To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2017 Ford Explorer Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $34,629 - $36,045.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $36,870

Fair Purchase Price $35,225
Fair Market Range ($34,629 - $36,045)

Invoice $35,253

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Valid for ZIP code 96801 through 08/24/2017

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 23 Ratings for the 2016 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

cruise control does not engage properly on down

By on Monday, July 31, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "I like to tavel in this explorer"

Cons: "The mpg is low and the disfunctional cruise contro"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"finally got the dealer tech to analyze the cruise control. Agrees about over speeding. Ford engineering say that is the way it is. It can over speed as much as 30 mph. This is a safety issue that doesnt seem to concern anyone at Ford. the local tech agreed that the over speed is excessive but a fix was out of his hands. I have 2 other vehicles a 1990 Montero & a 2012 Prius that do not have this problem in spite of having put a after market cruise control on the Montero"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great value, comfortable ride, sleek looks

By on Monday, January 2, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, technology, design."

Cons: "some more technology (no limit to this...)."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought the car about a month ago. Researched nearly every SUV (Pilot, QX60, Armada, Pathfinder, Highlander, Expedition, Navigator,...) Initially, I thought only of full size SUV. I test drove the Armada, liked it a lot but the 3rd row seating was VERY small. Given that I need the 3rd row seating, that was not an option. From the Mid size SUV. The Pathfinder and QX60, they looks nice, but they are under-powered and I did not like the CVT. Also the infotainment system is a bit outdated. The Pilot is very nice. Very sleek design but I did not like the infotainment, it is a bit less roomier than the Explorer but most importantly, I did not like the 9 SPD gear and the driving position was not comfortable to me (I am 6.2). As far as the explorer goes. Yes, it is a bit pricey compared to others but if you look around you can find good deals. The new SYNC3 is great compared to the older my ford touch and the Apple Car play is brilliant. With the twin turbo engine you never feel under power and when we took a road trip (5 adults and luggage) i did not feel any issues. Car also behaved very good on very wet, snowy and somewhat icy roads. Even if you compare this to a Tahoe, the 3rd raw and cargo space behind the 3rd row is way better in the Explorer. I did not rate the reliability since car is too new... but so far, no issues. As far as wish list. 1. Wish it had the full brake intervention capability for FWD and Backward collision, not just the alarms. 2. Wish it had 360 degree cameras (it has only Front and back) 3. I think that a 7 or 8 tranny would work great on this car. Take a look you will not regret. P.S. if you buy new and considering extended warranty, don't but directly from the dealer. Shop online, usually you will find much better deals."

74 people out of 81 found this review helpful

Have had it for a short time but love it so far.

By on Sunday, March 19, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, handling looks."

Cons: "a bit pricey compared to my Escape I traded in for"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable. Love the heated steering wheel in winter. I wish I had gotten the BLIS but I am content withe the mirror inserts. The ride is really nice and the control is very good. The standard V6 has plenty of power for my driving habits. The seats are excellent to me. I would buy it again."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Third Explorer new to Ford and VERY impressed!

By on Monday, January 23, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,106

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks, Sporty Driving, Quality Materials and Comfo"

Cons: "MPG (20 Adv.) Residual Value (Platinum Only)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Okay so i always loved foreign vehicles and thought they were the best but when the 2011 Ford Explorer came out i saw it and immediately fell in love! In September of 2011 i bought my first American Car since highschool! A White 2011 Ford Explorer XLT. Even though it was the base lvl Explorer i was suprised at how many features came standard! The SUV rides better than my previous car (A full size sedan that shall remain nameless) and dosent drive like a big bulky Midsize 3row SUV, theres lots of room and i love it! So getting back in 2014 i bought Explorer #2 May i bought a Blue 2014 Ford Explorer Limited (my budget finally Allowed!) owned for nearly 3 years and LOVED IT! Just like my 2011 model but more features and defferent colors, so in 2015 when i saw the 2016 i said "YES! THATS WHAT IN REPLACING BLUE WITH! And did January Of 2017 with a Tan 2017 Ford Explorer Platinum! (I was saving up for the best) WONDERFUL SUV! Feels,looks and drives like a Luxury SUV! (At $55,000 it should be) my only Gripe is residual if you dont HAVE to have a brand new Explorer i suggest looking at a used one (if you can find one they are in VERY high demand!) it will be about $8,000 cheaper for a used 2016 Explorer Platinum than a new 2017 Explorer Platinum hope this helps! I LOVE my Explorer!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

LOVE it.

By on Thursday, October 27, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looking & comfortable"

Cons: "Pricey, a couple minor issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my new Ford Explorer so much. It's a loaded XLT (panoramic moonroof, Nav, etc). I have had some minor issues with it but I love it so much that I am still rating it highly. The good: It's gorgeous. I love the front end remodel. The front seats are like sitting in an angel's lap. I am not used to such comfort coming from a CR-V. I love being able to set alerts for the Sirius channels. I love the hands-free tailgate and the blind spot mirrors. The not-so-great: The tailgate does not always open. Sometimes it just thinks about it, and then tells me "no." We then negotiate. Sometimes I lose. The nav is completely, utterly worthless. It doesn't understand your speech. It won't understand your typing either. Just use your phone. I had to have my oil sending unit replaced at 12k miles because it was leaking. The part had to be ordered and took over a week. It is hard to stretch your left leg out, even for a shorty. That said, I've had four ten-hour drives in it this year and I was fine. The beige leather stains easily. Not the fault of the leather but I wish the darker leather had been easier to find in this color or they had gone with any color other than beige. Make sure your jeans are color-fast. Just because you've washed them doesn't mean the dye won't come off on your beautiful new angel's lap seats. Overall, I love this car. It is my favorite car I've ever had."

34 people out of 39 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.