To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 GMC Canyon Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 296 Ratings for the 2004 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Great little truck

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very Dependable. Does everything i need it to do. I have two of these trucks. A regular cab for my son and a extended cab for myself. Both of them are 2007's One has 30,000 miles and the other 72,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!

By on Saturday, December 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Off Road package makes the truck look great."

Cons: "Center console arm rest breaks easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new. I have only had to replace tires and brakes in 98,000 miles. The truck has only been in the shop one time for recall work. I am considering buying another one. GMC got this truck right!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Overall ok but has it's problems

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "5 cylinder is strong at 21 mpg interstate, 18 city"

Cons: "Brakes. Likelyhood of front hubs going bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Never used off road but had to replace both front hubs at around 100,000 miles. Front axle bearings had to be replaced at around 90,000 miles and need to be replaced again. Very VERY complicated to replace front brake rotors, up to 3-3.5 hours per side. Other than that, I've had no problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

New Buy

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "IL 5 has great power, tuff little truck."

Cons: "Ride on factory tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been a great truck from new. Never had a problem starts every time, and runs strong. The ride is much better after you change out the stock tires. Paid for great tires and I have a new truck that rides and drives better than ever after 75k on it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

its a really good truck

By on Wednesday, November 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,020

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this brand new in 2007 and it has been a really good truck.got me back in forth from TX to GA quit a few times and has done great... the only falws i see is the plastic accesories on the inside break...ive had to make my own adjustments"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Thursday, November 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, nice driving vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned all makes of trucks over the years. This truck is great on mileage, it gets 28 mpg on the open road and 23 in town driving. It is comfortable, easy to drive and is roomy on the interior, power is not an issue its got the power when you need it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

First Model Year Piece of Junk

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It's a trunk you know the pros"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage, ton of recalls, Inline 5 engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I made the mistake when I was young of buying this truck. It didn't make sense then, and I am still regretting my decision. This was the first model year the vehicle had the inline 5 cylinder engine, and I have had a ton of problems with it. There have been several recalls on the vehicle including an engine problem that illuminates the SES light and was never communicated to me from GMC. I wouldn't recommend the purchase of this vehicle. Buy a FORD at least you know it will be reliable!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

can't imagine driving anything else

By on Thursday, September 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"roomy, comfortable, plenty of power, great looks, quiet. I can't imagine driving anything else. I love my 5 Cylinder GMC Canyon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Truck

By on Monday, August 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good price, looks good"

Cons: "Bad stock sound system, interior could be a little nicer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been very good to me. It rides great and has given me little trouble. the bass mileage is not great but it isn't bad either. It is a great truck for someone looking for a midsize truck, the truck is not too big and it is not too small. The only thing I didn't really like about the truck was the stock sound system, it was terrible! (I replaced the old sound system) Overall it is a great truck and gets the job done."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

new 2010

By on Friday, March 4, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"got mine back in sept. z71 off road pkg. so far it has proved itself a nice solid truck. fun to drive. had one water leak around the drivers side kick panel that the dealer promptly fixed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 9, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Over all a great truck! Lots of power for a small truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Quality Truck

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 2006 GMC Canyon in June of 2006 with 23 miles on it, and overall it has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. Other than normal scheduled maintenance, it has never been to the shop. The only issue that I can think of is one of my own fault: I bought the regular cab when I should have gotten the extended cab for the extra space. I would definately recommend this truck to other people."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good value

By on Thursday, January 13, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new in 06. tires wore out at 19k miles. New wranglers have 18k on them and are still like new. front and rear brakes also wore out way too early. Gas milage is so so. Rides good, has good power."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Monday, September 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Owned almost 2 yrs. no major issues. Very good ride and comfortable for an off road vehicle, tows my boat without any strain. The 5 cyl has plenty power gets average 19 mpg combined in hilly terrain goes very well off road most places use only 2 wheel. thats pretty good for southeast Ky. mountains."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

NICE TRUCK

By on Tuesday, August 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"5 CYC HAS LOTS OF POWER"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid buy

By on Saturday, July 31, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased my 2005 Off Road Canyon new, it has 73000 miles and still looks new. Other than a clitch with the driver seat warmer, I have not had any problems until recently. For about 2 blocks, the clutch fan seems to race in first gear when the engine is cold. I need to get that fixed (expecting a $300 to $400 repair bill). I like the ride and the gas milage is within the expected range. The leather seats still look new and the Rhino bed liner has kept the bed free of dents and scratches. The turning radius is poor due to the oversize off road tires (the only reason I did not rate 5's across the board). When the time comes, I will not hesitate to replace this truck with a new Canyon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliability

By on Sunday, May 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought an extra cab, Z71 with an I5 eng. new in 05.I have over 167,000 miles and only a couple of minor problems.It tows really well, I use it to tow my 2000lb boat.The locking diff. comes in handy when useing the slippery boat ramps. The accelaration and tourqe are a big plus."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Decent Truck

By on Friday, April 9, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I was originally looking at Chevy Colorados but for some reason local dealers didn't seem to want my business. After hearing about the Canyon being basically the same truck I walked into a local GMC dealer and there it was - my future Inferno Orange, 4x4 SLE Crew Cab Canyon. I like this truck, the I5 is more than sufficient to pull its relatively light weight off the line. I have a tow package but haven't pulled anything yet. My biggest complaint would be the interior wind with the windows even slightly down. In my other car if the front windows are fully down and the rear half way, you barely feel the wind on the highway, just refreshing breeze. In the Canyon its a virtual tornado inside, you better not have any loose papers or lightweight objects lying about because they'll go out the window! I have to try side window visors, hopefully those will help. Couple of minor trips back to the dealer to fix the OnStar, clear up a check engine light, and tighten up a suspension squeak - but otherwise no serious problems after 1 year & 20000 miles. Good looking truck, have had more than one compliment on its styling..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 17, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice truck for what it is.

By on Sunday, January 17, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"2006 SLT CC 4X4 Z71 5 cylinder auto. 80k miles so far with only a dirty TPS sensor when the moron at the lube center left the air cleaner top loose. Pulls light trailers, less than 2000 lbs fairly well, although I wish GM had put the 4.2 I6 or 4.3 V6 in it. Steering is a little numb, but the ride and off-road performance is good provided you don't high center due to the low ground clearance. Fuel economy on the road is 22 and in town 17. Comfort is good front and back. Low range is difficult to engage. Needs a tow-haul mode for the transmission. Good performance when lightly loaded, but a little underpowered when full of people or hauling a trailer. All in all, I would buy another one. Had a Toyota pickup that made a nice car, but kept breaking when I used it like a truck. I have a 2500HD Duramax for the heavy stuff, but this GMC Canyon is suited pretty well for the light stuff and commuting."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Thursday, January 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2006 canyon brand new when I worked for GMC. I have over 50k miles on it and have never had one issue with it. It's been a great truck, very reliable and useful. The ride is very very comfortable for a truck and the gas mileage is unbelievable. We get better gas mileage with this truck than with our small 5-speed maunal sedan on the freeway. I have gotten many compliments on the styling and I often hear people talking about what a good looking truck it is when im walking into a store from the parking lot. I've sold lots of GMC and chevy trucks and this was the one i chose to buy for myself. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a truck. almost 5 yrs later and i couldnt be happier."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, November 11, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fits My Needs

By on Friday, July 31, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

"So far this has been a good truck. The 3.7L I-5 has plenty of power and is a good match to the 4L60E transmission. It does fine towing a 3000 pound trailer. I've been a little disapointed with the fuel economy. I get around 16-18 with my normal city/highway commute and 21-24 on the highway. My biggest complaint is the uncomfortable seats. I like the way the truck steers and brakes, and the performance in snow is great. If I would have got a truck with the bucket seat option, the overall rating would have been "good" instead of average."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, February 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Canyon Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.