To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1996 GMC Safari Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 154 Ratings for the 1995 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

Why did they stop making them

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Affordable price and great family van"

Cons: "none comes to mind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am in the market for a new G.M.C; however, found myself unable to do away with my Safari. Maintenance cost have been low. Very reliable, comfortable leg room. The perfect V6."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good value, Roomy Dependable

By on Tuesday, February 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Low gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it new in 2001. AWD drive has come in handy in many a snow storm. Have use it to two a trailer, that went well. Milage is drawback about 13mpg most often in the city."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Perfect dog van!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, convenient for dog transportation"

Cons: "interior plastics, locks, windows not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 7 years. It has been a very reliable and convenient van to transport my dogs to shows and agility trials. As it has aged, it has needed a transmission. Other mechanical repairs have been minor. The door locks are not great pretty much started our requiring repair. I can no longer find replacement parts - mirrors, etc. I just wish GMC/Chevy hadn't stopped making them!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super Mini-work van

By on Friday, January 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Good power & great miliage to use for the last 3 yrs. in my pressurewashing business."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great mivan, best ever in my book

By on Saturday, December 5, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I would rate this van best ever in minivans. I have had a brand new dodge caravan, a ford windstar, a freestar, and others, and I would still prefer a safari or astro."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Safari Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.