To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2011 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 228 Ratings for the 2011 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 28 29 30 ... 46 | Next

American Tradition

By on Friday, September 17, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Great revamping! However, a 36-month warranty for a vehicle in the $30-$40,000 range nowadays when even the Koreans provide a 5-10 year warranty, shows a lack of confidence in the reliability of the vehicle from the manufacturer. If the manufacturer does not trust in its vehicle, why should I?"

29 people out of 46 found this review helpful

Truly the best vehicle we've every owned!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sleek design, mpg, smooth & quiet ride, spacious"

Cons: "Radio level increments, small display"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Explorer has everything and looks really cool too. We've had it for 2 1/2 years now and have used it on road trips, camping adventures, dangerous rides on snow/ice, hauling yard waste with a hitch-add on, towing a boat, fitting up to 7 adult family members and/or friends in when going to dinner or other trips - and it's been great every time. The "intelligent 4WD" (full-time) is great, it turns on automatically for bad road conditions. We still average about 21mpg as well in our travels which are a mix of highway and local roads. Ride is super smooth and interior is very quiet at all speeds. We still love the exterior design which looks a little Land Rover-ish. Buying this new was a big decision for us but it's been extremely worth it."

17 people out of 27 found this review helpful

you can do better for your money

By on Tuesday, October 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good in snow"

Cons: "bad craftmanship"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"this truck is not made well. We had moulding that kept poping off even after dealer repair. The sync is delayed even after all updates. It is great in the snow, great around town, gas milage could be better though."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very Good SUV

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very luxurious for a Ford"

Cons: "Kind of spendy for the limited edition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, good power with decent gas mileage. The interior is top quality and contrary to what you hear I really like the MyFordTouch. Couldn't imagine having another car without it."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Fresh, Powerful Sexy but the gas tank is too small

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles winter roads very well."

Cons: "Gas tank too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previously owned Mercedes and Lexus. Didn't know if my ego could handle a Ford. LOVE it. Fresh and sexy and powerful. Only problems: 1) gas tank too small. Less than 20 gallons. For a high powered car, too small. 2) The roof hangs over the back window so driving through a car wash leaves the back dirty. People have stopped me and asked about car because they are interested in this model and can't find it on the lot."

29 people out of 47 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 28 29 30 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.