Go

2011 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 231 Ratings for the 2011 - 2018 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 22 23 24 ... 47 | Next

Ecoboost engine is a joke

By on Sunday, May 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Cons: "MPG, Underpowered, MFT, Not Roomy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The Ecoboost engine is an underpowered, overpriced and gas guzzling joke. The gas mileage isn't better than my V6 F150 ext cab. And MyFord Touch has too many problems. I've even asked the dealer to just remove the thing and replace it with a normal climate and radio system."

26 people out of 37 found this review helpful

best 5th generation Explorer on the market

By on Saturday, November 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style and reliability are definitely present"

Cons: "exterior body molding could be more durable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"They have finally made a 5th generation Explorer that can go the distance. The SUV is great on the highway with minor off road capabilities. The forward wheel drive XLT is great in snow and rain alike. Just make sure you have good all season snow tires."

21 people out of 30 found this review helpful

List of issues before first oil change

By on Tuesday, October 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great engine, good looks."

Cons: "Bubbling paint, overall poor fit/finish"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Before we even got our first oil change we had several issues with our 2015 Ford Explorer Sport. In fact, it has been at our local dealership for over 3 weeks now. Several of the issues we had were minor, some distorted exterior rubber molding, defective interior vent, and an annoying omni-directional interior rattle, but the major issue is PAINT. Specifically the hood paint has started to bubble along the front edge of the hood. We also had some paint issues on the rear passenger side door and the upper rear passenger side quarter panel (near the roof-line), which can only be described as "surface prep" issues. By the account of online reviewers AND our own dealership service department this is a well known issue with these vehicles. Due to our vehicle being so new Ford had no choice but to honor the warranty, but it appears consumers with higher mileage haven't been so lucky. What does this mean for us when this issue comes up again further down the road? There are things we like about this vehicle, looks, power, electronic gadgets, but it's really hard to see those things through the issues. My dealership is trying to make it right, but unfortunately even with the repair my vehicle has been permanently devalued. I own two Ford vehicles right now and these will be my last."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Not a good vehicle for a person 55 and older

By on Wednesday, February 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,150

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice style both inside and out."

Cons: "SYNC System. Electronic system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have had numerous problems with the SYNC System. Returned it to dealer numerous times. Hope the update coming out in March 2012 helps correct this. I have had the steering wheel and transmission lock up while backing up. The GAP system on Cruse Control is not reliable,goes out in rain, snow, wind or for no reason. Ford realizes the problem"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever bought

By on Saturday, October 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles great. Looks great. AC seats"

Cons: "too small to list"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles awesome in the weather this past winter. Took a long road trip, and the 20" tires are so smooth on the highway. I have received so many compliments on the looks of the vehicle. Bluetooth is great. Has incredible acceleration. I love this vehicle."

18 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 22 23 24 ... 47 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.