To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Ford Focus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 546 Ratings for the 2012 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.2/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 110 | Next

So far, a great little car

By on Monday, May 8, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great amenities, fun to drive"

Cons: "Transmission takes some getting used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I snagged this car deeply discounted from a local dealer in April 2017. Hatch version of the Focus are not big sellers around here. This was the last straggling 2016 they had sitting on their lot, and the discounted price reflected it. For what I got, the car is truly worth far more than what I paid. Its a fully-loaded car, with the exception of a navigation system and the parking assist system (the option that enables the car to parallel park itself). The exterior is black. I dont know what the shade is called, but its a very, very dark black. The paint is high quality, and its evident that the car is well-painted (ie, lots of coats of paint). The paint feels and looks durable. The Titanium trim included 17 inch alloy wheels, which complement the car very nicely. The car has a small lip spoiler on the back roof, which is nice because it eliminates that bubble look that a lot of hatches have. The side mirrors are, for me, a huge plus. They included small blind spot mirrors in the corners. That tiny addition makes a world of difference when driving. Im still used to physically turning to check my blind spots, but the small mirrors off an extra layer of safety. The mirrors include built in turn signals, which is nice for folks driving in front of me. The car includes fog lamps, which not only look nice, but add quite a bit of brightness to the road during night time driving.The dealer tinted and pinstriped the car for me, which further complemented the already good looks. Overall, Im very happy with the exterior look and feel of the car. It feels and looks solid and well-built. The interior of this car is, I think, where Fords attention to detail really shines. The car is incredibly comfortable. The cream colored leather seats are firm, but soft. Theyre supportive, but not so much that they become bothersome. Theres plenty of leg and head room for folks well over 6 feet tall to drive the car comfortably. The steering wheel design is logical, and will be familiar to most people. Some cars tend to change things around a bit...swapping wipers and headlights between left and right, placing radio and phone controls in strange places. This car has everything laid out logically. Everything is accessible, and will become second nature to any driver after just a few minutes. The radio head unit is place at a good height. It doesnt make you reach too much, but it doesnt feel cramped. The AC unit is easy to understand, and includes an automatic mode if you just want set the temps (dual-climate control), and let it do its thing. The back seat is kind of small. not cramped, but definitely not spacious. Basically, its what you should expect out of a compact hatchback. If youre taller than 6 feet, youll probably feel a little cramped back there. Not uncomfortable, just a bit cramped. The cargo area is spacious enough to fit a couple of weeks worth of groceries. The rear seats fold down as well, in case you need a whole lot of cargo space. Like I said above, Ford really paid attention to detail when they designed this interior. The radio system can be overwhelming if youve never dealt with a fully-featured touch screen unit, but after a few minutes, youll acclimate to it...guaranteed. The SYNC system is very user-friendly. The radio is not covered with unsightly buttons. There are two buttons, and a knob in the middle with up, down, left, and right buttons. The car has a built in backup camera, which displays on the touch screen. It takes some getting used to, but coupled with the built in parking sensors, the rear view camera is great. Between the small blind spot mirrors, the camera, and the sensors, there really is little to no ambiguity when it comes to parking. The AC has dual-climate controls. When its in automatic mode, driver and passenger temps can be adjusted independently. This is nice, but be aware that because the car is quite small each sides climate will inevitably pass on to the other. The center console is classy, simple, and functional. The gear shift and surrounding area dont have a lot of nooks and crannies, which is a good thing. That means that theres less tiny areas where dust and debris can accummulate. The storage area includes a door that closes slowly, as opposed to just slamming down if left open. The car is not littered by tiny useless storage areas that exist only to collect dust. The cup holders have removable rubber inserts to better accommodate small and large cups. The glove compartment doesnt just drop open roughly...it drops open slowly. The side storage area includes cup holders large enough to acocmmodate a 20 ounce drink. The sunglasses holder on the roof is lined with soft fabric to avoid your glasses getting scratched up. Ill say again...attention to detail. Its these little things that stand out to me, and make all the difference. The interior lighting is the brightest Ive seen in any car. Ford used bright white LED bulbs. If you prefer soft-white, well, youre out of luck. Personally, I prefer the brighter daylight color. The interior also includes ambient lighting in the front side storage areas, the cup holders, the interior door handles, and in the floor area. The ambient lighting can be dimmed, brightened, or turned off completely via a knob on the roof. The ambient lighting color can be changed to blue, purple, green, red, orange, light blue, or white via a button on the roof. The ambient lighting isnt for everyone, and I can see how someone may be annoyed by it (good thing it can be turned off). Personally, I love it. It just looks nice at night. The heads up display is easy to read, not too distracting, and not overly busy. You have the option of viewing your trip distance, your miles to empty, your average MPG, or all of them together. The heads up lighting is a simple, classy white color. The car has a remote start system. During the hot Texas summer months, a remote start system is such a convenience. If you dont get in the car, I believe it stays on for 5 minutes before shutting off. The car starts with a push-button system. No need to insert the key anywhere. Just have it nearby, and the car starts up. The key fob includes an actual physical key which is accesses by pushing a small button then pulling the key out. The physical key is there in case the key fob stops working. The car drives well. Theres nothing particularly special about the way it drives. Its a very smooth, relatively quiet ride. Steering is precise, and sensitive enough to be sufficiently engaging to keep you focused. Acceleration lags a bit in 1st gear, but once 2nd gear hits the car wakes up a bit. And that brings me to the whole reason Im even writing more than 2 sentences about driving, and the reason I only gave the car 4 stars for performance. The transmission. The car includes an automatic transmission. Automatic, in the sense that its a manual transmission that is physically shifted in an automated fashion. I know that sounds redundant. Ive seen it figuratively described as a manual transmission being shifted by tiny robots inside the car. If you want to read up about it, its called a dual clutch transmission (DCT). With traditionaly automatics, shifting is clean, short, precise, and often undetectable. Thats not the case with the DCT. The car shifts automatically, but feels like it has a manual transmission. As with traditional manual transmissions, theres a slight lag between gears, and you can feel it being shifted. Its not a bad thing. Its just...different. It wouldnt have changed my decision to buy the car, but its definitely something that I may not ever get used to. My understanding is that during the first 2,000 miles the transmission will learn driving patterns, and will accommodate gear shifts to best align with those patterns. For me, its been 850 miles, and I dont see any difference between now and day one. The transmission also needs to be tended to a bit more than a traditional automatic. Creeping...moving forward (or backwards) should be minimized or eliminated, as the action is apparently very unhealthy, and will cause premature clutch wear. Youll need to adjust your driving to avoid grinding your transmission...which means you may wind up having to drive a bit more forcefully than youre used to. If the transmission grinds, giving it more gas (causing it to move faster, obviously) will remedy it. For me, the transmission is fine. But others should be aware of what it is theyre getting. Essentially, youre getting a manual transmission car that lacks the ability to truly, actively (manually) control your gear changes. The car includes a sport mode, which allows you to shift gears via an up/down button on the shift lever, but Ive found that even that mechanism doesnt seem to have the same level of control youd get in a typical manual transmission. All-in-all, the car is solid. I have zero regrets buying it, and Im confident that other folks out there will have a similar experience."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Horrible car!!!

By on Saturday, August 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It may sound funny but i have not seen all the complaints until the last couple of weeks. I wish I did before buying this car. I've owned many small ford sedans before, but this has been by far the worst because of its transmission. It's almost embarrassing to drive this car in town. I've had so many problems with the car shuddering and not wanting roll. Strange sounds of clattering and clunking from what sounds like the clutches and heat issues with the transmission. I've made so many complaints and have had many updated and repairs made on this car. I just wish I had bought something different now."

25 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Complaints re: trans = Not driving car properly

By on Saturday, December 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value; looks great; mpg; interior tech"

Cons: "Second gear a little hesitant; back end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Recently purchased a 2013 Focus. In regards to the automatic transmission, second gear is a little hesitant, and needs a little goosing. Give it a little more gas, and get through second gear more quickly. Those who say that the transmission lurches and grinds gears aren't driving the car properly. You have to kinda drive it as you would a stick, keep an eye on the tachometer, in the first three gears. At the top end of third gear (around 35 mph), the car has all the speed and pickup you need. Then it has speed for days, great handling; it's easy to go fast in this agile little car. Also, I see that a lot of people don't like the interior technology, which, to me, is not that difficult to figure out. There are a lot of buttons and stuff, but anybody that has a basic tech savvy can figure what's what rather quickly. Lots of bells and whistles included in the base model; it's pretty cool, kind of spaceship cockpit-esque. Heated seats in the winter package, which, where I live, is really nice in an affordable car. The front seats are super comfortable, the interior styling is nice; it's got a modern feel. The exterior of the car, to me, looks awesome. It's an eye-catcher; you see people all the time taking a second look, like 'hey, that's a pretty sweet little car.' The drawbacks to this, both inside and out, are almost like Ford spent all their time and energy on the front end, and left the back end. The back seat is a plain old back seat. The back end and the trunk aren't much to look at. Looks great from the front and sides, the back isn't anything special. Great gas mileage, as advertised. Off the line, you aren't going to beat anyone in this car. But once you get to around 35 mph, it's got all the speed, handling, and acceleration you need."

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great car, but a few major issues.

By on Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Moved back to area where I needed 4 wheel drive, had some issues with Focus.

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A lot for the price, luxurious interior for Ford"

Cons: "Clutch issues ruin everything else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Ford did a great job with the redesign of the Focus in 2012. The car comes with options of a ton of great technology that other competitors at the price do not offer and driving the car is pure fun. Not to mention, it gets great gas mileage. I was always shocked at how good my mpgs were! However, because this engine was redesigned in 2012, the clutch is plagued with issues. I even had it replaced under warranty (with the same clutch by Ford) and it did nothing to fix the grinding noises and junting that happens when the car switches gears (I drive an automatic). It makes you think something is wrong with the car even though Ford claims it is not. Something is wrong. It also vibrates when idling and Ford claims there is no fix for these issues. All the little things about this car are great, but Ford messed up with the design of this engine. I finally gave in and went back to owning a BMW because I knew they would never put a clutch in a vehicle that could not be fixed. The value of this vehicle also depreciated greatly compared to other car brands over a two year period."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

'12 Focus SEL Sedan w/Auto...in love with this car

By on Tuesday, March 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Appearance, options, seats, high-quality interior"

Cons: "Learning curve on auto-tranny but love it now"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Brought my 2009 Focus (75,000 miles) into local dealer for scheduled maintenance at end of February, decided to poke around the lot. Found a black (new & unsold) 2012 model SEL sedan with almost every conceivable option short of keyless ignition and rain-sensing wipers. Otherwise had it all: leather, MyTouch, Sync, moonroof, 6-spd auto w/toggle shift, 17" magnesium lookalikes, rearview camera, prox sensors, mood lighting, top-end Sony audio w/subwoofer, fogs, auto-park. Sticker asked $25,680(honestly worthwhile for all the equipment), left with the car after having paid a shade over $18,000...including extended bumper-to-bumper (i drive a LOT). Only concern I had in first few days was the transmission when in "D", which seemed "creaky", as if it couldn't make up it's mind on what to do next. But as I spent more time in it, I learned the nuances. It wants to be as fuel efficient as possible, requiring a rethinking of sorts about the way you would normally drive an automatic. Becomes second nature rather quickly, and it's kinda cool considering all of that technology at play. Want to have fun? Throw it into the sport mode and hang on. Superb handling, crisp shifts. A good time in every drive, and it looks terrific."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 110 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Focus near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.