To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1992 Ford Ranger Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 149 Ratings for the 1992 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

Trusty cheap hauler & runner--89 XLT 4 cyl 5 spd

By on Saturday, December 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this truck new off the dealer's lot. The 4 cylinder engine was very reliable and easy on gas. Coupled with the 5 speed manual, it ran within the 26 to 30 mpg range. 1989 was the first model year for the dual ignition system with two plugs per cylinder, so you really had to watch some of the tune up places to make certain that they didn't skip the back four plugs on you--demand that they show you all eight old plugs to ensure that they do the job properly. The truck had a strange starting problem the first month I owned it, but the dealer found out a couple of others had the same problem and found a TSB with a fix that worked. Other than that, it never had a single repair--just ordinary items like oil changes, scheduled belt replacements, headlights, and tires. Good enough for hills and such without any bogging, even loaded, but a strong side wind could really slow it down some times. Handled well, empty or loaded. However, in winter, 200 pounds of sand tubes were a very necessary accessory in the bed over the rear axle if you wanted to get anywhere in ice and snow. Still ran strong at 137,000 miles, but a winter accident with seven other vehicles and a concrete bridge railing led to the insurance company totaling it. The engine was still fine and running, but the body and frame were toast, and I walked away without a scratch. Good truck which I recommend heartily. Parents bought a new 1991 XLT longbed after being impressed with my 1989, and their 1991 is still running strong with 430,000 miles on the odometer."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

May not be a lady killer but a good reliable truck

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price, extremely reliable"

Cons: "No cup holders and not very sporty look"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I spent a long time looking for a cool sports car and ended up settling for this car but after a while I realized dont judge a book by its cover. It is all around a good truck. It is very reliable and gets good has milage. Mine has a few minor rust spots but it makes a great college car and I would recommend it to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, July 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had great service with this truck. the 4.0L is a great engine with plenty of power. This truck has never let me down keeps going like the energizer bunny"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

91 Ranger

By on Monday, January 7, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Its a nice truck. Bit bigger than some of the other zippy trucks, but not as big as a fullsized. Its easy to work on and change the oil. The 2 bigest problems youll have with this truck are the rear fenders rusting out(typical of trucks) and electrical problems. Ive had to have the alternator replaced. Ive replaced the starter(easy),sterieo and now one of the door swiches dosnt work right ( i just pulled the bulb). Also the coolent from the a leaked out and ive been too busy to replace it with some leak stoper stuff so the AC dosnt work at the moment. Also ive had to replace the power stering resavor."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Eighteen Years and Retiring

By on Monday, December 10, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I have owned the 1989 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 Liter - 6 Cylinder Engine (2-Wheel Drive) since 1989. Bought it new and have been the sole owner. This vehicle has been pampered and excellently maintained since it was new, changing the oil every 1,500 or 2,000 miles. The vehicle has had some major problems. The engine needed replacing prior to 60,000 miles. Ford admits this was a faulty engine, but was not recalled because it was not a safety issue. Have replaced the alternator, battery, starter, radiator, gas tank, water pump, windshield washer fluid dispenser, exhaust (every two years), shocks. Yes, the truck has done some hauling, but nothing really heavy and mostly used for daily commuting. The truck currently needs a new alternator and battery and is up for sale. Interested anyone?"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.