Go

1999 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 752 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 151 | Next

Saved my life

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: It was bent in half by a semi truck

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Saved my life"

Cons: "hard to find in good shape"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I owed this truck for years. It rarely had issues and the ones it had were normal wear and tear for a heavily used vehicle. I would still be driving this truck today if I hadn't been rear ended by a semi truck. This ford pick up saved my life! If any of the safety features had failed or if the truck had not been as well made as it was I would have been pancaked. The truck didn't make it as it more closely resembled the letter V after the accident than it did an automobile, but it did it job and more."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Pretty good little pickup

By on Thursday, October 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid pickup, very capable for it's size."

Cons: "Fairly low miles per gallon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this pickup late last year, and it has yet to let me down. It wasn't in perfect condition when I got it, it had been used for work. And that's exactly what I expect out of a pickup is for it to work. And with work come dings, scratches and other "blemishes". Gas mileage seems a little bit low than what I would have hoped for in a little pickup but it is what it is. Then again, I do have big tires on it, and they're probably not very fuel economic themselves. Other than that, the only major problem I've had with it are the ball joints like another reviewer had mentioned. The replacement joints I put in did have grease zerks so hopefully they might last a bit longer? Other than that, it has stayed pretty solid for me. Routine maintenance things of course but all in all, I like it very much. It has gotten me through a fair amount of snow, even the record setting snowfall we had a few weeks ago. It's a little tight carrying the family around but we make do."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable. Fun to Drive.

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Low Maintenance, Holds it's Value"

Cons: "Spare Tire Rusted to Frame, Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been running for 13 years, no major problems. There have been fuel injector replacements and a cat went bad but overall the truck is still running strong. The value of this vehicle really shows in it's dependability and ease of maintenance. It is fun to drive, but it is not made for speed and all that. I would highly recommend to a friend."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It does only what its built to do.

By on Thursday, January 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Sporty little truck!"

Cons: "Not built for michigan or states like it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck isnt going to haul anything over 2000 pounds. But its not meant to. For what it is i believe this ranger is built well. The rust is a problem though especially since im out of michigan. Ive owned the 4 cyl 5 spd 2WD stepside model for 6 months now. My only warning is to not even bother with 2WD. 3 inches of snow and you are all over the road. Mechanically, she seems to be solid. I swapped out clutch related parts and that was all. For a first time driver, this truck is perfect. Not fast, and not heavy. Decent truck at best."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Truck, Few Flaws

By on Wednesday, November 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Value, Good Towing Capacity, Decent MPGs"

Cons: "Slow on hills, uncomfortable back seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"To Start overall I'm very happy with the truck, with that being said there are a few issues. Firstly, on vehicles with 4WD, the 3.0L engine is too small. The vehicle tends to bog down on hills, and when towing you have to lay into it and downshift to keep going forward. Secondly, as with all trucks, it is very important to have some wight in the bed in snow, unless you like fishtailing. Thirdly, on the supercab, get the 4 door model, not the 2 door extended cab. It6 makes getting into and out of the back 1000 times easier. Finally, the "Seats 5" for the extended cab is very optimistic (Or for people driveing 4 toddlers around). While we have fit 5 adults in the truck, the two in the back couldnt move and were being crushed by the front seats, while the person in the middle up front had to control the gas and brakes. In Short, this SHOULD NOT, be a family vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 151 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.