 miles and the motor fried. Had to have the transfer system repaired three times being stranded twice. The air conditioning is being fixed for the 2nd time as I type. The transmission engagement had to be tweeked. This equipment for this van must have been built on a Friday. To GM's credit they did extend the warranty to 76,000 miles when I complained to them. Pretty much everything with the powertrain has been fixed at least once and some more than twice."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

ORDERED AND BOUGHT NEW/TIME TO RETIRE

By on Monday, August 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "COMPLETE PACKAGE WITH ALL AVAIL OPTIONS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ordered new for work with any all available options except towing pkg. also added rear view camera in the third brake light"

23 people out of 42 found this review helpful

great van! love it.awsome work truck!

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride very comfortable, dependable."

Cons: "no cruise control."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new, used it for about 2years. Changed trades, now its hardly used. Exellent like new codition in&out.new tires.GoodYear silent armour pro grade.Shelves&racks walk thru cab cage w/locking door. Alpine cd am/fm stereo. This truck rocks! I just dont need it anymore."

156 people out of 285 found this review helpful

No complaints other than it's a gas guzzler

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 345,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very durable and reliable."

Cons: "Fuel economy and fit and finish."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No complaints other than it's a gas guzzler. Very reliable, even more so then the past 5.7 liter Express vans that i have owned. I haven't had to do much other than the routine oil changes, tune-ups, and a brake job. I never had to replace the fuel pump like i have on the others. I bought this van with 213000 and have put almost another 150000. Great van, even with the 15 mpg."

52 people out of 97 found this review helpful

Best van I've owned

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Many"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned several full size conversion vans. The AWD is the difference between this one and the rest. Simply put, it's wonderful. It's great in snow. I pull a bass boat and it is so beneficial for launching or pulling out. Many of the boat ramps are sand and gravel. No problem. I was concerned that the AWD would be harder on tires. Not true! It drives nice and by sitting up higher, you have a good view of what's going on ahead and around you. GM isn't producing the AWD full size vans right now. I sure hope they are back when it's time to buy a new one."

76 people out of 147 found this review helpful

RELIABLE

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "PLENTY OF ROOM FOR CARRYING WHO OR WHAT YOU WANT"

Cons: "DOORS ARE DESIGNED VERY POORLY,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"ONE OF THE MOST RELIABLE VEHICLES I HAVE EVER OWNED"

24 people out of 47 found this review helpful

Driver foot room cramped.

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good van."

Cons: "16 inch Wheels too small for off road or holes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Conversion van not listed in model for price. Top of instrument panel not shaped for GPS or rear view camera."

14 people out of 28 found this review helpful

has 16 foot box

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's only a van front but it has a 16 ft box in the back"

13 people out of 26 found this review helpful

i hate this van

By on Thursday, October 1, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "it starts"

Cons: "Transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Always some weird issue rear doors open too wide in the wind Designed to hit quarter panels The only reason it got a 1 is 0 is not allowed"

10 people out of 20 found this review helpful

good work van

By on Thursday, April 7, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 2004 3500 cargo savana in 2007 at 75kmiles and have been using it for my construction business for 4 years. The van has performed very well under major loads of cement and stone and runs very smooth with a lot of comfort so you dont get easily tired behind the wheel. gas millage is not that good at all at only 8 mpg in the city and 12 on the highway, but it is sure worth the extras compared to my previous 2003 nissan frontier pickup, especially that i dont usually make long trips. For the whole time i had it i spent $500 for a new water pump that went off and $200 for a bad o2 sensor and thats it! i have to sell it now because i'm moving out of the country, but otherwise i would have kept it."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, January 15, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Savana 2500 Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.